We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffalo is a nice getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Save Saved
You added The Mansion on Delaware Avenue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Buffalo
jonesboro
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Buffalo is a nice getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were in Buffalo last week on business. The Mansion on Delaware is a lovely property (FAR superior to anywhere else there). The common areas are warm and welcoming, the cocktail hour and breakfast set up are all nice additions. The staff is very attentive and very helpful with dining options. The hotel also has a house car that will deliver you and pick you up in a 5 mile area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    40
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
27
134
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The charm is in the attention to detail. My whole family stayed here (3 rooms), and we all had a great experience. This was my second time staying at this hotel. We really felt personally looked after. The beds were comfortable, and linens were nice too. You get what you pay for in service and comfort. By far, the nicest place to stay in Buffalo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed there this past weekend and frankly, while I found the staff nice and some of the accoutrement nice, nothing stood out as a "wow" for me. I have heard many people rave about the facility and staff, but saw nothing deserving of the praise being heeped on the place. Frankly, I believe the place is being propped up by the cumulative inferiority complex WNY'ers seem to have instilled as a defense mechanism when someone questions Buffalo and WNY in general as a city that can "compete" with any other. Let's face it - people rave about the chop house, but if you have been around and traveled, you quickly realize it too is an unremarkable experience, fuled by WNY'ers who crave relevence.

Don't get me wrong - the place has it's Victorian charms, quality bedding and a nice staff, but when you have bathroom tile pieced together in haphazard repair work and a certain "funk" lingering in the air on the floor you are sleeping on, you have to really question the validity of the claims propping this place up.

I am not disuading anyone from going there - try it yourself, then make your own decision. For the price, it is simply not the experience promised as, when I think of the other reviews read, I find it neither "magnificent" or "great", just not bad. I am holding out one hope - the staff was perhaps focusing all of it's energies on a large wedding party and perhaps this detracted from a superior experience.

Again, figure it our for yourselves....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congers, New York, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

What a great place to stay if you are looking for class and a quiet night's sleep. Can't hear a thing outside your room. The place was immaculate and clean. Did I mention the Honor System bar? That's a place of class and integrity that attracts class. Oh, the cookies, they should market them! The best chocolate chunk cookies! The service was unbelievable. Your treated as if you were in your own home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a magnificent hotel with excellent service including a limo ride to wherever you want to go and pick up when you are finished. If you have a rental and know the city then this is not necessary but it is available. The breakfast spread is impressive. The room was very quiet and well appointed including a sauna and modern shower. Location is also excellent if you need access to downtown or the waterfront and the hotel is easy to get to from the airport. There is also a (no charge) bar open during the day and evenings. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: This is not a big establishment so there are not a lot of rooms. Our room was on the top floor and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife's family is from Buffalo; and so we got married there. Of course, I wanted to find the best hotel in the area for our wedding night. I had heard about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue and decided to look into it. I was very impressed by the photos I saw of the hotel and just as impressed by The Mansion's staff with whom I dealt by telephone. This hotel seemed the most elegant and historic in the city, and I chose it. I was not disappointed. This hotel is aptly named; for it is truly a mansion from Buffalo's golden age. My wife and I felt like royalty there, especially after the staff applauded us upon our arrival in tux and gown. It was a stay that we will remember very fondly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Living in Rochester, NY, I've always heard about the Mansion but never had the opportunity to stay there.....it's something that has been on my "bucket list". This past weekend my husband and I had that opportunity and the experience was awesome. The Butler service is unbelievable and everyone went out of their way to make sure our every need was taken care of. Every employee was top notch and really made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mansion on Delaware Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Address: 414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#8 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion on Delaware Avenue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel provides a cosmopolitan, European hotel experience with value added complimentary amenities such as valet parking, breakfast, afternoon cocktails, downtown Land Rover transportation, free wireless and/or hi-speed internet and more. Guestrooms receive equivalent deluxe services and amenities, with size and architectural detail distinguishing each room type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Mansion on Delaware Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On Delaware Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Mansion On Delaware Avenue Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion on Delaware Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.