We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Camp and Visit TR National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Trail Campground

Red Trail Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Medora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Trail Campground
Save
You added Red Trail Campground to your Saves list
250 E. River Road, Medora, ND   |  
Hotel amenities
Moab, Utah, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Place to Camp and Visit TR National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I am surprised at some other comments concerning rude staff. I stayed overnight at the Red Trail and it was everything I wanted in a campground. Good facilities, clean bathrooms, and staff that were very friendly and helpful. The campground is located near downtown Medora and minutes away from Theodore Roosevelt National Park. If you are planning to camp in Medora, I recommend the Red Trail.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SALT LAKE CITY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This campground is average...with the potential to become above average. When we checked in, it took a long time for the office to help us. Two people in the office were unhappy with each other. Our spot was far enough from the office that we did not have to listen to the nightly karaoke. There is an additional charge for cable tv and the wireless is spotty. This place has so much potential. Older park with narrow sights that offer partial grass/weeds in each sight. Lots of trees in certain spots -- call and reserve one with trees if you arrive in the hot summer months. Perfect location to visit the Medora area.

Room Tip: Hard to find...drive through Medora on the main road. There is a sign about 1.9 miles that shows yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The campsite is fine for us needing a place to spend the night as we traveled to our destination. We are wedged in, but have full hook-ups, and a tiny patch of grass in the back for the dogs. The staff we encountered was rude, impatient, and unwelcoming. This was our 8th campground during our cross country RV trip and is the ONLY place we were NOT greeted with friendly and welcoming staff. Their rules say "Don't hesitate to ask dumb questions, they're easier to handle then (sic) dumb mistakes". Our advise is, don't ask unless you are fine with a response filled with attitude. Couldn't believe the impatience and head shaking by the woman at the registration desk when we had our Good Sam membership card and Good Sam Roadside Assistance card mixed up. (This was the fist place requiring we show the card, which we understand, however, caught us off guard). So, we are here, (WI-FI is great, as I write this review), and will pack up to leave early tomorrow and not return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Medora hotels

Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great location just blocks from downtown Medora. Most sites have at least a little shade. If you have an RV with a bathroom, you are doing well. If you have to use the facilities at the campground, you are not so fortunate. The shower curtains are torn, falling off, not large enough and moldy. (A shower curtain is cheap - buy a few extra to hang up, toss them in the wash with some bleach!!) It's as if they purchased a shower curtain and cut it in half to use in two showers! The water pressure is non existent, which is good since the shower curtain doesn't actually shield any water from getting out of the shower, but bad if you want to get the soap and shampoo off of yourself. The garbage was not emptied for over two days, paper towels rarely filled when empty, but thankfully the tp was always there! A renovation is in order for the laundry/store/restroom building!! If they want to keep people coming the staff should consider the renovation of the building and putting in a pool area!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have made an annual trip to Medora for a number of years and have stayed at the Red Trail Campground a number of times. The most recent stay, I called two weeks in advance to reserve a pull through site. Called a day ahead of time to confirm it. When we arrived they didn't have it and we had to unhook our trailer and park it elsewhere because there wasn't room at the site for it. When I let the lady behind the desk know that I wasn't happy about this situation she became VERY short and sharp and actually quite nasty. With customer service like we received we'll take our business elsewhere. Apparently they have so much business they don't care whether they treat their clients with respect. If you want friendly staff - go to the Medora Campground just down the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The park is in a good location to visit the south side of Theodore Roosevelt National Park, the entrance being a few miles away. The toilets and showers were in separate blocks for men and women and the showers could do with updating. The wireless signal was good. The backdrop to the Park is a large rock outcrop and the night we stayed it was brilliantly lit by the sunset and had vultures circling above it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The drive into town from I-94 is scenic as you descend into the valley. Red Trail campground is also sorta scenic, nestled below a rocky butte on the southeast edge of town. The best thing about this campground is the location. It's a short couple block walk to all the restaurants, shops, bars, museums, etc in historic downtown Medora and Medora is at the entrance to Theodore Roosevelt National Park. The worst was their restrooms and showers. Had to wait quite awhile before any hot water showed up in the shower and you definitely want to wear your flipflops when you shower. There was a sand play area for kids right outside the womens restrooms. Looked like someone had hauled their kid rightouta there and drug him directly into the shower without shaking any sand off first. But besides easily-cleaned surface dirt like that; the long time bulit-up grime getting a good hard soap & clorox brush scrubbing would sure help.

The staff was friendly enough but very busy when we checked in. The guy that guided people to their sites was also constantly on the run. Think the main problem here is the place is understaffed. The campground was OK, there are alot of shady sites, ours was graveled and level. The sites are somewhat close together but this is a rather isolated tourist area, so choices are limited. Utilities and WIFI all worked OK. I liked that you only paid for the type of site and utilities you want to use. Full-hookup W/E/S, W/E, E, tent, back-in or pullthru, cable TV were all optional. They give a Good Sam Discount, see their website for rates, etc. There is a railroad about a block away, but no train whistles allowed in Medora so the noise was minimal during our stay. There is only one lone convenience store/gas station in town and no chain fast-food restaurants, only local establishments which made for a small western-town laidback atmosphere I enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Trail Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Trail Campground

Address: 250 E. River Road, Medora, ND
Location: United States > North Dakota > Medora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Medora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Trail Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.