We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Little America Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We didn't know what to expect but we decided to trust the reviews posted on Trip Advisor. Overall, we have not been disappointed. This is a very comfortable hotel and a great value. The guestrooms are very, very generous in size. For a family of 4, you can easily get away with one deluxe room and be completely comfortable. If you reserve a deluxe room with two queen beds and a sleeper sofa, you will be set. We reserved two rooms (traveling with two teenagers) but we could have easily stayed all together in one room.

We have only eaten breakfast here (more than adequate), and have not taken advantage of many guest services except the fitness room (adequate).

The location isn't the best, but not sure it matters in Flagstaff. This is a sleeply town and the downtown area isn't exactly hopping. Little America Hotel is located about 1 mile from the historical downtown - an easy drive.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    493
    124
    33
    21
See reviews for
466
609
64
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Though we were only staying 1 night on our trip around Arizona, we were treat like Royalty by the Registration Staff. Room was extremely comfortable with all amenities required. We ate in the Hotel Bar and again Staff were very pleasant and attentive. Food was of a high standard and reasonably priced.
We would certainlt recommend this Hotel to anyone, and would use again if we are back in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

We went for an early Valentine's Day weekend. Check in and out was super fast. The room was nice and we didn't hear the train or highway traffic at night. My boyfriend was impressed and thought it was romantic, but there some problems. Our beds were extremely hard and pillows were way too soft. We ended up doing a lot of hiking, so by the second night we were so tired that it wasn't a problem. Every morning starting around 8am you are woken up by other rooms' doors slamming. Also, check out is 11am, but housekeeping was at our door at 9:30am. I told her that we would be out in 15 more minutes. She was very sweet and said she would wait for us. This is a little wierd for me though, I felt like we were being rushed. All in all it was in a good location, but I wasn't that impressed for $90 a night. I can get similar room quality on hotire or hotels.com for a lot cheaper, but my boyfriend wants to stay there next time we're in town.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Our family used to stay at the Flagstaff Little America when I was younger, and I have fond memories of it, so my husband and I decided to stay here on a recent overnight trip to Flagstaff. We loved the hotel itself, though we did have a couple of minor service issues. (Those issues were the only reason I didn't rate it a "5".)

First, however, in regard to the train noise, the train is not right next to the hotel - the tracks are about a half mile away. You can hear the whistle when you are outside, but it's rather faint. I honestly don't know how people can be bothered by it when you are in your room. If you think it might be an issue, get a room with a "forest view" - ours faced the forest, and we never heard the train, even while sitting next to the balcony with the door open a bit. (Note on the balconies: They are French balconies with sliding glass doors - you can't really sit outside on the balcony, but you can open the doors. We pulled our chairs over and watched the wildlife among the trees.)

Outside:
The hotel is very well-kept, and during the holidays their trees outside are covered with thousands of lights - very pretty when you drive into the lobby. The forest behind the hotel is beautiful and quite peaceful; we went for a walk in the (deep!) snow and enjoyed ourselves very much. Would be gorgeous in summer!

The rooms:
They have been nicely refurbished, but it is NOT a modern look in any sense. It does not look like a Westin or Mondrian hotel, and it's not supposed to. It's furnished in a kind of French provincial style; some of the rooms are pink, some are blue and gold, some are green/pink/gold, etc. The lighting, bathroom, and vanity area are all of an older style, but still tasteful, and we rather liked it. It's not how I would decorate my own home, but that's part of the fun of traveling - getting to experience a unique place. Everything was spotlessly clean as well, and the bed comfy. We stayed in a king suite, which was quite spacious, with a large sitting area and glass dining table. They gave us a corner room, so we had two sets of sliding glass doors, which let in lots of light.

The first three lodges are all connected with breezeways, which is great in winter. The fireplaces in the lobby and lounge were nice, too. They keep the outdoor walkways fairly ice-free, but be careful in the parking lots, as they do get icy - but that's true of many parking lots in Flagstaff following heavy snow and freezing weather. I did see maintenance staff going around with shovels and salt.

Check-in and front desk:
The front desk personnel were quite friendly, answered questions about the hotel and their events, dining times, etc.

Tiffany Tree lounge:
We had drinks here the first night. The lounge is very pretty with the stained glass tree, picture windows, and fireplace. When we walked in, however, none of the servers approached us for at least 10 minutes. I finally had to chase one down, and she apologized that she hadn't seen us - despite the table right next to us receiving service while we watched and waited. Our drinks took awhile to arrive, yet the lounge wasn't busy. Not sure what was going on there, but our server was friendly nonetheless. They do have a happy hour from 5-7 with $5 apps and drink specials.

Room Service:
We ordered breakfast from room service, and it arrived in a timely fashion, with everything hot. However, they failed to provide any condiments- including no butter or jam for the toast, no salt or pepper, tabasco or ketchup for the potatoes, etc. When we called room service to have them delivered, we never got through. This was very annoying, as it would have been a long walk from our room to the cafe, and we didn't feel like having cold eggs if we fetched the condiments ourselves. The front desk did remove some of the room service charge when we mentioned this to them.

I do think the hotel has some issues with service overall - and they could be easily remedied. Most of the staff seems quite friendly, they simply need better training. The service issues weren't a huge deal to us, though, and we did enjoy our stay. I'd rather stay here than in one of the chain hotels around Flagstaff.

Other info:
We have also stayed at the Monte Vista in Flagstaff; I'll write a review for that one later - it's an interesting hotel, though not necessarily our style. We also toured the Weatherford Hotel during this trip; the manager took us around and was very knowledgeable. If you like historic places, you might look into the Weatherford. The manager was quite friendly, and the hotel has a restaurant and two bars. We had appetizers in one of their bars, and it was quite good! It's definitely an historic place and "quirky" but fun; if you stay, get one of the larger suite rooms if you can. And yes, train noise is rather loud at the Weatherford; the hotel is located in the downtown area just one block away from the tracks.

  • Liked — The forest behind the rooms, the large sitting area/dining table in the King Suite.
  • Disliked — The service was just okay.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane_road
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

I went to Flagstaff with some friends of mine for my birthday, after a day in the snow and sun we rested our heads at this hotel. It was so nice to have a cute room to rest in afterwards. There is a great bar with a fire place that we went to and drank some hot chocolate and coctails. I also had breakfast the next morning and although it was pricey it was good food and very convient in the nice breakfast area. Thanks Little America for hosting my birthday celebrations!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

I have stayed here three times, exactly five years apart each time (1998/2003/2008). The exterior really gives you a "built in the 1970s and never changed" feel to it. Interesting side note--this is one of the few hotels I have stayed at that does NOT use plastic card keys--though the metal "key" is still electronically programmed.

That said, there have been a number of improvements made to the rooms themselves, and the rooms actually seemed to have upgraded a bit between our 2003 stay and our 2008 stay.

Other than a rowdy group somewhere near us (several empty 18-packs of beer outside the room when we checked out the next day), we had no real complaints.

  • Liked — Value, Good Rooms, Quality Staff
  • Disliked — Hotel Is Somewhat Removed From The City
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

Wonderful property. The checkin is courteous and very professional. The rooms were spotless, large, and comfortable. The bed was a pillow top, and there is a flat panel tv. We stayed on Christmas night, and the restaurant was open. It was very good. We ordered room service for breakfast the next morning and were very pleased with that as well. Wireless internet worked great. My wife and I have no complaints whatsoever. I know it's more expensive than the average $40-$60 super 8, econo, etc, but it is well worth it if you want to splurge a bit more than usual. I can't brag enough about their beds. As good as home!

  • Liked — Location, amenities, customer service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.