We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“decent enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Check your Bill if you order the $18 meal deal - nobody could explain the way drinks / tax were priced. Nice meal, though.
Bar service lacked charm, and led me to question why Americans expect a tip for doing what is obviously their job.

Room Tip: All seemed fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We appreciate your feedback (we assume from one of our restaurants) and lounge. The Woodlands Hotel features two restaurants - Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki and the Woodlands Restaurant. We appreciate all feedback that helps us to improve our services and experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    231
    124
    54
    23
See reviews for
181
250
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights with a coach party of around 48.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a glass of bubbly. While we were waiting on the tour guide to give us the room keys we were asked by a friendly staff member if we wanted to dine in the hotel with 3 different coach parties we knew it was going to be busy. The restaurant staff were helpfull and friendly even though they were busy. Nothing too much trouble. Certain food allergies were also met when placing the order for food.

Would recommend this hotel to friends and family if visiting the Grand Canyon area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for including us in your Grand Canyon experience and for the kind recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a two night stop over here on our tour of SW USA. The group were greeted with sparkling wine on arrival - a good start! The hotel had good eating and drinking facilities and the room was clean and comfortable; the only gripe was that the room had no folder of hotel information. The hotel has two restaurants; we ate in one of them and had a nice meal which was only spoil by an inconsiderate waitress who insisted on bringing the desserts out despite the fact that one of our party had not finished their main course. This was the only poor service we suffered the whole holiday. We have not allowed this to influence our overall rating of the hotel, which was otherwise very good. The hotel served some really good craft beers in the bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind and candid review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us (though we will be addressing the inappropriate service issue experienced in our restaurant to ensure it is not repeated). Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst we were visiting Flagstaff on a road trip from Las Vegas to Phoenix. We booked the hotel online approximately 20 minutes before we arrived and the hotel had all of our details to hand when we checked in. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovation work as it is being converted into a Double Tree however the only evidence of the renovations that we saw during our stay was behind the reception area and it didn't have a negative impact on our stay whatsoever. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They provided us with excellent advice on where to eat in the evenings in Flagstaff and marked out the relevant places on a map for us. The hotel room was very clean and nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was also nicely furnished. The hotel itself is on route 66 and although it is a little way from the downtown area, a taxi into town costs around $7 so the distance wasn't an issue for us. We would definitely recommend staying at this hotel and also visiting Flagstaff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We do appreciate guest comments. Yes, we are completing our renovations, but (as noted) are making every effort to keep it 'behind closed doors' whenever possible so as not to inconvenience our guests. Safe Travels and thank you for including Woodlands Hotel in your Flagstaff experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Pros: good location (within easy walking distance of downtown, about 1.5-2 miles), co-located with an apparently popular sushi/teppanyaki restaurant, very clean, comfortable bed with new bedding and towels, very polite and helpful staff.

Cons: glacially slow internet (albeit free), decor was old and tired (ceiling flaking, wallpaper peeling, bits of wood fallen from ceiling onto pillows), a bit loud in the late evening (8-10pm) due to a large event and ice machine proximity.

The place is in the process of renovation, so I'd expect it to be quite a bit newer-looking in the future. The property obviously has designs on improving itself, I think I just caught it in mid-process. Would stay again if rates stay reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. You are correct that we are in the midst of renovating and upgrading our entire hotel in preparation for our upcoming conversion to DoubleTree by Hilton. All issues that caused concerned including the decor and internet in right now in the process of being upgraded. We do hope to see you again in the near future so you can experience the all new 'DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff ' (Date TBD).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Doing this review in the Lobby while my son sleeps in the room. Originally had a room at Embassy Suites, but they had pluming issues and sent a bunch of us here.
Woodlands is remodeling at this time to become a Double Tree, so there are some construction going on but it has not bothered us at all.
Our room on the 4th floor is nice and quiet. The beds, linens, soft pillows, towels are top notch.
Our bathroom was very clean, almost like it had already been remodeled but it hadn't.
The hotel has a restaurant that opens at 5 AM. The lobby Lounge opens at 5:30 and has a couple of TV's to watch your favorite sport or show.
There is a pool and hot tub, but this time of the year the pool was closed up. Hot Tub was open.
All staff that I've encountered were very friendly and helpful.
So if you are looking for a good deal on a nice room check Woodlands Hotel out.
I'm ranking it Very Good because of the quality of the bedding and the price.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room was quite and over looked the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your commments and recommendation. We truly appreciate your feedback and taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you on a future visit to the Flagstaff area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here two nights before and after a Grand Canyon rafting trip. The place was undergoing some renovations and perhaps also changing management/ownership (not sure) so they were a bit disorganized and lacking in knowledgeable service. That being said, the room was clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate, and we were able to meet our tour organizers right in the hotel. We were also allowed to store some luggage and leave our car in the hotel parking lot during our two week river trip. This was a big help for our organizational process. The hotel restaurant served a decent breakfast (not included), and the bar was lively albeit not well staffed in relation to the number of patrons.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your very helpful review. YES, we are in the process of converting to a DoubleTree by Hilton. We are just finishing our upgrades and renovations. We've also gone through some staffing changes, training our new team in service standards. We appreciate your comments as they assist us greatly in our service training process. Safe Travels and thank you for including the Woodlands Hotel in your Grand Canyon vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#13 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive ( about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package.The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation and is excited to be a part of the DoubleTree by Hilton family of hotels. Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love with a variety of upgrades in amenities boasting a new look that is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.