We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locked out with no way home!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Little America Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Locked out with no way home!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel wad easy enough to find. Check in was easy enough. The staff was friendly and listened....or so I thought at that moment. The rooms are huge and the funiture reminded me of being in my grandmothers bedroom. We went to dinner and the front desk was happy to call us a taxi. My wife decided to go back to the room, and when she gets there her key doesn't work. The evening front desk clerk refused to issue her a working key and told her that she would just have to wait. As my phone was dead, she had to sit and wait for two hours. Even though during check-in we both checked in at the same time and I told the lady at the desk my wifs name. I get back and find out she has been waiting and the desk ckerk didn't so much as issue a simple "sorry". Just excuse after excuse. Walking away from the front desk, feeling unsatisfied and unhappy. Yet after giving my wife a hard time about getting the key issue fixed, he resets the key for me with out so much as asking for my I.D.

Too bad really, it would have been a great stay but that pretty much broke it.

Checked out and brought the issue up to the morning manger. She was nice and listened to what I had to say. Very professional.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, General Manager at Little America Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Dannon,

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback from your recent stay at Little America Flagstaff. I am so sorry to hear about your disappointment in us, as we strive to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests. I am terribly sorry your wife was made to wait to receive a new key. We do have strict procedures in place to protect our guest’s safety when it comes to handing out keys. However, the situation with your wife could have been handled a lot better. Please know I have shared your feedback with my staff and are using it to train and improve our service so other guests do not have the same experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Little America Flagstaff in the near future and I would be pleased to personally oversee the details of your next stay to restore your confidence in us.

Respectfully,

Fred Reese
General Manager
freese@flagstaff.littleamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    527
    131
    32
    22
See reviews for
495
640
70
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed three nights and were very glad to have the larger room for our group of four which included two tall teenage boys. We had a room with two queen beds and a sofa bed and so we could all stretch out after a day on the slopes. We did not eat at the hotel, so can't offer any comments on the food. The beds were pretty firm which was not great for us but the sofa bed was above average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room either in the back or in Lodge 4 - these are farther from the freeway and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I needed a good quality hotel close to the Grand Canyon for our two day visit as part of a two week holiday. We looked at hotels closer to the park but many had received less than complimentary reviews on Trip Advisor and to be frank they all seemed a little tacky. Little America however was perfect.

Our room was of a high quality even though it was listed as standard. Clean, spacious, well furnished with a nice bathroom.

We made use of the hotel bar and restaurant where the staff were extremely pleasant and attentive (as were all the hotel staff) and the prices were reasonable.

Well worth a stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I may whine a little bit here, so brace yourself. This hotel doesn't deserve to be #1 on Trip Advisor for Flagstaff!
Overall, I liked the hotel, more than I thought I would. The rooms were quite large, with a full bathroom and a separate makeup area with a sink, mirror; that's good thinking if you have a wife and 2 daughters like I do. Nice move.
The furniture appears older, but a classic style (that's what they were going for), and very clean. Nice grounds too, plenty of parking and pine trees all around.
Here's the problem---I picked hotels on my trips through Flagstaff that have hot tubs; which after a 9 hour drive, I want to use for theraputic reasons (my achin' back).
So, when I went down in the morning, the gate was locked, with no sign up. I called the office, they said they'd have maintenance open the gate; then they called back to say it wasn't available because it was still heating up.
OK, I'm all for hot tub maintenance, and it looked clean. I didn't have 2 hours to wait for it to warm up. I also had picked the hotel with the specific intent to use the hot tub; and since I called down and checked out with the same lady at the desk, I belive a reduction in the rate was due, but none was offered. I wasn't going to fight about it; but it also makes me lean away from coming back if they won't treat us right.
I stayed at the Drury in on my return leg in Flagstaff. I was wanting to take the family to Flagstaff, and will shy away from this hotel (Little America) because they won't treat you right; and I dont' want to throw a fit; just take 20% off my bill if the error is yours.
If you advertise a hot tub, and it isn't working, don't just say "Sorry" and do nothing, that doesn't cut it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, General Manager at Little America Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Washed -

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback from your recent stay at Little America Flagstaff. I am so sorry to hear about your disappointment with us. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests and we fell short during your stay. I apologize for the hot tub not being available during your stay and for the breakdown in communication between the front desk and maintenance departments. Please know we have shared your feedback with our staff and are using it to train and improve our service so other guests do not have the same experience.

I would like to speak with you personally about your experience. Please contact me personally at freese@flagstaff.littleamerica.com so we can speak in more detail about what happened and what did not happen in regards to a discount.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Little America Flagstaff in the near future and I would be pleased to personally oversee the details of your next stay to restore your confidence in us.

Respectfully,

Fred Reese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The room decor is a very french provincial, circa 1962. But the rooms are huge, with a full size sofa plus table and chairs. This was most room we have had on our trip. We also enjoyed the Sunday brunch, excellent food and great service. The hotel is quite large, but is nestled into a pine forest with some walking trails behind it. If you are headed to, or through, Flagstaff, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Vicky L-

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It is a dated structure but has been well-maintained. Staff was very friendly. Room was large, clean, and had good views out to the park-like setting around the hotel. I agree with the high ratings and encourage travelers to visit this one for a good night's rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The best things about our stay at Little America: Austin, the restaurant waiter whose enthusiasm for the job is rare in this day and age; furniture that was made well enough in the 70s to withstand four decades of use and still looks good; a great little gift shop with kind ladies working there; a beautifully decorated outside with Christmas lights galore on trees and bushes which delighted the kids; beautiful lobby with welcoming desk clerks; it was also very nostalgic, as I recalled traveling with my grandparents in style in the 1970s. I also felt a tad underdressed as we pulled up, but that was only because I was remembering how people used to dress while traveling years ago; we were dressed fine, so no worries there.

What missed the mark: the price -- for the price we paid, it was disappointing not to have breakfast provided; the tiles in the bathroom -- I can overlook the Brady Bunch avocado green tile, but it was cracked in several places; the tub -- way too slick for kids or older folks (anyone with feet, frankly, could take a nasty tumble); the lack of room numbers at the start of each hallway (i.e., Rooms 100-110, Rooms 111 - 121); the lack of elevators.

Room Tip: Bottom floor if you don't want to carry your luggage upstairs. Also, ask for a room closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#6 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.