We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Medora Musical

Medora Musical
3422 Chateau Rd, Medora, ND 58645
(800) 633-6721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Attractions in Medora
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Show quality was down this year. Concessions have no selection and high prices. Was there on night that had long rain delay, many places in town had closed up already, about only thing the stands offered was popcorn (which was way behind) and candy. No one really ever seems to care there.....tourist trap.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    59
    25
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whiteville, NC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Must do in Medora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Fantastic show in an unforgettable theater. If you are within 200 miles of Medora see this show. One of the high points of out trip
I

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun and great outdoor experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The outdoor experience of the amphitheater is a very unique experience. I would suggest bringing a light jacket or blanket. The weather changes some as the evening progresses. We did not see the play this time, because they close down after Labor Day, but we stopped to watch it on two other occasions and enjoyed it both times.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We attend the Medora Musical every year. We travel to Medora near the end of their musical season, so we usually do not have to deal with large crowds.

The amphitheater is reached by a 7 story escalator, which is a wonder in itself.

Every year, the whole show is new, with new songs, new dances, new specialty acts, and great costumes. Although, I thought the costumes this year were the poorest we have seen.

The highlight for us every year is the annual Ghost Ride, where a man on horseback, representing Theodore Roosevelt, rides in the pitch dark from the top of a steep butte behind the stage in a spotlight down the butte to the stage area. It is simply breathtaking.

The Musical is a treat not to be missed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“2013 a bad year for Medora musical”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have attended this musical for many years and must say if the quality of production is similar to the 2013 year it's not worth attending again. Medora is beautiful and the view from the amphitheater is breath-taking. The musical was a disappointment. The male singers shined over the female. It was my opinion somebody somewhere was saving on the budget as tickets were expensive and I assumed the musical would be as pretty as ever but not so. The wardrobe department must have lacked funds as the costumes were nothing near colorful and the songs didn't produce much applause or enthusiasm from my family. We all came to the conclusion we wouldn't miss anything if prices continue to rise and quality continues to decrease.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Medora Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medora Musical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.