We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view from the road doesn't do the hotel justice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added Little America Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The view from the road doesn't do the hotel justice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife, son and I recently spent 4 nights in the Little America Hotel in Flagstaff. The hotel is located immediately off Interstate 40, and is operated in conjunction with a truck stop, grill, and convenience center. The hotel portion, however, is well separated from the other operations, and really only shares a portion of a driveway.

Although initial impressions from the highway lead may lead you to believe that this is a motel, it is really a full-service hotel. There's a restaurant (not bad), concierge, large gift shop, pool, and room service. Our double queen room was absolutely spotless. Although the hotel has the look of a place that's been around for 50 years, it is in excellent repair, and the rooms are clean enough to be brand new. The decor, as mentioned elsewhere, has a dated style, but the furniture isn't old. The beds were comfortable, and the staff was courteous and helpful. The rooms are on the large side.

The hotel is actually composed of several buildings that are all interconnected. I knew from other Tripadvisor reviewers that the hotel's “Preferred View” rooms have views of the forest, instead of the parking lot (for a little more cash). When we reserved our room, the person on the phone suggested that we request “Lodge 4”, which we found is furthest from the restaurant, but also very quiet, with views of the woods. We didn't mind the walk, but others might (and you can also just drive to the restaurant and/or gift shop). Also, it occurred to me that there could be significant foot traffic on the ground floor main corridor in lodges 1-3, especially in inclement weather.

We found the Little America Hotel to be welcoming, convenient, and well-managed. We would hesitate to stay here again, or to recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms would be Preferred View rooms on the second floor of lodge 4. The floors appear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    717
    443
    112
    29
    20
See reviews for
416
533
60
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Thanks to TripAdvisor, we choose this gem for our stay in Flagstaff. The rooms were spacious and clean (especially the bathrooms). The staff was very accommodating and helpful. Love the location in the Ponderosa Pines. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Even with the high marks given by our fellow Tripadvisors, we were a bit skeptical due to the comments about the dated furniture. Don't let that get in the way - we love this place! Huge rooms, quiet, great lobby, bar, restaurant and gift shop. The best part is that it is like being in a lodge with comfy, wonderful personalized service,

The best part is that it is not a major chain. Having a full service hotel has been a real pleasure. We will stay again for sure. It is not a big deal to get over the french provincial/colonial mix older furniture. We highly recommend this hotel for the Flagstaff area.

Room Tip: Note - no elevators! Beware of second floor rooms if you cannot lug them up the stairs, but front de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Clean, beautiful view, great service, large rooms, comfy beds, affordable rates, very reasonable prices at the on site restaurant. Everything is upscale but with prices a family can afford. I would stay here again in a minute!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. This was our second stay at the Flagstaff location. Used it as a hub for exploring the Flagstaff area, which was a breeze with the easy access on and off the Interstate. Rooms are nicely decorated and furnished (though the decor clashes with the TVs). The kids loved the trails and playground area. The restaurant is ok, but not great. A bit pricey too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel between our time in Sedona and the Grand Canyon. When I saw the sign with the little penguin and logo I thought my wife had messed up.

The hotel has a cabin type look from outside...kind of a lodge feel (front desk area) and all the pine trees around. The rooms are more what I would call kind of like Victorian or something. The decoration is a little dated but everything else really is done well.

Simple check in, rooms are large, beds are very comfy (pillows too).

After a long day of hiking in Sedona the hot tub was absolutely amazing. It was about 45 degrees outside but the tub was perfect refreshing helping us get ready for the Grand Canyon the next day. Even if you think it is cold outside you have to get in the hot tub it was great. My father in law walked the trails and he said it was really cool.

In the bathroom a mini refrigerator.

Great value (Priceline) clean, big rooms and a first for us was we asked for two rooms with queen beds and when we arrived they actually had what we had asked for. You be surprised how many hotels mess that simple request up.

Perfect for families

Room Tip: get a room on the backside of the hotel. perfect for families if this is a romantic stay you can pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have just arrived at Little America and were pleasantly surprised. Very classy entrance, welcoming reception, beautifully appointed room. Our room overlooks the back woods and though it is close to the highway I don't hear any noise in our room. Other reviews seemed to indicate it was a truck stop which it is not. There is one next door and a service station on the property. The Little America hotel is quite lovely and reasonably priced.There is a restaurant on the premises but no complimentary breakfast. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: First floor is good if you have luggage and facing the back is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#10 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.