We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice overall however the sleep number beds are horrible. It's just like sleeping on an air mattress except an air mattress would be more comfortable. Only one of the sleep number beds worked because both remotes were programmed to the same bed. Not worth spending the extra money, I'd rather stay somewhere cheaper and gotten better sleep. So if you want to stay here for the bed... Think again. Also the TV guide to the tv doesn't even have the right channels or information, so if you like to relax and watch tv your options are limited and don't bother using the direct TV guide. I wouldn't stay here again unless it was free or really cheap....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. First, let us apologize that you did not enjoy the Sleep Number Bed. We do understand that, though some guests love them... others do not. We DO offer an option for rooms with a Traditional Mattress. These can either be reserved when making your reservation or requested upon check-in.
Next - based on your review we did find an error in our Direct TV guide. Though we removed the 'old' guides from our in-room directory, the online guide we've found is incorrect. We are currently, as I respond, on the phone with DirectTV to resolve the issue. This IS a concern as we recently installed the new Flatscreen TV's with Premium HD Sattelite programming for guests such as yourself who enjoy sitting back and relaxing with their favorite shows.

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. Without feedback from guests like you, we wouldn't know about these issues and could not efficiently resolve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    236
    128
    56
    22
See reviews for
188
255
26
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my grandson when visiting my daughter because I got a good online deal. The select comfort beds were the best part of this stay. The staff was friendly. I found the hotel a bit lacking in its interior appearance. It has a bit of a '90 look and appearance; nothing terrible, but could use some updating. I did not have a car, so ate in the restaurant downstairs. It was over priced and the food was just so, so. The big windows in the restaurant needed washing. I was the only one eating during the late afternoon period. There was plastic sheeting on the walls in the restaurant and in some of the hallways; looked like they were doing maintenance. Also, I ordered room service for continental breakfast, which was not very good. Croissants were microwaved and tough, and the coffee was weak. My room looked out over a roof....

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing Radisson Woodlands Hotel Flagstaff, and you're correct we are doing some routine maintenance and upgrades (hopefully we'll also be addressing your initial perception of the interior).
We're very glad you enjoyed a good night's rest. Please be assured that we are taking your comments about the food quality during your stay very seriously and are addressing the issues with our Food & Beverage team.
Safe Travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here one night as we drove from Phoenix to the Grand Canyon. It was a nice room with a comfortable bed and friendly staff - just what we needed.

That said, two points:
1. I didn't think the hotel was *that* close restaurants. Yes, there's a strip mall with a grocery store around back, but the hotel itself is surrounded by car dealerships and is about 1.5 miles to the main downtown area. Still walkable, sure, but somewhat removed for the price, I think.
2. And about the price: We got a room here last minute through a travel bidding site, so I'm satisfied that we got what we paid for. I would not have paid the regular rate of ~$100/night and have rated the "value" here with the regular price in mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing the Radisson on your Grand Canyon vacation. Though we are located off of Old Route 66 in the pines, as you not, we are just minutes from downtown and NAU. Many guests like the 'feel' of the pines without being location in the center of the city and like the convenience of our 2 restaurants within our hotel, as well as room service. Our goal is to provide excellent service and value and we look forward to learning from our guests how we can continue to improve our services and add additional value in ways that are the most imortant to our guests. Thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a good hotel and there are many restaurants within easy walking distance. There is also a large supermarket nearby Out of hotel turn right, take first right. after a block turn left and the supermarket is with other retailers on a car park. Liked the beds with inflatable mattresses!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. So pleased you enjoyed the Sleep Number Beds and our location in Flagstaff! SAfe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here before and after a Grand Canyon Rafting Trip. The hotel lovely and had a shuttle bus to pick us up from the airport and take us to the bus station. After 9 days in the wilderness, I was very excited about the chance to shower, and was not let down at all. Hot water, high pressure. The people working there were nice and helpful. The bed was a sleep number bed, and it seemed to have trouble holding the air consistently.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we could be a part of your Grand Canyon Rafting vacation. After so long in the wilderness, we understand how nice it is to 'come home' to a little comfort and luxury and, yes, a good hot shower! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel from start to finish. The folks who checked us in were very personable and got the job done quickly with no waiting around. The room was as requested and went beyond expectations - little things like a couple complimentary bottled waters made the next day's car ride easier without having to stop for drinks. Overall quiet, comfortable, modern rooms and personable staff make this hotel a no-brainer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are so pleased to have not only met, but exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit to Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were greeted positively. Our room was spacious and clean. The bed seemed comfortable.
By morning we needed to get out of there. All night we heard the mechanics of the building. I don't know if there was a mechanics room above us or what. We also heard the ice machine running several doors down. There was a constant noise. Needless to say we didn't sleep well and woke up with a headache.
We did eat breakfast there and the service was good as well as the food.

Room Tip: I think we were on the 4th floor....not sure, but not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are so pleased that you were happy with your room and our services. We'll be researching which room on the 4th floor had the noise issues -- as you should not be 'hearing the mechanics of the building' during the evening when guests are resting. We apologize and assure you we take your comments seriously. Truly, this is how we, as management, learn from our guests how to continually improve. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
Free internet...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - Flagstaff
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#4 of 65 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
#9 of 65 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#14 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive ( about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package.The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation and is excited to be a part of the DoubleTree by Hilton family of hotels. Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love with a variety of upgrades in amenities boasting a new look that is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.