We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Crossroads Motel (if you're British)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Little America Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Think Crossroads Motel (if you're British)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

I too booked this hotel on the advice of other T.A members - since being here the reviews seem to be more negative. Sorry to add to them, but....

I also cannot put a finger on what is wrong with this place. It is literally just off the motorway, but our room faces away from the road, so noise is not an issue. It seems to be made up of 4 blocks, like linked sausages (!) and perhaps it depends on what room you get as to your decor. We are in 274, which is in block 3, and I have to say the room decor is good - king size bed (we requested), nice drapes, bed linen, Frenchified furniture. But it's things like the bathroom that hasn't been updated. There's a roundish (deep) 70's style tub with 70's taps, a long cheap looking sinktop area.... excellent mirror facilities and the room(s) is bright.

It's as if they have plonked all this furniture in a motel - weird.

We ate in the restaurant last night, we're Euro's, so didn't dine til 8.30pm - we were the last and the staff were suprised that we wanted to eat! The food is very basic and average - order chips, they can't go wrong. The breakfast cafe was an interesting experience. Very American cuisine, very amusing trucker's conversation.

I wouldn't stay here again, I just don't like the motel atmosphere.

  • Liked — Nice 2 mile trail out the back
  • Disliked — the dining room and bathroom and long corridors...
  • Tips/Secrets — Find somewhere else - just the other side of the freeway are many more hotels
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    527
    131
    32
    22
See reviews for
495
640
70
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

I wanted a large, clean, modern place to stay for our visit to Flagstaff. We have four children and needed space and amenities to make our vacation to the Grand Canyon, Meteor Crater, Sunset Crater and Wupatki pleasant. I chose Little America because of the online compliments, the online pictures and the amenities listed online.
Well, we had the opportunity to arrive in Flagstaff a day early. We couldn't get a room at Little America for the night, so we went to the Hampton Inn for the first night. We went and did our thing the next morning, seeing the Grand Canyon and went to Little America at the end of the day.
Sure, we had an apt suite, so the rooms were large... but get this, there was only ONE tv in a suite with two bedrooms and a livingroom. ONE tv and it was ancient, like out of the 1970's. Thank God we just happened to bring alone the car dvd outlet plug so the kids could go lay on a bed in one of the rooms to watch movies at the end of the day on a 5 inch screen. That was SOOO annoying!!!
And the carpet was disgusting. Unclean. I made the kids wear socks at all times. AND the kitchen was just junky, like very low rent. AND there was no elevator to our room. SO, here we are, a family of 6, two parents schlepping all of our stuff up to the room up a flight of stairs. No help from the hotel staff WHO by the way were not very friendly.
Here's another example of how inconvenient the stay at Little America was... Ok, so, my husband and I are unwinding in front of the only real tv in the livingroom. Two kids will need to stay in one bedroom, two kids on the couch, we'll stay in the second bedroom. So, kids get tired. We have to turn off the tv and let two of the kids go to sleep in the living room on the fold out couch while we, the adults, have to go to our room which doesn't even have a TV. Now, don't tell me that two adults were going to be getting a wink of sleep on that fold out couch and that we should have slept on it. No way. We would have been up all night on that. Our old backs need a real mattress. So, we unfolded the couch, and no kidding, the sheets were dirty. So I called down to housekeeping at 10:30 pm and asked for clean sheets. I was so annoyed. It took them a half an hour to get to the room and they OOZED attitude.
Needless to say, we left Little America and went back to Hampton Inn which is smaller, but has TWO tvs, a much more modern feel, modern kitchenette, FRIENDLY staff, great free breakfast, indoor pool, clean carpeting, an elevator and just felt cleaner than Little America for HALF THE PRICE!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — ONE tv.
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid Little America until they update furniture, get more tvs, replace carpeting and redo kitchens
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

I'm not sure I can pinpoint what is missing at Little America in Flagstaff, but it felt like something was. The location was convenient close to the expressway, but my room was very quiet. The room was fine and clean. the staff was nice and helpful. The food ok. But it all just seemed a little out of time -- not down at the heels out of time but sort of old-fashioned. The room seemed like something from a different era...sort of quasi-French provincial where most of the hotels in the area seem to go for a Western theme -- not bad in itself, just odd. The restaurant was good, but a little pretentious -- lots of French on the menu. Again, ok, just strange there in the middle of Northern Arizona. I suppose it was a nice change from Southwest/TexMex fare, but it just seemed like a late-50's sort of motel elegance. In fact, while I was staying they were hosting a rally of Buick Riviera owners, so the parking lot was fittingly full of cars from the '60s and early '70s that seemed right at home.

Overall, the grounds were nice (though it was too dry with a threat of fire) to walk the trails. The gym is inadequate and small. The pool looked nice. Huge gift-shop selling everything "western" you could imagine. The breakfast was adequate. In the end, it was an interesting, old fashioned kind of place that you just don't see much of out on the road anymore. It also seemed expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

Little America is a good hotel for short stays. This complex is quite large, the rooms are very large by todays standards. The adjacent shop / cafeteria was appreciated and used.
The main negatives about this hotel would have to be the decor. The appearance of multiple expansions are obvious. Each set of buildings are connected to each other but change in style from one to next. The building is in need of updating. The furnishings are at least 30+ years old. While maintained, they are extremely dated. Almost retro unintentionally. I can recommend this property only for it's price. You won't be overwhelmed, merely satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

If you're a trucker then this is your paradise. Located just off the freeway the property is adjacent to a truck stop. Don't worry the 1970's feel is still there buried under years of smoke and dust. Viva Las Vegas from the 1950's the red carpet is unbelievable. The smell is beyond description. If you own a company, give your lowest producer a week at this gem!!

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

Just returned from spending 2 nights at Little America and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms have been recently redone and were bright and comfortable. The price was great $134 for a King Suite with a couch 2 chairs, a glass table with 2 additional chairs, and a plasma TV. The bed was also very comfortable. The room I felt was better than the JW Marriott in Las Vegas. We stayed here as a drop off point from taking the Grand Canyon Railroad. It is about a 30 minute drive to Williams from Flagstaff. The gift shop is quite nice and the food in the coffee shop was fine. This hotel is also nestled in the trees which is nice and close to downtown and a variety of restaurants. I have stayed here at least 3 times over the years and will continue to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

We were there 45 minutes, and we still had no wine, no bread, and had finished our one glass of water without ice. We have never been to a restaurant where we received water with no ice, never offered a refill, nor received any bread in only our first minutes there.
We took the server’s advice on wine, and when he finally got back, and opened it, we tasted it, and it was bad. No, not just not to our liking, the wine was spoiled. The server said he would ask the sommelier, and left. He came back and apologized, admitting that the wine was spoiled. It’s obvious they don’t have the facilities to store wine under proper conditions. We ordered another, and in the meantime, were served our soup. Never in my life had I been brought soup before wine. This is not fine dining.
We waited for our amuse-bouche, and appetizers. We still had not gotten, nor even offered, to have our water glasses filled, or offered any bread. We found the amuse-bouche of asparagus wrapped in proscuitto below average. The asparagus was obviously not fresh, the proscuitto too thickly cut, and dry.
Meanwhile, we were entertained by the “Saturday Night Live” type lounge singer, and the pounding hip-hop music from the wedding reception next door. This is not fine dining.
The shrimp cocktail—though they have another ridiculous name for it—was also dried out, and the pathetic jar cocktail sauce served with it was terrible. Fine dining restaurants do not serve anything from a jar, previously frozen, or canned. That is not fine dining.
Then our server came back and apologized that he seemed to have lost our entrée orders, and could we repeat them for him. He attempted to repeat them, but got them incorrect.
As far as the entrées, the lime and garlic mashed potatoes were totally tasteless, and had not one hint of either garlic nor lime. That’s probably a good thing since lime and garlic are a ridiculous flavor combination. Speaking of poor flavor combinations, salmon with mango? Also, the prime rib was not hot, and the broccoli overcooked. Did they hire their “chef” from Sizzler? This is not fine dining.
As time slowly ticked away, more people left, and other server’s started to remove the candles and glasses from the empty tables. Again, another thing I’ve never seen in any real fine dining restaurant. You can’t get more tacky than cleaning up while there are still patrons eating. This is not fine dining.
Just because they throw around a couple of French culinary terms like amuse-bouche and sommelier, and charge exorbitant prices, does not give them the right to call themselves a fine dining restaurant. Perhaps they should call their place “Hoppin’ Dan’s Fancy Eatery” or something to that effect, because it is certainly NOT fine dining.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#6 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.