We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The shower was the best part.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amble Inn

Amble Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Medora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amble Inn
Save
You added Amble Inn to your Saves list
425 4th St., PO Box 466, Medora, ND 58645   |  
Hotel amenities
Williston, North Dakota, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The shower was the best part.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Amble Inn and were not very impressed. We assumed that because it was a B & B that we would get breakfast or at the very least coffee but did not get either. The beds were very soft and the pillows were flat & lumpy. The footrests on the couch would not go up. We were told it was fine to bring our small (15 lb) dog, when we got there we were informed that she needed to be in her kennel all the time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a great Inn at a great price. The rooms are clean the bathrooms are big and it is walking distance from all the shops. The owners of the Inn are very nice and helpful. The office of the Inn is a bookstore that has great books on ND history as well as other great book some written by one of the owners of the Inn. If you are looking for a great room at a very good rate the Amble Inn is the place!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wonderful hosts, but door blew open all night due to poor construction, coffee maker missing parts, not a picture in the place and little decor. Framed pictures of horses, cows, buffalo, barns, cowboys and farms fill thrift shops across the US. Any would be appropriate and add charm. Not enough blankets for the winter. Since it is off-season, I would think they could borrow a blanket from an empty room. Outside our room the grounds were cluttered, but it is the off-season.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earlham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very comfortable and friendly place to stay in Medora. They have a variety of rooms from economical to deluxe. Doug and Mary are great hosts! I enjoy there humor and witty conversation. Doug is a published author and has a wealth of information about the area and the old west. Mary is very accomadating and will help make your stay very enjoyable (1 nite or 1 month) very flexible. The room are quiet and clean I highly reccomend them. Check out the bookstore also.

Room Tip: Check out the suite nice showers full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young Harris, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Medora. Doug and Mary are great hosts! Nice, quiet and very clean.
Highly recommend the Amble Inn. P.s. be sure to spend some time in the bookstore and browse the largest selection of Western books anywhere!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Getting a shower while camping can often be a problem. In Medora, Amble Inn rents out a room for you to use its shower. The water is hot and the room is very clean. You go to the Western Edge Books (an excellent bookstore, by the way) and make arrangements there. The bookstore is in front of the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble Inn

Address: 425 4th St., PO Box 466, Medora, ND 58645
Location: United States > North Dakota > Medora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Medora
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amble Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.