We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed my Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 South Beulah Boulevard, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% for AAA and CAA
Ranked #7 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Surpassed my Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights - one was New Year's Eve. I didn't have high expectations due to reading these reviews and being a frequent visitor of Little America. This was an unusual stay because a lot of problems occurred. Here a summary of how the hotel staff professionally handled each problem and made our stay exceptional:

- We arrived super-early and they let us check in
- My son spilled milk all over one of the beds, they took a while but changed all of the bedding
- Our shower head was broken, I reported it first thing in the AM and it was fixed by the time we got back from breakfast
- Our neighbors' children would not stop screaming after 2am (not infants, these kids were at least 9+ years old and obviously their parents left them alone in the room while they were out). Hotel management discreetly and quickly quieted them down after one call.

This hotel gets 5 stars for service! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    135
    56
    25
    9
See reviews for
156
99
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel only a week or so in advance - decided to make Flagstaff our base for the drive to the south rim of the Grand Canyon rather than Williams where I'd had reservations for longer (but which I decided to cancel). So since I was so late, this was the only hotel in its class available. After reading the mixed reviews, I was a bit hesitant to book but had no real options. Also, we were there for two nights between Christmas and New Years which is apparently a busy time in Flagstaff. (We drove over from Albuquerque, stopped in Flagstaff, drove up to do a day at the Grand Canyon and then drove down to Phoenix), and I considered the rate quite high - even with a AAA discount at this type of hotel (therefore the lower rating on value). However, we were otherwise quite pleased. The hotel is a bit older but well maintained and not the least bit offensive. Appeared to be new woven (high traffic appropriate) in halls and rooms. No mildew in bayhroom or stainage elsewhere. Small flat screen tv in room with multiple channels. The small lobby was cozy and there were warm chocolate chip cookies available for my girls (score!!) The front desk staff was friendly, knowledgeable about the area and efficient. The hotel is super well located with so many conveniences within a mile. My girls absolutely adored the indoor heated pool and hot tub, and although they were crowded as the hotel was sold out, there were still chairs and plenty of towels available. Wireless was seamless and fast, beds were comfy and although our room was on the road side of hotel (vs parking lot side), I did not experience the horrible noise other reviewers reference. (We were on the 4th floor, closer to the parkway). Also as others mention, the parking lot is small for a property of this size and does overflow into the fast food restaurant next door. Breakfast was crowded but there was plenty (and we ate around 9 am both days - runs from 6-10 am) including make your own waffles, small omelettes and potatoes and bottomless urns of coffee (also available with tea and hot chocolate all day long - a real treat). There was a slight wait for a table but they opened an overflow room w folding tables in an attempt to combat. It snowed and was quite cold and icy while we were there, but there was staff outside shovelling and sanding and even helping people clear off their cars. All in all - a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stay at Hampton Inn's all over the country... and they have finally given me a "less than 100%" experience.

I have been so pleased with Hampton over the years I even got the Hilton HHonors linked credit card.

This Hampton was different... it was AWFUL!

First problem, they (along with every other Flagstaff hotel I have stayed at) SPRAYED THE ROOM WITH WAY TOO MUCH TOXIC CHEMICAL "Freshener".

Not only did they spray the room with this "freshener" that I am highly allergic to... they sprayed the bed with it... INSTEAD OF PUTTING ON A FRESH DUVET COVER.

I woke up an hour after I fell asleep with a splitting headache, swelling eyes, burning lungs, and a very long black hair that was not mine in my mouth.

I felt totally violated and very not at home.

PLUS the place was filled to the brim with children who were not very well behaved.

the next morning I tried to go to "breakfast" at the very reasonable hour of 6:30 am only to find that the whole thing had been picked clean and was not being restocked, we had to go out to eat after several tries, there were just way too many family's pushing and shoving over food.

This is the third time we have tried to stay in Flagstaff, and even the number one hotel smells like cheap caustic pineapple air "freshener".... they have banned smoking, but still allow the hotels to spray petroleum based air "cleaners" that actually dirty the air. All the hotels in Flagstaff are horrid... almost as bad as the hotels in Grand Junction, Co... ALMOST.

I won't stay in a hotel in Flagstaff again... they cater too much to people with children, and the properties are in bad shape.

Room Tip: Stay in Laughlin Nevada, just three hours away... Unless you have children... then this is the perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I traveled to Flagstaff in order to attend my niece's graduation from NAU. The location was convenient. Japheth, the front desk attendant, was very helpful with check in and answered my questions. The complimentary breakfast and all day/night coffee bar was nice along with the indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. It was quiet as well which I appreciated.

All staff members we came in contact with were super friendly and genuine. Seemed like they enjoyed working there which made me feel right at home. It snowed all day Saturday, so I stayed inside - catching up on some work, enjoying he pool, and watching TV. There were a couple restaurants within walking distance.

Ken dug my car out of the snow on Sunday. Really went the extra mile to help.

Next time I'm in Flagstaff, I will most definitely stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The staff was very nice and the room was clean. I only stayed one might for business but was pleased. I stay at HHonors properties whenever possible and would stay again. Like most Hampton Inn hotels however the gym was lacking. A rack of dumbbells and some older cardio equipment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very clean comfortable room with a Jacuzzi. We enjoyed a relaxing evening in the hot tub and then a very restful nights sleep. Before checking out we sampled the complimentary breakfast.
The staff was friendly and got us into our room quickly even with several people trying to check in. The location is perfect if you are in town for any NAU event. Dining near by. Great location

Room Tip: We had the King room with Jacuzzi. Good way to get relaxed and sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

So I wasn't expecting the Four Seasons. I had been traveling across country and just needed a nice relaxing clean place to sleep. I got MOST of what I wanted, with a few surprises...

Check in was great. The staff was awesome. The lobby is "cute" - themed to Arizona, with a warm friendly fireplace. The room was fine...

... with two exceptions...

There is no office chair for the table. Most Hampton Inns have office chairs so you can plop down your laptop and do some work. Not here. Just two armchairs. Do you like browsing the net on a soft armchair? I don't. Maybe you do.

There are NO PLASTIC BAGS over the trash cans. Say what??? I asked the clerk about this. Apparently the manager thinks its not 'green' to have plastic over the garbage cans in either the sleeping area or the bathroom. You know, the bathroom where people throw who-knows-what inside of? The housekeeping staff washes them, I was told... Oh, that's a relief...! I'm sure a sprinkling of bit of water is MUCH better at protecting me from the bacteria that's swarming in those cans than a safe plastic bag. THANK YOU Manager for being GREEN over SAFE!!!!

And while I'm thanking the manager, I just want to say thank you for the hair in the bathtub drain and the mysterious strand of red hair on the shower curtain. That made my stay so much more fun...

Breakfast was nice and when I brought up my issues with the staff, they were AWESOME. Could not have been nicer or more accommodating at addressing my complaints. Things happen, I get it. No big deal.

My stay was fine overall...

....but they should reconsider putting plastic over the trash bins. Green or not, it's not fun for the guests.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff

Address: 2400 South Beulah Boulevard, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#5 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Flagstaff
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Hampton Inn Hotel Flagstaff
Hampton Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.