We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great service, looking forward to our return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$99 North Pole Experience
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Phoenix
1 review
“Fantastic hotel, great service, looking forward to our return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Staff were friendly and helpful, excellent really. Fantastic location very close to downtown. Taken by a particular British girl (Alice) a real asset to the Radisson! She was very knowlegable about the area, exceedingly helpful beyond the call of duty! Plus she remembered our names throughout the duration of our stay which was impressive! No matter how busy she was she always took time to stop and acknowledge us, ask how our day was and not only us, it was everyone! We've never had service like it! She is the main reason we will return!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thank you for your comments - we'll pass them along to Alice and the rest of the front desk team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    276
    145
    62
    23
See reviews for
213
295
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

realy nice hotel, although it is a bit far from the downtown area. staff very nice and the rooms clean and tidy. the only down side was the lack of changing rooms for the pool area so we ended up in the lift with our swimmers on. The newly arrived guests who got in the lift with us were somewhat amused.
there is a great little diner just down the road (galaxy) good food and music.
the receptionist was from scotland and realy helpful full marks to her

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thank you for choosing the Radisson Woodlands Hotel. We're pleased that you found the rooms to your satisfaction. Though we don't have official changing rooms by the pool, the jacuzzi area has bathrooms that many people use to change. Looking forward to your next visit to Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We had high hopes of the Radisson Woodlands after friends spent their Honeymoon there. This weekend was supposed to be a nice getaway for our 10th anniversary. Needless to say we are now home a day early and not best pleased.

We arrived quite late at night and check in went smoothly, although there was some kind of college party and tens of scantily clad college girls were making themselves heard. We went to bed exhausted after the late drive up from Phoenix Meto area, then went straight to bed. The Sleep Number bed we paid a premium for took several minutes just to deflate a few numbers, so this was somewhat frustrating, as it was set way to firm to 70 and I needed 40. So after 10 minutes adjusting the bed we went to sleep, only to be woken by the AC unit kicking in, which sounded somewhat like a Jet Aircraft taking off. Rather than having it click on & off, we decided just to keep the fan running and try and get some sleep.

After a restless night with the noisey fan, we were rudely awoken at 8am by a maintenance worker on the roof of the floor below, scraping and banging against our window. That was it - I was totally livid and wouldn't spend another night in this place, even though we were booked for tonight too. So I now sit at home writing this review, rather than enjoying another night in beautiful Flagstaff :(

Would not reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
First, let me sincerely apologize that your 10th anniversary weekend did not turn out as you'd expected. From reading your review, almost everything that could have gone wrong during your stay... did. Rather than making excuses, I'm sharing your story with my staff and team, discussing how we should have (and will) address the issues so that they are not repeated. I've sent you a personal message of apology and request to return as my personal guest to let us prove to you that we can do better. Publicly, in this forum, I'd again like to apologize. We learn from our guests.. and from our mistakes - and can only hope that you'll give us another chance.

Warm regards,
Scott Thomson
General Manager
Radisson Woodlands Hotel Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

My wife and I spent one night at the Radisson Woodlands in Flagstaff after I spoke at a meeting held there. It's nothing special, but everything was satisfactory or better. If you're looking for a clean, quiet place to stay in Flagstaff, the Radisson Woodlands will meet your needs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
On behalf of management and staff, we thank you and are pleased that you found your stay peaceful and quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend to escape the heat of Phoenix. We opted for the Sleep Number Room because we love those beds. I called ahead of time to request a room with a fridge, but was told that it was 30 extra dollars to get a suite. I didn't feel it was worth it, but we went anyway. Upon arrival the front desk was super helpful, and filled us in on some fun couple-y things to do.(We chose to go to the Farmers Market and the County fair. Market was great- fair was overpriced but still fun.) Although the front desk didn't tell us, they upgraded us to the room with the fridge at no cost, which was actually a much bigger room, also! It was nice that they did this without saying a word about it. Also, I forgot pretty much everything, and they had a comb, toothbrush, toothpaste and razor available for free.. I only needed the comb but it was still a nice touch! With that said, the sleep number bed was a little off-- not exactly true to the typical number system, probably from so much use. The other thing that was a little off-putting was the location, it was quite far from the town square area because its on the OLD route 66, in front of quite a few car dealerships which didn't add to the aesthetics so much. The hotel itself was very nice, and the rooms amenities made it a worthwhile choice!

If you're going to Flag, Check out the Lava Tubes!! Its of the beaten path just north of SnoBowl.. We go every year and its a great, free fun! Google it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to offer you the upgrade as a surprise. Yes, we are off of 'old route 66' - which feels like you're away from downtown, but really just 2-3 minutes drive to either NAU or downtown/Heritage Square. Many guests like the feel of 'being in the pines' but being close to all of the downtown activities. Thanks for the info on the Lava Tubes, we'll be sure to pass that along to our in-house guests in the future as well. Looking forward to seeing you on your next getaway to Flagstaff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010 via mobile

The front desk staff are rude. First impressions is everything.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Our Front Office Manager was very disturbed to read the review posted about the staff. We completely agree that first impressions are everything. Our entire team is trained to put the guest first and to go out of their way to ensure each guest has everything he/she needs to enjoy their stay. As managers, it's hard to know everything that happens at the hotel, thus we implore our guests to let us know if they have a situation that needs addressing, so that we can do so ASAP. This is one of the reasons that we read and respond to reviews regularly -- so we can learn from our guests about their stays -- both good and bad. We will send you a private message separately to inquire more details about your experience so that we can address it with those individuals involved and avoid having another guest interaction like this in the future. Thank you for your post and we'll look forward from hearing more from you. On behalf of the Management and Staff at the Radisson Woodlands Hotel, we sincerely apologize that your experience was not up to our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We find our room very relaxing,comfortable and a joy to spend the days together

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Thanks for posting! We are so pleased you were comfortable and able to relax during your recent stay with us in Flagstaff. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive ( about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package.The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation and is excited to be a part of the DoubleTree by Hilton family of hotels. Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love with a variety of upgrades in amenities boasting a new look that is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.