We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud AC was the only draw back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Buffalo-Niagara to your Saves list
Hostel Buffalo-Niagara
667 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loud AC was the only draw back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The AC was so very loud when it kicks in. Didn't get to sleep until 3am. Otherwise there is nothing to complain about considering the money I paid. Wireless internet worked, room was nice and clean. Big kitchen with lots of shelves, 2 gas stoves. Enough seats in the lounge area. 3 showers and 3 stalls per gender in total on floor 2 and 3. You get clean bed cover, sheet, towel, pillow cover. I didn't use the blanket since it was pretty hot for me. I was going to go to Niagara fashion outlet, but the bus ride would have been too long (1.75 hours bus ride) So I went to Walden Galleria instead (45 min bus ride) $5 for bus day pass. I didn't do sight seeing so can't say much about it, all I can say is everything seems to close early downtown and you really don't see many people about. I took the Megabus from Toronto to Buffalo. This would be the last time I take Megabus. Takes too long to get through border. When I was going back to Toronto, the Megabus was delayed for 2.5 hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
6
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Awesome Hostel. Very helpful and friendly staff, clean and comfortable beds, spacious rooms, better than average bathrooms, central location!
Our stay here was very pleasant, taking advantage of the well equiped kitchen and free pool.
Staff here were very helpful and knew the local area. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmont, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed solo,week of 8-13 thu8-17-12, safe ,clean,secure, freindly staff,good wi-fi, highly recomend,kept my bycycle in room no problem,lots of movies to watch on tv, showers clean plunty of hot water, kitchen clean all hallways painted nice and very clean, elevator clean and works well,very very reasonable

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I checked in to this Hostel in order to stow my things and attend a last night's bit of festivities at the yearly gothic convention, Convergence, before catching a 4am train to NYC.

It's a three-story building with a basement with elevators. The front desk keeps specific hours, but check-in was easy, quick and courteous.The kitchen was large, clean and well equipped, and the quiet adjacent lounge was nicely furnished. The basement 'entertainment lounge' featured a TV with VHS-tapes and a tape player (which probably eliminates any theft issues with movies), a pool-table and a sort of bizzarre laundry room, apparently available to both patrons and staff for personal and linen/towel laundering. Not a bad thing, just oddly haphazard-looking.

I was assigned to an 8-person dorm-style room allotted to women with four reasonably clean bunk-beds, most of which were empty with new, clean sheets. Each dorm-room had a key-card lock, and all dorm-rooms had a shared restroom with showers on each of the floors. Getting around the room was interesting because patrons' luggage and personal items were scattered around their beds due to the smallness of the in-room lockers. There's no way to fit even a modestly sized suitcase into a locker at this hostel, but it seemed pretty safe. I put my small suitcase under a bed. It was fine.

The neighborhood Hostel Buffalo-Niagara is in is a business district, and even the local CVS and Rite-Aid close early on Sat/Sun. It's located on Main Street, which is not an automotive thoroughfare at all. It's used for the local trolley. I never heard the trolley. It's whishper-quiet, but there are a large number of downtrodden/homeless people who tend to populate Main Street, many of whom tend to panhandle near the trolley's many stations, but overall, it was a nice experience to be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

In my two visits to Buffalo I stayed at this same hostel. Very clean and relaxing place. Even if you arrive very late in the evening staff will leave everything prepared for you (you just have to call them and they will give you safety instructions to get in and start enjoying your stay). I want to say thank you to Jonathan, Jessica, Bryan and Emily for their kindness and efficiency, and all the information they gave me.I saved money and time and was able to visit many more places than I expected. Guys: you are the best! Thanks again.
Miguel Arca

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great for solo hostettler! Safe area, secure building, professional staff. Extremely affordable price for excellent accommodations. Give it a try alone or with your family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Excellent hostel and great location too. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The common facilities are well equiped and also very clean. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable of things to do in and around Buffalo; especially Jessica. Also, there is lots to do in Buffalo, you just have to be clued up! Elmwood and a few street close to the hostel are worth exploring. There are also many unique food places and independent cafe hangouts to explore! A stay of up to 2/3 days in Buffalo is sufficient to experience Niagara Falls and explore downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Buffalo-Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

Address: 667 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Buffalo-Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Buffalo-Niagara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.