We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“checking in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Ramona, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“checking in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

When we arrived it was around one in the afternoon and we were exhausted from being on the road for eight hours. The lady at the front desk said our room wasn't cleaned yet and that she would call me when it was ready. I asked if it would be possible to use the pool facilities since we had nothing else to do and she said that that wasn't possible until we were checked in. Being in a unfamiliar area we were left with nothing to do but wait it out. At around five I called back and was told the room was still not ready. Finally, at six-thirty I decided to go and see why the room was still not available. Thankfully, it was! They hadn't even called to let us know! I suggested that a good customer service person would have offered breakfast vouchers or a room discount because we had been through so much! No luck there ! Will definitely not go back!!

Room Tip: The fourth floor is the best place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We understand how tiring travel can be, driving so far and being ready to check in and relax. We try our very best to get our rooms ready for guests by check-in time at 4pm. Guests who have specific view requests, as in this case, can take a bit longer, depending on when guests have checked out prior. Please note that we absolutely encourage our guests to use the facilities - pool, jacuzzi, gym, restaurants prior to check-in. That being said, based on valid concerns raised in this review, we've implemented a new pre-registration process in an effort to streamline the check-in process.
On behalf of our entire team -- we truly appreciate feedback such as this is how we can continue to meet the needs and provide the services that are the most valuable to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    305
    157
    66
    26
See reviews for
253
327
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a newer property, very pretty on the outside, with nice architectural touches. Our king room was spacious, especially the bathroom. The linen was first-rate. The room is comfortably furnished with quality items.

We were surprised, however, to find that there was no fridge or microwave. There is also no complimentary breakfast of any kind, not even a bagel. There is a restaurant on the premises, which probably explains the absence of a breakfast.

The king bed was very comfortable, with large pillows. Sleep was difficult, however, because of the noisy air conditioning that cycled every 10 minutes or less all night. The system is oversized for the room, the air movement is so fast it rattled the ductwork. Except for this and the lack of any sort of courtesy breakfast, we would have been very pleased.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We are so excited that you found our hotel to be a 'newer' property, 'very pretty' and especially that you found the beds and linen comfortable. We've just replaced all of the beds - so they are new. In the coming months we'll be going through a major transition and renovation upgrading and updating guestrooms and public areas in the process of becoming a DoubleTree by Hilton property. It's very exciting and, though you were happy during your 1st visit, we hope to totally WOW you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference and was really impressed. The rooms were very nice & the layout was superior for our group. Room service arrived in a timely manner with good food choices and coffee. The staff was friendly & knowledgable. Had a wonderful time on this adventure! I will stay here again when traveling to Flagstaff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind recommendation. We truly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night. Loved the Hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Although I had a great time, I don't see anything about the hotel to justify the high price. Most Hotels in Flagstaff have a "great location" and "friendly staff" for much less.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Woodlands Hotel Flagstaff during your recent weekend visit. We hope you find value in the various full-service amenities that we provide our guests which aren't found at the majority of the limited service hotels in Flagtaff including 2 restaurants, lounge, room service, business center, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, indoor whirlpool, gym, full service meeting and catering team. We do pride ourselves in ensuring we are competitively priced with the other full service hotels in town and in providing additional services and values that cannot be found elsewhere. We do appreciate your feedback as we read and take to heart all review in continuing to improve our services and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for three nights during a tour we were doing. The check in staff seemed polite and friendly. The reception is nicely decorated and the location is in the woods on the outskirts of flagstaff which is a young vibrant place.
We had a large room which was clean and spacious but lacked a safe. The swimming pool was very large but cold, the gym was having maintenance work so we couldn't use that.
We returned one day after visiting the grand canyon and found our room door unlocked so was left open by the cleaner all day which was helpful what with all our belongings in there. This hotel needs better security on the automatic sliding doors to the communal entrances as anyone can enter from outside and in our case enter the room without the key. Having left the door open all day the key card wouldn't work. I advised staff of the cleaner leaving the room unlocked and they apologised. When I went to sort out the room key staff said to keep the key away from magnets that might be why it didn't work and I reiterated no it was due to the door being left open.
The hotel is conveniently located in what is a lovely ski city with a young trendy vibe. We used the hotel bar one night and the bartender seemed disinterested and rushed off his feet. We had one drink then returned to our room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the woods are quiet and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're honored to have been a part of your Grand Canyon vacation. Room security is of utmost importance and we've put researching and resolving this specific issue on the top of our list based on your feedback. Please do note that the door being open should have no impact on key functionality... however, guests do need to be careful of having their room key next to credit cards in a wallet as they can get de-magnetized and become nonfunctional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. Nice décor in room, comfy 6ft bed. Very pleasant bathroom which was a good size. No room safe ( most of us prefer this to a reception safety deposit box, it,s much more convenient). Rather noisy air con which seems par for the course in the hotels we stayed in.
The rest of the hotel is rather dated and is in need of a face lift. We also found that the housekeeping could be improved on especially in the room. A pleasant stay with room for improvement but as far as the staff are concerned they are doing an excellent job.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We appreciate your candid feedback. Thank you for posting your comments as they are very helpful in our training process (especially with housekeeping). We're also excited to let you know that big changes are coming as we complete our renovations and transition to soon become a DoubleTree by Hilton. More information soon to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely location above the city bustle. The overall setting is very pleasant, and the staff friendly and competent. They have a very pleasant, relaxed bar, one of the most pleasant that I've been in at a hotel. The room was quiet and pleasantly appointed with comfortable beds and bedding. However, the room itself needed serious updating - the floor tiles were cracked, the carpet stained, the paint and furniture dingy. The fan noise was within the acceptable range, but the vent rattled constantly. I had to close-pin the drapes shut to keep out the bright lights. The web site indicates a coffee maker, but it is one of those contraptions that makes one cup from the little packets; you can't use your own coffee, though you can make hot water. There was no fridge or MW (something I overlooked when I made my reservation). This hotel is more expensive than most others in Flagstaff; it might be worth the price after renovation, but not as it is. Especially with no complimentary breakfast. They have two dining establishments, a pleasant sunny restaurant for regular dining and a Japanese teppanyaki & sushi restaurant known as Sakura. I ate breakfast at the Woodlands Restaurant, and the service was good but the coffee weak and the pancakes a bit undercooked. I haven't eaten at Sakura in a while, but the tappanyaki is prepared in front of you with a bit of a show; we enjoyed the food but it was pricey. I don't eat sushi, so I can't say anything about it. The hotel is currently renovating in preparation to become a DoubleTree. The hotel has different buildings, and the renovations appear to be one building at a time, so they were able to give me a room in a building not under renovation. Currently the exercise room is right off the lobby, so there is no privacy; I assume that this arrangement is temporary. I might try this hotel again once it is run by Hilton, if they provide a MW in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a building not currently under renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and for choosing Woodlands Hotel. You are correct that we are in preparations to become a DoubleTree by Hilton. We are so pleased that you found our location convenient and our staff friendly and helpful --- that won't change with our transition so is of utmost importance to us. Our rooms will be completely and fully upgraded -- we've started by installing new beds in all guestrooms (you surely slept on one!). We thank you so much for your patience and loyalty during this time of transition and we are sure to WOW you on your next visit to Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive ( about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package.The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation and is excited to be a part of the DoubleTree by Hilton family of hotels. Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love with a variety of upgrades in amenities boasting a new look that is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.