We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Little America Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

After the rush and push of las vegas this was an oasis of calm. Set in a pine forest with walking trails clearly marked. The room was spacious, clean and decorated in keeping with the setting. Had a very good dinner, with excellent service. A little way out of Flagstaff was the only disavantage for those in a tour group. There are a couple of service stations with mini markets and counter service within strolling distance, for those on a budget.

Room Tip: the back of the hotel faces the pine forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    492
    124
    32
    21
See reviews for
463
607
64
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as a base for some day trips in the area. The upside is it is very conveniently located off of 40 and about a 2 miles from the historic district. The rooms are refreshingly large furnished with outdated furniture. There is a separate vanity/sink, in addition to the one in the bathroom, which works great with a family.

The Little America is large and we were in a building furthest away from the lobby and still a long walk through the courtyard. While we were there, they were doing some landscape repairs and some of the walkway was blocked off as well.

There is a nice pool in the center of the property, easily accessible from all points. This could be good or bad, but there isn't a lot of sun because of the many pines surrounding the pool area, so only a few nooks in the afternoon to grab some sun. There are bins for fresh towels and used towels, and when we were there the used towels were overflowing and there weren't any fresh towels. I asked two different people for towels and they don't communicate since they both went on separate missions.

Another downer is no morning paper... you can buy one at the gift shop next door.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but we did eat at the Little America-owned truck stop/lunch counter for a good old-fashioned truck stop breakfast, which was tasty. Odd that you get your meal served on a nice heavy plate but have to eat with small plastic utensils.

If the price is right I would stay here again. It's definitely more expensive than most of the hotels in the area and a bit overwhelming in scale, but a pleasant place to stay away from the hustle bustle, even though you are close to it.

Room Tip: decide if you need to be need the lobby and restaurant when you book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped here to show my bride the place, she had never been there. Great BLTA sandwich (BLT with Avacado) and Onion Soup. Cobb salad was good. Service was attentive. Restaurant very clean. A nice place to eat in a timeless and elegant setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is one of the few hotels I remember visiting as a child. The sprawling, wooded property seemed filled with wildlife... and it still is today.

There was some sort of NBC conference being held at the hotel while we were there. Walking into the lobby to check-in, I counted twelve people in front of me in line. Only two employees were working the front desk, but after a few minutes a third employee showed up. The line went surprisingly fast, and after about ten minutes I was being helped.

I requested a room near the pool. The clerk showed me a map and explained that the pool was pretty central to all the buildings. Not really true. Buildings one and two are near the pool. Three and four are several hundred feet away.

We ended up on the second floor of building three, with a balcony facing the parking lot. The room was very spacious, with two queen size beds. Other reviewers have complained at the furniture was old and out of style. I would agree that it is of an older style, but very well maintained. More like antique furniture your grandparents would have if they reupholstered on a regular basis. Not a bad thing at all.

The pool was quite large and well heated. However, the shallow end seemed much cooler than the deep. Hot tub was very large and deep enough for small children to swim in. You can call the lounge and have drinks delivered. Right next to the pool is a playground.

Our room was very quiet. Didn't hear our neighbors at all. Unfortunately, what we did hear was the garbage truck emptying the dumpster at 6:30am. WTF? Why on earth would the hotel allow the trash company to come that early??? It is a huge hotel which should be able to have some say in the matter. Not okay!

Breakfast was more than okay. It is not included in your stay, but it was so worth the extra money. Huge portions of fresh food. I recommend the fruit bowl. It is an amazing amount of fruit for the price. For a few extra dollars, get the fruit plate with a muffin and yogurt. The orange juice tasted fresh squeezed. Get a table by the window for the wildlife viewing. We saw rabbits, squirrels, and even a raven trying to catch a chipmunk.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the parking lot are quieter. Dumpsters are by building three and got emptied at 6:30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have stayed here many times and it still is a great experience. Check in is easy. The rooms are also very large and quaint. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The balcony is a tiny but it is so nice to open the windows for fresh air. There are hiking trails around the property that connect to the Flagstaff trail system. The pool is large and they supply towels at the pool. There is also food and drink service at the pool but we never saw anyone taking orders. The Jacuzzi is smaller but still a nice way to relax. There is also a small playground for younger kids. In the lobby there is a upscale restaurant and a gift shop. There used to be a coffee shop, but they moved it to the adjacent truck stop. We ate there twice and it was very well priced and the food was good. It is a order at the counter restaurant with no wait service. We stay here every summer as it is a good jumping off point for various attractions including Bearizona (in Williams) and of course the Grand Canyon. Highly recommend staying here as the hotel is in a great location, the staff is wonderful and the hotel is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a room with a view, otherwise you might get a view of the parking lot. This hotel honor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I always use Tripadvisor which is why we chose this hotel. We were flying in from across the country and arrived at midnight (3am our time) - I had called especially 2 days before to remind them we would have a late arrival. When we arrived they told us they no longer had a room. They had to call a taxi which took forever, to take us to a hotel outside of Flagstaff in the middle of nowhere. They gave us the room for free, however, we were out here for work, and the only nice hotel we were planning to stay in was this one, before heading to some very remote areas. I guess there were more important people checking in earlier. Buyer beware, they do not bother to keep your reservation for you. This has only ever happened to me in big hotels with huge meetings - not in small hotels like this one. Thank you for ruining our weekend.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Check in was quick and they still use real keys here. The room and bathroom were huge. Very clean. Large Flat screen tv. Room had two double beds, sitting area, table and chairs, plenty of places to sit other than the beds with an outdoor patio area. Very 1950's style looks including the pink tile in the bathroom but like I said everything was very well kept up, clean and in good condition. Room service was good. They took a little longer than I would have liked but I was very hungry. 45 minutes. I would stay here again. It was right off the highway and easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.