We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly the best in Flagstaff, but some troubling trends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Little America Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
scottsdale, az
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clearly the best in Flagstaff, but some troubling trends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Little America is the best Flagstaff hotel, but recent trends have me concerned. Their recent 'improvements' to the hotel, have of course, worsened it. There used to be a great restaurant for breakfast, but it's closed now, and the smaller bar-restaurant that used to host live entertainment at night, is their only restaurant. The walking trails have basicly been denuded of trees, and many that you do see, have charred trunks. Wouldn't a fire road have accomplished the same fire prevention logic in a more acceptable and less unsightly fashion? They have also removed benches which used to be at strategic places on the walking trail. Little America remains the best, albeit the priciest, hotel in Flagstaff, but for how much longer?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    527
    131
    32
    22
See reviews for
496
640
70
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

What a beautiful property! It's an older hotel which has been beautifully remodeled with European antique-style furniture. It makes you feel like you were staying in a four star hotel. Very nice and quiet setting despite being close to the highway. We were sitting at the poolside yesterday when both my wife and I remarked how quiet it was.

The room is gorgeous for the price. Truly 400 square feet; the pictures don't lie. Huge bathroom also. Nice Panasonic TV, excellent Wi-Fi (500 KB/s download speeds).

The pool is on the smaller side for the size of the property. Only about 15-20 pool chaises. The forrest around is charming.

There is no free breakfast, but one can make free coffee in one's room. Our room also had the usual ironing board and iron, and also a mini fridge (in the bathroom!). The restaurant is nothing to write home about; it's a charming mix between an upscale restaurant and a diner, where you won't feel awkward neither in shorts nor in a suit.

Parking is free and plentiful. The hotel is next to the highway, easy to find. There are no good restaurants nearby, but that applies to most good hotels in Flagstaff.

The service is outstanding. The front desk is excellent, mature and experienced people, day and night. Very nice young people in the restaurant.

It's so "bad" here that we have just extended our stay from the initial one-day booking to our available maximum of 3 days.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody who needs a good night's sleep before reaching the Grand Canyon. Much better value than the hotels in Sedona (Orchard Inn was more expensive and could not compare to this beautiful property). Also, if you need an escape from the heatwave in Southern Arizona, the temperature here is a refreshing 25 degrees less. Not to speak about the beautiful Flagstaff and hotel surroundings.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

After reserving rooms over a month in advance, and requesting they be together, there were none ready at check in time. The clerks pulled out one here, there and everywhere, so our group was sprinkled all over.

On checkout one person was charged for a movie, when none was watched. Two others were charged twice for the room. One person's key did not work, and the whole lock had to be changed before she could use the room!!

A long letter was sent to Standard Oil - which owns the hotel, and there was no apology, no explanation -- nothing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We spent three nights at Little America. What we liked was the great piece of land it sits on, kind of hidden in the Ponderosa Pines and backing to a lot of open space with trails out the back door. The pool/spa sit out in the back in the pines. The hotel is a few minutes drive from the Historic District where all the fun restaurants and brew pubs are located. Classes had just started at NAU nearby, but we had no problems finding parking downtown or getting into places to eat.

Once we got past the pines, the hotel itself was quite a disappointment. It's the classic case of putting lipstick on a pig; the hotel looked nice on the surface, but underneath that was an aged property with a tightfisted management. Problems with our room were a toilet that wouldn't flush unless we held down the lever for 30 seconds, and then only poorly (maintenance said that's due to the age of the property; doorknobs that were so hard to turn my wife got stuck behind a door more than once; maids who kept turning the thermostat down to 55 degees each time they cleaned; poor wi-fi connections; a 1-cup coffee maker (seriously, it would only make one cup of bad coffee at a time - there was no pot) that finally broke after two days. When we arrived, they put us in a room fronting the freeway. When we asked to be moved to the other side of the building (the hotel was not very full), they said that would cost another third of what we were paying - so we listened to the freeway all night, but at least it wasn't near the tracks with trains every 10 minutes.

There was no complimentary coffee in the reception area. We understand that some places don't include breakfast, which is fine, but at least offer up a cup of decent coffee in the morning!

The room was comfortable enough, though the furnishings and finishes were pretty dated. But the hotel and rooms were clean and the pool was very nice, even if it was closed for maintenance one of the afternoons we were there.

All in all, it was somewhat of a disappointment. I've stayed at the Courtyard in Flagstaff before, and while it doesn't have the pine trees or trails, it is much more modern and comfortable, and the management is more attentive to its guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
423 reviews 423 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed two nights here. The deluxe "one king bed with sofa bed" room was the most spacious motel/hotel room I've been in for a long time. The whole complex is huge. Bathroom was very spacious with great counter space (mini fridge is also in the bathroom). Our room faced the interstate, and this is also a truck stop. But, noise was not an issue. There was more chatter from the hallway than noise from outside. Front desk staff was very friendly and professional. Two computer terminals were available for use in the lobby. We ate the first night at the truck stop snack bar, and it was good enough. I also tried the 2.5 mile jogging path on the grounds. It's not superbly marked, but if you stay on the gravel path, you're fine. This thing goes way back in the woods. But for the interstate sounds, you'd think you were 10 miles from civilization after the first half mile. I'd come back to this facility in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were looking just for a good place to stay a couple of nights and instead we found a great place where my kids didnt want to leave. The pool is nice and the forest behind the hotel gave my kids plenty of time to play.
The services are ok, but can get better.
Anyway, I dont think you would find a better place to stay in Flagstaff or places around it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We picked this hotel as it was on our route and didn't have high expectations but were pleasantly surprised. Despite being near the interstate is has a lovely location in the forest and the pool area is very nice too. All the staff were friendly and the food in the restaurant was very nice. Would definitely stay here again. Also check out the nearby observatory if you have time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#7 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.