We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Stay, but Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

Save Saved
You added Hostel Buffalo-Niagara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelworld.com HostelBookers.com
Hostel Buffalo-Niagara
667 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel amenities
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Quick Stay, but Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I checked in to this Hostel in order to stow my things and attend a last night's bit of festivities at the yearly gothic convention, Convergence, before catching a 4am train to NYC.

It's a three-story building with a basement with elevators. The front desk keeps specific hours, but check-in was easy, quick and courteous.The kitchen was large, clean and well equipped, and the quiet adjacent lounge was nicely furnished. The basement 'entertainment lounge' featured a TV with VHS-tapes and a tape player (which probably eliminates any theft issues with movies), a pool-table and a sort of bizzarre laundry room, apparently available to both patrons and staff for personal and linen/towel laundering. Not a bad thing, just oddly haphazard-looking.

I was assigned to an 8-person dorm-style room allotted to women with four reasonably clean bunk-beds, most of which were empty with new, clean sheets. Each dorm-room had a key-card lock, and all dorm-rooms had a shared restroom with showers on each of the floors. Getting around the room was interesting because patrons' luggage and personal items were scattered around their beds due to the smallness of the in-room lockers. There's no way to fit even a modestly sized suitcase into a locker at this hostel, but it seemed pretty safe. I put my small suitcase under a bed. It was fine.

The neighborhood Hostel Buffalo-Niagara is in is a business district, and even the local CVS and Rite-Aid close early on Sat/Sun. It's located on Main Street, which is not an automotive thoroughfare at all. It's used for the local trolley. I never heard the trolley. It's whishper-quiet, but there are a large number of downtrodden/homeless people who tend to populate Main Street, many of whom tend to panhandle near the trolley's many stations, but overall, it was a nice experience to be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
4
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

In my two visits to Buffalo I stayed at this same hostel. Very clean and relaxing place. Even if you arrive very late in the evening staff will leave everything prepared for you (you just have to call them and they will give you safety instructions to get in and start enjoying your stay). I want to say thank you to Jonathan, Jessica, Bryan and Emily for their kindness and efficiency, and all the information they gave me.I saved money and time and was able to visit many more places than I expected. Guys: you are the best! Thanks again.
Miguel Arca

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great for solo hostettler! Safe area, secure building, professional staff. Extremely affordable price for excellent accommodations. Give it a try alone or with your family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Excellent hostel and great location too. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The common facilities are well equiped and also very clean. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable of things to do in and around Buffalo; especially Jessica. Also, there is lots to do in Buffalo, you just have to be clued up! Elmwood and a few street close to the hostel are worth exploring. There are also many unique food places and independent cafe hangouts to explore! A stay of up to 2/3 days in Buffalo is sufficient to experience Niagara Falls and explore downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had booked in advance and had instructions of what to do when we arrived, unfortunately no keys had been left for us so we couldn't get into our room until the guys arrived anyhow. The location is good, we hired a car from the airport and used it to visit the falls but there were a few others offering seats in their cars to see it. The room was big and airy and comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped with a coffee machine and lots of utensils. The living rooms comfortable and full of useful hostel things like board games and a guitar. There is laundry facilities and a pool table.
Buffalo is quite a quiet place, the road the hostel is on is a bit like a zombie movie where all the shops have moved out in a rush.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Obviously it is a cheap hostel so do not expect too much.
The photos they have on their website look much better than they truly are, but overall my stay was alright I havent had any pb and the staff is very friendly.
BE VERY CAREFUL ON THE HOUR YOU ARRIVE AT THE HOTEL THOUGH, THEY DO NOT OPEN BEFORE 8 OR 9..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

A very clean reliable hostel. On the city free tram route. About 15 minute walk to recommended restaurants. Bit hard to find, the entry is off the tram track street ( not car access street where taxi will drop off).IN the middle of theatre district. On Sat - Sun deserted of people except for showtime.
We do not agree with 'stay here - go to Niagara Falls'. You cannot be in Buffalo & know the weather in Niagara. In mid May it was thick fog in Buffalo - clear at Niagara. On weekends there are about 8 busses are day $3 return, 60 - 90 bumpy crowded minute ride one way. You can walk to Buffalos' Niagara bus stop. The big problem is the return bus to Buffalo bus can be FULL leaving Niagara Falls terminal, so you risk NOT getting on a bus. On a Sunday, busses run 90 minutes apart. So trying to save money/time, you could be stranded in Niagara. So we do not agree with Lonely Planet who say " stay in Buffalo - not Niagara ' - Niagra is a nice tourist town. It is twice the distance from BUF airport compared to Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Buffalo-Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

Address: 667 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Buffalo-Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Buffalo-Niagara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.