We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-trained staff elevates mediocre property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
scottsdale,az
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Well-trained staff elevates mediocre property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at The Radisson Woodlands for 3-nights in Mid-October with two teenagers. We travel to Flagstaff at least 4 times a year to visit family in the area. We usually stay at another property in Flagstaff but, the beds there are so uncomfortable & worn I thought we would try The Woodlands for the 'Sleep Number' beds. This hotel is located on Route 66 in an excellent location near downtown Flagstaff, NAU,plus easy access to The Grand Canyon and other area activities. The grounds are well-maintained, rooms and common areas are slightly dated, but tidy.
We had a few problems during out stay. The first room we were given was not cleaned by housekeeping; meaning it had been released for occupancy but the sheets had not been changed from previous guest. Ashley at the front desk immediately assigned us another room, no questions asked and without any snark; exceptionally professional demeanor. Our new room also had the 2 queen 'Sleep Number' beds, which we paid an upcharge for booking through Expedia. Regular beds are available, which I recommend requesting. The Sleep Number beds malfunctioned, either losing air (and we were left with the wooden frame and a sunken hole) or inflating to 100 and hard as a rock. Maintenance was called and quickly came up the room but, were unable to fix the bed pumps. The hotel was completely booked and another room was not an option. So, we spent the night sleeping in the pit and on a slab. The manager Daniel Timmerman went above and beyond to ensure a pleasant stay; moving us early the next morning to a room with regualr mattresses. I have travelled all over the USA and Europe, stayed at many 5-star properties and will say that the staff at The Woodlands was comprehensively professional & maintained neutral positive attitudes during all the issues with our stay. This staff overall, from the manager to housekeeping (Melia?) & maintenance, through their actions turned an average property with problematic beds into a good experience.
Additional Pros:
Room Service---Via Fast Service breakfast menu on room door handle overnight. Menu items were received on-time, at proper temps and order was accurate.
Restaurant---Ate breakfast, ordered off menu (also had a buffet). Excellent quality breakfast, exceeding expectations for a hotel restaurant. Good service.
Cons: Sleep Number beds, request regular mattress.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back buliding are quiet and have traditional mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review... as well as for choosing Radisson Woodlands Hotel on your most recent visit to Flagstaff. First, we'd like to apologize for the issues experienced during your stay. Though we do our very best to ensure our guests have a 'problem free' visit, when an issue(s) occur our greatest hope is that we are able to quickly, efficiently and happily resolve them to reduce inconvenience of our guests. I'm pleased we were able to do this for you, and hope that we'll have another opportunity to serve you in the near future - where we will prove that we can and will do better. We do depend on reviews such as yours to find out where we, as management, need to spend our time and resources to continually improve the quality of our services and amenities. Thank you... and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    236
    128
    56
    22
See reviews for
188
255
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
durham, england
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour of California and the west. The room was large and spacious but could have done with a deep clean as there was some sort of white powder spilled on the glass table lamp and coffee drips down one of the units. The beds had the comfort controls but we couldn't get the hang of using them, had s decent night's sleep however. We ate at the nearby Galaxy Diner and that was great. In the morning the people who chose the ready prepared buffet breakfast had speedy service but we chose buttered toast and croissants and had to wait for ages.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback. Reading reviews such as yours assists our team in improving the services and amenities most important to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night on a road trip. As my husband unloaded the luggage from our truck, I went to check us in. It's a very pretty lobby and there were no other guests about. I walked up to front desk and said "Hi, you have a room for Richardson" She checks it and says that I can't check in, my husband has to do it as the reservation is in his name. I would like to point out again that we were on a road trip and in the 5 weeks that we were travelling this is the ONLY time this happened. OK, I tell her I'll get him, he's right at the front door 20 feet away....my husband walks over (this may have taken 15 seconds) and says in a joking manner "Hi. I'm the other Richardson" He is met with a blank stare...it is possible to forget what you are doing in 15 seconds??? Need to work on a little customer service here.

There were no king beds available even though I had booked one, fine we took a room with 2 queens. Now, if you have never slept in a sleep number bed before its quite a novelty. As this was new to us we spent some time getting them adjusted to our comfort zone.

Now its time for dinner....however a tour bus has just pulled in and they tell us that it's going to take quite some time. Tour buses go first.

After a long day it's time for sleep. In the middle of the night my husbands side of the bed has lost all it's air!!! His side had to be 2 inches lower than mine. In disgust he moves to the other bed as we are far to tired to deal with lights and adjusting in the middle of the night. Turns out a 'sleep number' bed is a glorified air mattress.

The hotel was fine. It was clean. There was nothing special about it. But this whole bed issue was quite annoying. We didn't bother mentioning to the front desk as we left because it's not like they are going to change out all the beds just because we didn't like it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Let us first apologize that your check-in was not as quick and easy as is our standard. First impressions are so important and we have high standards of service -- we didn't meet your or our expectations. And for that we apologize.
In response to the sleep number beds.. some guests truly love them.. but we understand that others prefer a standard mattress. Please note that we DO offer many 'Traditional' bed guestrooms that can either be booked online or upon request at check-in. We understand how important a good night's rest is... and that guests preferences vary.
We do appreciate your feedback and hope you'll give us another chance in the future to prove to you we can do better to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We would really recommend you breaking your journey by stopping in this friendly town on Route 66.
The hotel is situated about 1.5 miles from the town centre and a cab only costs approx. $5 into town where there are a number of good eateries avaibale in town at the local brewery bars at Beaver St, Flagstaff and Lumberyard.
I would not recommend walking as the road is a bit busy and not well-lit at night and the cabs such good value.
Our room was very comfortable and the air-conditioning/heating evry good and we enjoyed an excellent nights sleep.
For breakfast or even dinner if you are tired we would recommend the Galaxy Diner which is only 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your terrific feedback and advice. We do truly appreciate your recommendation and are pleased to have been a 'stop over' on your Route 66 adventure! Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is well positioned in Flagstaff. Close to everything. The public areas have an oriental motif and are nice enough. However, the wear is starting to show and some upgrading will be needed in not too distant of the future. The room was comfortable, well equipped. The bedding was first rate. The climate control a bit too noisy. This is a common problem in hotel rooms. Why not have someone check one a month to ensure it runs quietly in every room? Internet was free and very good. Service very efficient and friendly. Still, you know you are not in an intimate setting. It's clearly a well run chain property. Fitness room was sufficient. All in all it was a decent value for the money and a good choice for one or two nights stay on business or holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review. We do appreciate the detailed feedback and though we didn't 'WOW' you on this visit, it will continue to be our goal to provide outsanding service and amenities in our goal to WOW you on your next. Note that we are in the process of making plans for renovation (we've already completed some upgrades in the public areas, restaurant and with our new HD Flatscreen TVs in all guestrooms). We'll be sure to everyone updated as to the newest plans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We had traveled all day and were very tired. Checking in was fast and very pleasant. We were in our room within minutes and the room was very inviting and we ordered room service which was fast but the food was also excellent. Checking out was also so easy. I will stay there again. Hope it will be for a longer stay. I now know that there is a great place to stay in flagstaff. Thanks PAH in Texas

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate the feedback and recommendation and hope to see you on a longer stay in Flagstaff soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

On arrival we were met with glasses of champagne for the tour group. The lobby area was huge and very grand. The place is absolutely spotless and I commend the housekeeping team. Very large room and comfortable as well. Our room overlooked the woods at the back.
We ate in the hotels restaurant and I highly recommend it.The food was amazing and cooked to perfection.
There is also a bar and we sat in the lobby with our drinks as it was very comfortable with a huge fireplace and piano in the corner.
We were only there 1 night but I would of liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the recommendation and comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy our retaurants and lounge. We hope to see you again when you can spend more time in our lovely Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#14 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive ( about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package.The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation and is excited to be a part of the DoubleTree by Hilton family of hotels. Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love with a variety of upgrades in amenities boasting a new look that is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.