We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepy town of Buffalo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

Save Saved
You added Hostel Buffalo-Niagara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hostel Buffalo-Niagara
667 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Sleepy town of Buffalo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Excellent hostel and great location too. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The common facilities are well equiped and also very clean. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable of things to do in and around Buffalo; especially Jessica. Also, there is lots to do in Buffalo, you just have to be clued up! Elmwood and a few street close to the hostel are worth exploring. There are also many unique food places and independent cafe hangouts to explore! A stay of up to 2/3 days in Buffalo is sufficient to experience Niagara Falls and explore downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
4
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had booked in advance and had instructions of what to do when we arrived, unfortunately no keys had been left for us so we couldn't get into our room until the guys arrived anyhow. The location is good, we hired a car from the airport and used it to visit the falls but there were a few others offering seats in their cars to see it. The room was big and airy and comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped with a coffee machine and lots of utensils. The living rooms comfortable and full of useful hostel things like board games and a guitar. There is laundry facilities and a pool table.
Buffalo is quite a quiet place, the road the hostel is on is a bit like a zombie movie where all the shops have moved out in a rush.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Obviously it is a cheap hostel so do not expect too much.
The photos they have on their website look much better than they truly are, but overall my stay was alright I havent had any pb and the staff is very friendly.
BE VERY CAREFUL ON THE HOUR YOU ARRIVE AT THE HOTEL THOUGH, THEY DO NOT OPEN BEFORE 8 OR 9..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

A very clean reliable hostel. On the city free tram route. About 15 minute walk to recommended restaurants. Bit hard to find, the entry is off the tram track street ( not car access street where taxi will drop off).IN the middle of theatre district. On Sat - Sun deserted of people except for showtime.
We do not agree with 'stay here - go to Niagara Falls'. You cannot be in Buffalo & know the weather in Niagara. In mid May it was thick fog in Buffalo - clear at Niagara. On weekends there are about 8 busses are day $3 return, 60 - 90 bumpy crowded minute ride one way. You can walk to Buffalos' Niagara bus stop. The big problem is the return bus to Buffalo bus can be FULL leaving Niagara Falls terminal, so you risk NOT getting on a bus. On a Sunday, busses run 90 minutes apart. So trying to save money/time, you could be stranded in Niagara. So we do not agree with Lonely Planet who say " stay in Buffalo - not Niagara ' - Niagra is a nice tourist town. It is twice the distance from BUF airport compared to Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

This hostel has great facilities such as sofas, board games, dining tables and a well equipped kitchen. Cleanest kitchen ever! The walls of the dorms are freshly painted with paintings hanging on the walls. The beds are alright though abit squeaky. Best of all, by courtesy of the hostel, bicycles were provided for free, which we used to tour the city. The staff was generally friendly and attended to our needs. This place has a homely touch.

Room Tip: Make use of the free bicycle rental!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I really enjoyed the hostel. It was clean, the rooms were spacious and, of course, cheap. I stayed in a room with four friends, but they had to fill the room so we had a strange guy for a roommate. I believe its generally 6 spots to a room. My friends and I traveled from out of state and happened upon this place after our reservation at another hotel was messed up, so instead of sleeping in the van we stayed here and saved nearly $100. The first day we seen a late night show, and Im not sure if there is a curfew or not, but we arranged something anyway and got in around midnight. Check out is at 11am I think, but we stayed a second night and we visted Niagra Falls. Big kitchen, clean bathrooms, and a nice social room. Its tucked away in the middle of the city so your about 10 minutes from almost everything. Although experiences can vary anywhere, we lucked out finding this place and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

This hostel could be great.

However it is not. The rude welcome from the boy at reception was quite something else. As were the beds, thin, thin pillows, with poor, poor mattresses, had springs sticking into me all night. The bathrooms were none too nice either.

The common room was lovely and comfortable. However what will stick in my mind from this visit is the poor, poor customer service, and a few poor, poor nights sleep!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Buffalo-Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

Address: 667 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Buffalo-Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Buffalo-Niagara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.