We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Every Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Save Saved
You added The Mansion on Delaware Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Buffalo
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Every Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just spent our fourth visit to The Mansion and have never been let down. The staff is always friendly, hospitable and professional. We called ahead and ordered a cheese plate, which was waiting for us when we walked into the room. The cheese and berries were absolutely delicious. The atmosphere in the guest rooms is always elegant and very cozy. The décor is a perfect blend of the historic mansion feel along with some modern chic trends.

One of the perks we love about The Mansion is the shuttle service – it allows us to enjoy a couple cocktails at local establishments and events by providing a driver to pick us up.

Even though we live in the same city, when we feel like being pampered, we treat ourselves to a night at The Mansion. It is top notch and one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno_Principe, General Manager at The Mansion on Delaware Avenue, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Mansion...and thank you for your continued visits. Many of our guests are Buffalo and suburban Buffalo residents who enjoy a 'get-away' to The Mansion to enjoy a great night on the town. The Butlers are so knowledgeable about the Buffalo region and the many attractions, restaurants and events....and to your point, the complimentary Range Rover transportation is 'a great perk'! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    41
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
139
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laurens, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about our stay at The Mansion. It was a last minute travel due to a death in the family, and they accommodated us to the fullest. SO incredibly helpful and each employee over extended their services. We will, without a doubt, stay at The Mansion in the future! Thank you for the wonderful experience and for taking away ANY added stress :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Valet parking, 3 mile shuttle, cocktail hour, 24hr coffee and many smiling faces!!
From the moment I contacted them about tours & adding an extra day to the doors of the Mansion magically opened, welcoming us in until they printed us directions to the last places on our intinerary, the Butlers at MoDA made our stay wonderful!! We didn't have a big room, but it was comfy and airy, just enough for the 2 of us.
If you are from the GTA and are looking for a great 36 hr get-away, there is A LOT more to Buffalo than cross-border shopping and the staff at MoDA helped us get around the historic downtown area (their shuttle service).
We also got a free cheese tray (Thank you Trip Advisor coupon!) that lasted us 3 days! The Butlers wrapped up the tray once we were done nibbling during cocktail hour or whenever we asked for it! As needed, they even replenished the crackers and some of the fruit every time they brought it back to us!
Staff remembered our names and made many inquiries into our daily activities. We enjoyed our stay, the historical building, the personalized stationary and the yummy cookies found in our room after a busy day of touring.
Looking forward to a return visit to MoDA!

Room Tip: Phone them instead of booking on-line...they will find out your needs & wants, and accomodate yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Many of our wedding guests stayed here and loved it. We cannot give enough thanks to the staff at the Mansion--including but not limited to Gino--for making our wedding reception so perfect. Many of our friends/family, including several food/wine/city "snobs," told us that the Mansion was the best wedding reception experience they had ever had. I realize this may sound like a backhanded compliment, but it was not intended that way by those that said it. Gino and his staff's attention to every detail, including the start of the reception when everyone was arriving from the wedding ceremony, was flawless. The food, from the passed finger-food during the cocktail hour, to the dinner food itself, was absolutely amazing. The waitrons even made a point of bringing both of us our own plate of cocktail-hour appetizers, and then desserts at the end of dinner. They knew how difficult it is for the wedding couple to actually eat! The Mansion was an important part of our wedding, and we will never forget it! Thanks Gino and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This "5" star Hotel is an unfriendly, unaccommodating, unprofessional, and very expensive for what you will experience. Upon arrival the staff are very friendly, waiting for constant tips, and extra cash. However, upon departure there was nobody around to help. Directory says 24 hour dining available, but its not! There is only 1 person on duty at night, who is very unfriendly...again. Bartenders were unable to serve "shots" because they could get sued, but were serving minors alcohol!!! European breakfast from 7:30-9:30am, we were on vacation, and it was a weekend!! Nobody wants to wake up early on vacation, and the staff serving were very inflexible with those times. Earplugs are supplied to help drone out the extremely loud noises that the heaters made. We were up every hour. Beds and pillows were not comfortable at all. Cleaning staff knocked on our doors one minute after check out time. Definitely not going back.

Room Tip: Room are all cold, and too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice. They have a complimentary Range Rover that will take you locally and drinks in the afternoon or honor bar after that. I have never tried their breakfast since we are not morning people. The rooms are comfy and the building is beautiful.

We were here for two separate events at SUNY Buffalo May 2008 and May 2011. The university is far from the hotel, but our friends were able to drive us around. The butlers were helpful in getting us around, it's a great place to entertain as well. After our friends drove us back to the hotel they would hang out with us in the lobby which had a pool table and cozy couches. We are going back May 2012. I'm very excited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We needed a hotel for one night to attend a downtown event in Buffalo in mid-January. Decided to try this one since, given a choice between a chain and a historic house/ B&B, I would rather support the historic preservationists. As it turned out, the only available rate for the night we needed to stay was quite high (around $350 with tax). but given the many four and five star reviews, I decided to give it a try. This is a nice hotel and would have been a four-star value at a lower rate (say 250 or below) but for above 300 in Buffalo in January, it was more like a three and a half at best.

First, the good: The building is very nice (next door to the Buffalo Club) and beautifully restored, and the common areas including cocktail lounge/ breakfast area, living room and hallway were wonderfully decorated with carefully chosen furniture, art and accents. Floor-to-ceiling windows in the common areas and individual rooms provide some nice views such as church spires. The staff are enthusiastic, friendly and very knowledgeable about Buffalo, its neighborhoods, architecture and local attractions. Very well-stocked "honor bar" in the common area and guests get two free cocktails daily during happy hour. Continental breakfast was also included in the rate and featured a nice selection of fresh croissants, bread, cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit and some gourmet salads. Room was clean, furnishings and carpet in the bedroom area looked pretty new/ not worn, had a big new flat-screen TV and good cable selections, and wi-fi worked great. Bathrobes and in-room coffee were provided, as well as personalized stationery. Valet parking and car service (within a short, mostly downtown radius) as well as the wi-fi, breakfast and happy hour cocktails were all included in the price - no "surprise" extra fees. The car service is handled by the friendly staff directly rather than the more common practice of subcontracting it out to some unreliable off-site limo service.

Now, the not-so-good: This hotel has very limited food service other than breakfast - we arrived at dinner time and the only things available from the hotel directly were cheese and crackers or a vegetarian pizza. No minibar snacks in room, and unlike many B&B's, no guest snacks, not even at cocktail hour (although big bowls of mixed nuts and caramel corn were served as part of the breakfast buffet - these really should be cocktail snacks). No quick food options like restaurants, coffee shops, delis, or even convenience store in the immediate area (which, aside from the Buffalo Club and some pretty churches/ mansions, is mostly empty storefronts). If you want a meal or snacks you need to either drive/ take the car service to get it, or else order takeout from a book the hotel has available. We were tired upon arrival having just driven for 7 hours, and opted for ordering the takeout, but it took a very long time (hour and a half) to arrive. I frequently stay in another high-end hotel that doesn't have its own food service and it partners with local restaurants who commit to providing the food to the guests very quickly and in a nice presentation - wish MODA had a similar arrangement. A mini-fridge in the room would also be very helpful.

The bathroom shower was difficult to operate as it had three separate control knobs, about six plastic jets, one of which fell off during use and had to be stuck back on, and a handheld attachment that lost water pressure when I moved it around. The sink on-off control was not attached to the sink or grouted, causing it to wobble and leak some water when used. The towels were average quality, not high-end, and not many were provided. Minor point: In contrast to the very striking common areas, the room decor seemed to be generic or maybe half-finished - very bland, walls bare right up to the cathedral ceilings, and only one piece of art on the wall, a little 5 by 7 photo in a "frame" made of two pieces of plexi held together by visible plastic clips, looked like a Wal-Mart item.

Last, the uncomfortable: The staff suggested we could eat our takeout dinner at the nice little tables in the lounge also used for breakfast - they provide plates and silverware (which they did do). Looked like a good idea as there wasn't a good spot in our room for two people to eat dinner, and there were only a couple of guests having cocktails in the lounge - nice peaceful setting. However, we weren't told that a large formal-dress party would be using that lounge for their own reception as well, and when they all showed up it not only created a much more hectic atmosphere than we wanted to eat in, but also made us feel uncomfortably like party crashers especially since we were very casually dressed (jeans and t-shirts). After about a half hour, not only did the reception show no signs of moving to a dinner room, but a saxophonist associated with a wedding (perhaps all part of same event) started playing very loudly in the hall so he could be heard not only in all the common rooms but even upstairs in our own room when I went up to get something. Unfortunately we were stuck with the situation as we'd already ordered the food and there wasn't really anywhere else for us to eat it after waiting over an hour for it to arrive. MoDA is a lovely setting for weddings and events, but if non-event guests will also be staying at same time, there needs to be some isolation between the folks who want to enjoy their party and those who just want to enjoy a peaceful, quiet stay.

Room Tip: If you stay here, plan to dine out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion on Delaware Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Address: 414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#8 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion on Delaware Avenue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel provides a cosmopolitan, European hotel experience with value added complimentary amenities such as valet parking, breakfast, afternoon cocktails, downtown Land Rover transportation, free wireless and/or hi-speed internet and more. Guestrooms receive equivalent deluxe services and amenities, with size and architectural detail distinguishing each room type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Mansion on Delaware Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On Delaware Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Mansion On Delaware Avenue Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion on Delaware Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.