We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Phoenix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

No problems with anything! Good location near to all of the restaurants and Route 66 Flagstaff. Buffet breakfast tasted really good! Staff brings coffee and orange juice. All staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review! So glad you enjoyed our location off of 'Old Route 66.'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    305
    157
    66
    26
See reviews for
253
327
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
raanana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Check in was very long - only two check-in desks and the Receptionists have to stand uncomfortably leaning over very low desks. Our room was ready only late in the afternoon but they did call to tell us that it was ready. Anyway, room was nice, clean. Great service at breakfast although poor selection. Located diagonally across the street from a shopping center but in general the hotel is located in an area of mostly used car lots. The feeling is of a busy and understaffed hotel. none of the convenience machines that I tried worked. You can purchase incidentals though in a small store near the reception. walking distance from a great Barns and Noble.

Room Tip: Not near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Though summer months are very busy in Flagstaff, our service should not falter. Please accept our apologies for the check-in delays. We have shared your feedback as well with our Food and Beverage manager to ensure that our selection is optimal. We do hope to be able to welcome you on a future visit to Flagstaff and impress you with service excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here with two young children for a weekend trip to visit Bearizona and Flagstaff. The property is apparently still in the throws of "renovating" to become Hilton quality. Workman in the lobby/lounge area are slowly redoing the fireplace....bricks and equipment everywhere. With the summer season in full swing up there, seems a little more logical to have that kind of work done overnight, when most guests are sleeping and not using the facilities in that area. We practically tripped over the workers on the way to/from breakfast each day. Our weekend package included breakfast vouchers for the all you can eat buffet breakfast in the in-house restaurant. The food was good, well stocked, and employed great servers. They are not in a hurry to close up shop early and run out of food, as many hotel breakfast services are. However, the variety/quality is no
diiferent than what is offered at Hampton or Springfield Suites, so the price should always be
included. Definitely not a breakfast worth paying extra for. The room was excellent.....impeccably
clean and roomy. We loved the large window/seating area. Perfect for relaxing with a book. The
pool was also nice....clean, ample supply of thick towels, plenty of seating. One of the downsides
was the lack of communication that was apparent between front desk/housekeeping. Our special
package offer that was pre reserved through Hilton Honors included late check out at 2pm. We
confirmed that detail upon check-in and again the morning of our departure. Housekeeping
came calling 3 different times to get in, as well as a floor full of construction workers who were
doing some sort of upgrades in all the rooms. The worst part of the stay was the incredible noise
we woke up to at 2am one of the nights. It sounded like 50-75 people partying in the adajacent
room....yelling, singing, loud laughter, stomping, banging, slamming doors, running through the
halls......you name it. We finally called and complained to the front desk when it only intensified.
Sometime later we heard hotel employees in the hall with walkie talkies. This was one time we
were grateful for loud ac systems.....when it kicked on that is all that drowned out the noise, which
made it unable to sleep. Seems to me hotel management should be more on top of their guests
and do a routine walk of the halls/grounds several times during the night to insure the safety and
comfort of their clients. That kind of behavior from any hotel guest is not only disrespectful but
totally unacceptable and inappropriate. Makes us think twice about ever staying at this property
again. When we did check out later that day and expressed disappointment at the situation to the
management on duty, they simply apologized and offered us cookies. Shame on you Doubletree.
Work on your PR and management skills.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We appreciate the detail in your review - both constructive as well as positive notes. Reviews such as yours are very helpful to review with our team to evaluate where we can improve our services and amenities with our goal of not just meeting, but exceeding our guests' expectations.
Please accept our apologies that your neighboring guests were overly loud. As management, we make every effort to be respectful of all guests needs and wants, and step in when those impede on other guests' experience (especially at night when all are resting). Thank you for making us aware so that we were able to address the noise issues.
We do thank you for taking the time to post your review and do hope you'll give us another chance to prove to you that we can learn from our guests and continue to improve using their feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Well located just off "Route 66"; Free airport pick up and drop off. Pleasant and helpful front desk, despite busy season. Rooms were well appointed , comfortable bed, quality sheets and linen. Convenient trendy "Sakura" Japanese restaurant on the premises. Historic downtown is about a 15 minute walk from hotel, where you find a wide selection of eateries and local galleries and knick-knacks. All round a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanrk you for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and our location here in Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This place will have a lot of potential if they ever get their act together. The rooms are very nice, but everything else is sadly lacking. We stayed there for 2 days, and it was just one thing after another. One day the fire alarm rang in our room for a couple of minutes at 6 am. Another time we returned late in the day to discover that housekeeping had left our door ajar. The breakfast buffet is truly horrible -- never in my life have I not been able to eat pancakes. They were inedibly chewy! (Go down the street to the diner for an infinity better breakfast experience.) A request for non-dairy creamer was met with a blank stare (they don't have any). And for a organization that makes a big deal of its cookies ("Cookie" is even printed on your room key), they don't seem to actually have any. It became a running joke with us guessing at the odds of being able to get any. Over the 2 days, we asked at the front desk at least 5 different times, but only once was a cookie to be had (as we were checking out).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your visit. I have reviewed your comments with my operations team and we appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience. We would like to apologize for our service failures. We are stressing the importance with our housekeeping team to make sure a guest door is secured when they complete servicing the room. I have also followed up with our Chef and restaurant manager and have stressed the importance of quality food and service. We have non-dairy creamer available and I apologize that we did not provide this. In regards to the DoubleTree Cookie, I have followed up with my Chef and Front Office Manager to make sure that we do not run out of cookies at the front desk. Our Cookies are very popular and we have since made adjustments to make sure that we do not run out. We appreciate your commetss and feedback and we will be reaching out via private messaging to get additional information and resolve any lingering issues.

Michael Rock
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before and after a Grand Canyon raft trip. First they had no record of our reservation. We showed them the confirmation # and got a room which they then assigned to someone else. That person opened our room with a key while we were napping! Then our keys stopped working. Upon our return, still no record of our booking and they had charged us $900 for our room on our credit card. Room cost was $132. Manager said she would take care of it and still hasn't a day later. This is the most frustrating hotel we have ever stayed at.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the service failures experienced during your recent visit to the DoubleTree Flagstaff. I would like to get additional information so I can make sure that the issue with the charge has been resolved. We release funds same day but when using debit cards, it can take up to 3-5 business days to reflect in your bank account. I would like to apologize for the amount authorized. Once I have all of the details, be assured I will follow up with my team to ensure they are handling authorizations correctly. I will also follow up in regards to proper entries into guest rooms and knocking several times before entering a guest room.

Please accept our sincere apologies and I look forward to talking with you directly to resolve our service failures to your satisfaction. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Michael Rock
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

While this Doubletree wasn't actually in the historic district, we did walk to the area to have dinner. There is a great urban trail nearby that we walked the next day. It took us to NAU and the Dome (indoor football stadium), which made my husband very happy. The staff was very helpful with suggestions and directions. I would stay at this Doubletree if I return to Flagstaff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive ( about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package.The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation and is excited to be a part of the DoubleTree by Hilton family of hotels. Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love with a variety of upgrades in amenities boasting a new look that is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.