We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chase County Courthouse

Chase County Courthouse
Pearl and Broadway, Cottonwood Falls, KS
620-273-8469
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest operating courthouse west of the Mississippi River is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

That such an exquisite building is in the middle of the Flint Hills makes it all the more beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An interesting drive-by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Chase County Courthouse, just a few miles from the Tallgrass Prairie Preserve, is an architectural gem, a French style in the middle of the Flint Hills. Although I haven't toured the inside, a drive by is always a part of our trip along this scenic by-way. Cottonwood Falls sports some excellent restaurants and hotels, interesting shops, so the detour into the town is definitely worthwhile.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamego, Kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gotta Love Great Architecture!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Too bad they don't build like this anymore. I am always wowed by how buildings like this were built 100 years ago.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A touch of the past in the Beautiful Flint Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you want to see the old stone courthouse that has been preserved, take a detour off Highway 50 & view this Courthouse. It is so worth your time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great architecture, creepy jail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you are into creepy feelings, visit the old jail and go into the cell. There has definitely been something bad going on their, my hair stood on end and I felt like I needed to throw up, so had to get out of their quick. Some people like that creepy stuff, so if you do go there.
Otherwise, the architecture is fantastic. This building has been restored and is gorgeous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chase County Courthouse also viewed

 

Been to Chase County Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chase County Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.