We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff to your Saves list
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 N. Country Club Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights mid-week with a Groupon deal, getting our room for $63/night. The room was spacious and the bathroom/vanity area was very roomy. The kitchen was also nice. We used the free onsite laundry which was a really nice bonus. I was afraid we'd have to wait for machines but we were the only ones using them. This hotel was a few miles from downtown Flagstaff but it was a nice area. We had a good view from our window of the pond and the mountains. It was our base for our Grand Canyon trip. The breakfast was adequate and the staff was friendly. Noise was not an issue. If you have difficulty with steps be sure to request a room on the first floor, I don't think there were any elevators. Unfortunately it was about 40 degrees when we were in Flagstaff, so we didn't take advantage of the pool at all. We stayed in four different hotels during our 9-day vacation, and I thought this was the nicest and the best value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience here at the Sonesta ES Suites. We're very glad you were able to enjoy so much of what we have to offer here at the hotel. Hopefully during your next trip to Arizona the weather will be more accommodating to allow more use of our pool and hot tub. We also have our outdoor gas grills and sports court for those days with better weather. Even when it's cold outside, our friendly and knowledgeable staff is happy to help you find other exciting things to do in Flagstaff and the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    101
    45
    20
    6
See reviews for
130
78
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield Park, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just returned from a road trip to Flagstaff. We had four adults and three children ranging in age from 9-13. We booked both a studio suite and a two bedroom suite. Both fit our needs perfectly and gave us plenty of room for everyone. The hotel is in a lovely area, off the beaten path, a bit, which made it less noisy. The full breakfasts and evening receptions were an added bonus and were very nice. I would recommend Sonesta ES in Flagstaff to anyone looking for a good value and a friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Family vacations can be a wonderful experience. We here at the Sonesta ES Suites know that that experience can be ruined by a bad hotel stay. That's why we work hard so families like yours can experience comfort and care from our dedicated staff and concentrate on the truly important things like spending time with your family.

We're very happy that we were able to provide you with that kind of positive experience on your trip up from the Valley heat. We hope that you'll come to join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had booked a room from Groupon for 5 nights and even after reading the TripAdvisor reviews, was a little skeptical. The suite was spacious, the kitchen area extremely complete, the complimentary breakfast excellent and the 3 night a week "happy hours" a bonus. We were able to bring the cat I am baby sitting. Most helpful!
I would return here even without a Groupon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience here at the Sonesta ES Suites. It is always encouraging when guests express that they enjoyed their stay more than they were expecting. We know that many guests don't know what to expect when they come to stay with us for the first time and we always endeavor to exceed those expectations and give them a pleasant surprise.

Staying on your Groupon is a great way to enjoy our hotel and if you're interested in further promotions or discounts, you may wish to join our Sonesta Travelpass program to receive notices of special rates and promotions for Sonesta ES Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife, my young daughter, and I stayed here for a couple days in May 2013. It is kind of off the beaten path of the hustle of Flag. It isn't in the middle of town, however, it is very close to the interstate so only takes a few minutes to get where you want to go in town.
The rooms are comfortable and have plenty of room for sure. It had a full kitchen and a separate sofa beyond a normal hotel room. The décor definitely needs updated and the television is about as old as I am, but other than that, I was pleased with the stay. I guess the basic theme is this hotel is just your basic comfort hotel. Nothing special or over the top, but it is comfortable and sufficient for a family's needs. Has a decent pool and an OK breakfast. Rooms are very spacious and the bed was comfortable. No complaints really from me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are pleased that we could host you and your family during your stay here in Flagstaff. While we're happy that you had no complaints about our hotel, we very much wish to exceed your expectations when you stay at the Sonesta ES Suites. To that end, we will be undergoing renovations over the next year to address those issues you had mentioned and to be more than just a basic hotel. We are dedicated to being something truly special for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I bought a Groupon for this place sight unseen and we were delighted when we got here. Our suite was big with lots of windows and storage space, and what a treat to have two bathrooms when you are traveling with two teenaged girls! The staff was quick to respond to any request, the pool was immaculate, and breakfast was delicious. Our granddaughters love this place and so do we. It's not brand new but it isn't run down either. Really quiet at night too. All around awesome place to stay especially for several days.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Traveling to a hotel you're not familiar with can always be a difficult experience. We know that you have many choices in lodging and it is always a pleasure to be able to provide a nice surprise for our guests. Here at the Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, we are dedicated to giving you and your family the comfort and care you deserve when you're traveling away from home. We're happy you enjoyed your trip with us this time and are looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a studio room w//fireplace abt $70 per night through orbits.
Room was a little dated but clean, nice having a kitchen in room. Full size fridge with freezer which is good to freeze water to take while exploring on hot days. The breakfast they served was very good a wide selection including eggs, waffles, sausage, fruit and cereal. Great to fuel up before going to the canyon. Location was nice not right in town but only about a 5 min drive to get to grocery store and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We're very pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us here at the Sonesta ES Suites in Flagstaff. Having a good location to stay is always important when exploring Northern Arizona and enjoying the many sights and hikes in the area.

We're always happy to assist in your trip and if you ever need directions or suggestions for other things to see and do, our knowledgeable staff is ready to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right next to the I-40 which took you to flagstaff, williams, and the grand canyon. For being an all suites hotel it is quite affordable, better then most hotels in the flagstaff area. The breakfast is great! Everyone who worked at the hotel was friendly. The trip was only an overnight stay but if my girlfriend and I take another trip up north we will stay here again. The only downside of the hotel was the A/C unit was really loud, other then that great place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay with our other TripAdvisor members. We know that traveling here in Flagstaff you have many choices of places to stay and we work hard to make your stay here at the Sonesta ES Suites a pleasant one.

We were troubled to hear that your A/C unit was not working properly. Our Engineering staff is dedicated to preventing such issues before they occur and to resolving them promptly when they happen. We would very much like to speak with you regarding this issue so we can ensure it was properly addressed. Please contact us directly at the hotel by phone at (928) 526-5555 or by e-mail to myself at cash@sonesta.com and we will be pleased to follow up on this issue to ensure that it is resolved.

Hearing that all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable was very heartening to our staff as we strive to meet all the needs of our guests. We hope that you're able to come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff

Address: 1400 N. Country Club Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#13 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Flagstaff, AZ hotel offering one and two bedroom suites featuring a kitchen, work area, living room and free WiFi. Guests can enjoy an outdoor heated pool, fitness center, business center and daily breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.