We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcycle-friendly motel on old Route 66” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Inn - Route 66

Save Saved
You added Americana Inn - Route 66 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Americana Inn - Route 66
2650 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Motorcycle-friendly motel on old Route 66”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were on a 6 day Harley tour of Arizona and had made no reservations in Flagstaff - we pulled into the Americana and took a chance - for $50.00/night it was a great stop on our journey to relive the Easy Rider days of Route 66! While checking in, we were advised that the movie crew stayed at that same Inn while filming Easy Rider in1968. The owners were very hospitable and eager to make us feel at home. It was a typical 50 year old motel room, we didn't expect much, but it was clean,comfortable and quiet with parking outside the door for the bike. The is a coffee shop/drive thru on the premises (excellent coffee!!) and plenty of nearby diners. All in all, this motel helped us capture even more of the feel of the dys when Route 66 was America's Highway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    6
    5
    39
See reviews for
15
16
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is an old but very clean motel. It is inexpensive and the internet connection is not great, but it is next to a drive-inn expresso place. And it is a part of Route 66 history. It may not look that great, but it's perfectly OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a tired motel, sadly in need of better management. We landed here in a snowstorm and stayed one night out of desperation. The bed was comfortable, but the motel is located next to the train tracks and a heavy equipment depot, so the noise made it difficult to sleep. The bathroom had good water pressure and plenty of hot water, but: it had no heat, the window sill was filthy, the caulking around the tub needed to be replaced and the black mould cleaned (it's easy to do with hydrogen peroxide). The wifi doesn't work. There's no coffee in the room and no breakfast provided -- you have to walk over to the coffee kiosk next door. The office doesn't open until 8 am, so there are no staff on site overnight. We paid $49.99 for a king bed. There are plenty of other hotels and motels to choose from along this stretch of highway.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n0rthernAZ, Owner at Americana Inn - Route 66, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
If you truly felt that the room was not adaquate we would have been more then happy to refund you the full balance within 30 minutes of check in. We are closed from 4am-8am due to slow season and limited traffic. We do offer a breakfast consisiting of danishes,cinammon rolls, coffee and juice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I were traveling through Flagstaff, we stopped at the Americana by chance. We were looking for a reasonable place to stay and the Americana was certainly cheap. However, once we saw the room we went back to the clerk to let him know we wouldn't be staying, he explained their "no refund" policy, and believe you me there is a reason they do not offer refunds.

The room was NOT very clean and the bed was uncomfortable. The sheets were washed but they had holes in them, the towels were so thin you could practically see through them, at least where they weren't stained. The only item provided was toothpaste I had never heard of and a bar of soap that was barely big enough to wash your hands with. I would not unpack anything as I wanted to limit what I touched to the bare minimum. The bathroom door did not close all the way and I was woken every couple of hours by the noisey trains that went by. There is NO view of anything except an ugly parking lot. No ice maker and when I went to the office at 8:30 in the morning to get a cup of coffee the office was locked with a note on the door that said it would open at 8 a.m.

The only redeeming quality was the hot water, the shower had plenty of water pressure, it's just a shame it leaked all over the floor, perhaps this is how they wash the floor.

I would sleep in my car before I spent another night in this hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

One of the less expensive motels in Flagstaff. It is showing it's age but is reasonably clean, reasonably placed, and as a result, reasonably priced. The evening manager was a very nice guy who gave me a free upgrade in the room and good advice on eating. A good night's sleep is all I need, and is what I got.

Room Tip: It's perpendicular to the Highway so ask for a room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma az
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

When staying one night at this Motel, I would not recommend it to any one. The sheets on bed were not tucked in, like the covers were just thrown over the bed.Called to get extra pillows and 2 hours later had to call back. By this time I seen we had no wash cloths or soap. They finally came down with the pillows,wash cloths, soap and a bag of ice.The worse part , I felt something stick me in the leg.Turned on light and there was a cut off finger nail in the bed. this was at 4:00 in the morniing. we lefted at 7:oo in the morning.Stopped to report this but they don't open till 8:00. I called them the next day and was told if I would of reported it in the first hour theycould of done something about it. so first and last time I will ever stay there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This review of the Americana Inn on RT66 in Flagstaff is NOT about A LAVISH ROOM or DINING-or EXPENSIVE IMPORTED CHANDELIERS-or HEATED POOL or HEALTH CENTER, etc.
This review is about an American Dream of a young man named BRIAN, the owner,
. It is a review about his dedicated, courteous staff who work to keep his dream alive & growing
Brian is young man who works & studied hard to make a dream of owning a motel come true.
The Americana Inn is a simple place--an affordable place--a safe and mostly quiet place.
I took a weekly package at just around $200..Yep $200 & change for the ENTIRE week.
The room was clean and Brian's house staff kept it that way. The bed quite comfortable.
The AC, heat, TV all worked smoothly
My room had a nice computer table and was a non Smoking Room
The Americana Inn even has pretty dang good wall art.
. The shower had lots of hot water. The tub deep (soap dish needed replaced & was)
There is reliable WiFi hook up.
The Continental Breakfast ?? well, now remember the price and all the other good things.
Brian's coffee is very good and there is fresh made juice & itty bitty cinammon rolls LOL
There is a very nice coffee stand on the site and for a sit down breakfast plenty of choices.
Dinner? China Gate Buffet not too far away & voted "Best Chinese Buffet" many times, over..
If you are coming to Flagstaff to see your young person in college (that's expensive enough),or in town on a short business trip,save some money and book into the Americana Inn.
In closing, the original American Spirit of trying is exemplified in this young American Small Business owner who is a hands on involved owner and YES HE DID BUILD THIS BUSINESS.

Artistically yours,
Francis G

Room Tip: Don't over expect. Just enjoy the room, the savings, the sights and all there is to see downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Inn - Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn - Route 66

Address: 2650 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Americana Inn - Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Inn - Route 66 Hotel Flagstaff
Americana Hotel Flagstaff
Americana Hotel Route 66

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Inn - Route 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.