We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boots Bar & Grill

Boots Bar & Grill
300 Pacific Ave, Medora, ND 58645
(701) 623-9894
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 restaurants in Medora
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Boots Bar & Grill was formerly the Iron Horse Saloon. New owners have taken over and were not allowed the former name, which I feel is actually to their advantage. We have eaten there three different times while passing through North Dakota and would like to leave a review under the new name of "Boots Bar & Grill". It looks like they have expanded. It is a western themed saloon with a large screened in porch as you first walk in, saloon has several large tables made from huge tree slabs, there is a spiral stairway that leads to a large loft for serving 30-45 with an open terrace on top that also has several tables outside.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Fun Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our experience at Boots. The staff was friendly and the food was very good. The evening entertainment had a good country music band and the beer was cold. They moved the tables to create a dancing area and everyone in the bar seemed to have a great time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    17
    44
    24
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were extremely disappointed with the level of service (virtually none) the quality and quantity of food. Would never waste my time to go back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had to sit in the back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The food was good, the service was good; but the main dining area was full so we had to sit in the back, it looked like it was either under renovations or used mainly as storage or where the staff hang out on their breaks

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Had the bourbon steak and it was good. It is a bar, not a fine dining sit-down place, but the booths are comfortable and the beer is cold. Friendly, efficient waitress from Russia! She was very sweet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Went to dinner with 5 co-workers. We were from out of town, and were told by the hotel that this was a good restaurant and that he has always recommended it and never heard a complaint. I had the rib-eye and it was pretty mediocre. The service was good, and the beer was cold, so that was positive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boots Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Boots Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boots Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.