We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but should do better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added Little America Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Grand Canyon Package
Ranked #1 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good, but should do better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

There is a lot to like about this hotel: the large comfortable rooms are furnished in a faux belle-époque style and the spacious restaurant and bar have a similar feel of relaxed, graceful elegance. Helpful touches in the bedroom include two washbasins, one in the bathroom, the other outside.

It is in some ways a large luxury motel and its location is fine for those with their own transport, but without wheels it is a 50 minute walk alongside a busy highway into the centre of Flagstaff. Unfortunately the Front Desk could give us no information about buses to downtown, which was surprising.

There were several other irritating niggles, none of which was major in itself but cumulatively caused the Little America to fall short of the full five stars in our estimation.

The rooms are arranged in ‘lodges’ but the front door to our lodge (and presumably the others) could not be locked and was thus open to any intruder. The bedrooms are locked with a physical (and therefore cumbersome and copy-able) key rather than the more usual electronic card. A small point, but the room numbering system does not help in identifying which you lodge you are walking through on returning from the restaurant or foyer.

The room fridge was empty and the coffee-making facilities were set up in the bathroom, which I always wonder about on electrical safety grounds. Another niggle was that there was no guide to the TV channels in the room. The wall safe is so shallow that it cannot house a passport except upright! The ‘laundry service’, according to the folder of hotel information turns out to be a coin-operated laundromat – except that we discovered a laundry bag hidden away in a cupboard on our last morning (too late to be of any use) but with no information about prices or collection arrangements. All verging on the trivial, I agree, but nonetheless all avoidably on the wrong side of the customer delight/irritation divide.

The bar has an excellent range of drinks and the menu in the restaurant is interesting and good. The only trouble was that the bar got our order wrong and the restaurant forgot one course entirely. Mistakes happen, and perhaps allowance could be made for my unfamiliar British accent, but in each case it was more a matter of inattention. A pity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    644
    397
    103
    27
    18
See reviews for
375
461
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights over Christmas break. Although the motif of the rooms is old victorian style, everything worked and nothing was worn out. The rooms were very large and clean. The property is also well kept and Christmas decorations were all around. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The restaurant food and service was OK. The only negative was the spotty Wi-Fi service around the property.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed overnight here in late December 2012. We had a beautiful room. Very clean, very large and nicely decorated and even had good lighting. The hotel was decorated for Christmas and even had sleigh rides. We enjoyed our overnight and sort of wished we had been staying longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent Christmas here and it was so fun! The hotel is a little older and a bit retro but the rooms are very spacious and the staff is genuinely nice. We stayed with 2 toddlers, the rooms had plenty of space for a pack n play and a lot of open floor space to play. They do an excellent job decorating the property for the holidays and the lobby has a huge Christmas tree and a great fireplace. The bar has a cool feature over it and nice views of the forest. Sunday/Holiday brunch was excellent! This is a great place to stay with kids. The rooms and restaurants are very reasonable as well as comfortable and quiet. It was super easy to get to right off the highway, and everything seemed close by. There is a convenience store and gas station on the property as well as a large gift shop in the lobby. Great for families with a playground, pool and spa. With all the snow they also offered horse drawn sleigh rides. We really enjoyed the nostalgia of the property and I liked that I could park easily and walk to the room. The rooms had hairdryers, mini coffee pots, a refrigerator all the regular amenities. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a part of the Little America "chain" whichhas limited locations. We decided to stay at the LA in Flagstaff and found our room to be big, comfy and very reasonably priced. Overlooking the freeway at Butler Ave exit on I-40, the room was very quiet, no road noise. Restaurant on-site has great food at reasonable prices. Ideally located for freeway travelers, we used it as our launching pad for the Grand Canyon and local attractions. Our single room is really a suite. Spacious bath, sitting area and king size bed. Decor is a little tired if that is important. Overlook that and you will get a very big, comfy space at a great price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was able to stay only one night, during the week after New Year's. I really wanted to stay longer once I saw my room! Of course, the roaring fire in the lobby and the magical snow outside helped as well. The service was genuinely friendly, and the hotel manages to combine comfort with a luxury feel. The setting is wonderful, and the lounge - also with a fireplace - is inviting. I would stay again in a heartbeat - and this is the first review I have ever written.

Room Tip: Definately get a woods view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I can't quite give Little America 5-stars and I was tempted to give it 3-stars. Although I do not have any specific complaints, the Little America hotel is showing its age. While the rooms were very clean, and the bed comfortable, the decor was dated and the sound insulation between the rooms and the hallway needs to be improved. It may just have been the holiday season with the presence of a large number of small children playing in the hallways that added to the noise level.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are large including a separate seating area (it's not a suite) and the setting is spectacular. The hotel's location is a tad remote in terms of its location to the better restaurants in Flagstaff. However, being right off I-40 adds to the convenience of accessing the freeway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff
Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.