We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, even with mixed service-” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved it, even with mixed service-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I arrived at about 2pm, and were able to check in early. We asked if we could have the 4th floor with a view and they accommodated, the front desk staff was extremely nice and friendly! We checked in our room, and did a usual quick sweep of looking for bed bugs, which we found none. The bathroom was very very clean (although I did see the maid folding towels on the floor in the hallway..'clean' ones..) and the bed had amazing pillows and comforters. The sleep number bed was comfortable, we kept the number in the middle. We had a lovely view out our window. We went into town and walked around the shops, and had a great wine tasting at The Wine Loft. As it got later we ventured over to the Lowell Obs, and loved looking at the stars, saw Saturn through the massive telescope, and watched their impacting video. When we returned to the hotel, we ate in the restaurant (not the sushi one) and the food was okay to good. We had a $25 meal credit and two cocktails from living social. While our waiter was nice, the manager made it confusing what qualified under the living social cocktail and I ended up paying $1.50 of my drink...not a big deal at all but seemed kind of ridiculous and we heard the waiter and manager kind of arguing about it for a good 5 minutes...anyone who has worked in the service industry knows they should've just let it go and comp'd it. I've been a server many times and no manager I've worked with would've charged me partially for a complimentary cocktail, or even if it was wrong...they should've just let it go. Anyway, we got back up to the room and enjoyed the amenities and awesome bed. We had breakfast delivered to us in the morning and ate it in bed with the sunny mountains out the window. The breakfast was very tasty- highly recommend that. Overall, very lovely stay! Flagstaff is great and this hotel is very luxurious! :)

Room Tip: I wish it was walking distance into downtown- only reason I put location to a 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and for taking the time to post your detailed review. We will definitely review food server procedures in regards to gift cards and credits -- thank you for bringing this to our attention giving us the opportunity to resolve it before your next stay. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    303
    157
    65
    26
See reviews for
252
324
36
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012. Lovely hotel, spacious rooms, good facilities in room.
Has got an outside pool and spa and an inside whirlpool. Lovely to dip in at the end of a long sightseeing day.
Restaurant in hotel very nice, staff very friendly and attentive, food very tasty and well presented.
Reception staff helpful. Would recommend hotel.
Hotel is about 20 minute walk alomng Route 66 to downtown Flagstaff. Good for half a day walking round the town but not a huge amount to do. Lowell observatory very interesting and a good place to go. Is walking distance from hotel (if you like walking) but is quite a hike up the hill.
The Riordan Mansion very interesting to go to as well (walking distance from hotel).

Tours: Definately do the Grand Canyon Tour with ALL STAR TOURS, an amazing day, Joel (the tour guide) had a wealth of knowledge about the area and the Grand Canyon, he took us to all the good view points and made the whole day very interesting and great fun. He provided a great picnic aswell.

Tours: Do a day trip to Sedona.... very pretty landscape especially through Oak Canyon Creek.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 313 .. lovely view it had a bay window with a table and chair in it, great to sit...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for your kind recommendation. We appreciate it and look forward to your next visit to the US and to Flagstaff, AZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Radisson Woodands Hotel this week. Upon walking into the hotel, I was greeted by a very friendly and caring front desk staff. They welcomed me to the hotel, could see I was tired and shared with me the many available amenities of the hotel. I stayed in a King room with a sleep number bed. I found the bed to be quite comfortable along with the triple sheeting and comfy pillows. Another plus - a flat screen TV with direct TV...it looked brand new and I really enjoy my quiet time after a long day of work in this room and at this hotel.

I tried the breakfast for room service (Eggs Benedict and yogurt and coffee too). I found the room service prices inclusive of gratuity and tip VERY REASONABLE. Not to mention, my breakfast was amazing with a nice gentleman that brought it up.

I was here for business, and after a long day I couldn't wait to get back to this hotel. I wish I had more time to spend at the pool!

Room Tip: I had a nice view of the pool and grounds - very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
We truly appreciate feedback such as yours - not only the compliments but really telling us what we are 'doing right.' It helps us to continue to customize the experience for our guests. Thank you for choosing the Radisson Woodlands Hotel when visiting Flagstaff, AZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland, usa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

It was graduation weekend at NAU. Even though we were not attending the graduation, we were given as careful attention as would be expected under less stressful circumstances. Our desk chair was found broken and we reported that fact. In 5 minutes a considerate young man came to our rescue. When he found he could not fix the chair, he went to get his office chair as a replacement---saying they rarely were able to sit down anyway.

Room Tip: Sleep number beds--- We were on 3rd floor which was given to us for it's quietness, and indeed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay during the busy NAU graduation weekend! Though we never like to see any issues in our guestrooms, if they occur our goal is to resole them quickly and efficiently. We're happy we were able to do so for you.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Nice hotel, fine appointments, nice lobby. However, if you are using this as your base while visiting the Grand Canyon, be prepared to drive an hour to hour and half each way. The rooms were nicely appointed and beds were very comfortable. However, if you decide to eat in the restaurant be prepared to wait. The wait staff seemed inexperienced and disorganized. Next time I go to the Grand Canyon, I would make sure to stay closer to the park. I would recommend staying in Tusayan on Route 180.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for the nice compliments about the Radisson Woodlands Hotel. You are correct we are 75 miles from the Grand Canyon. For guests looking for nice, comfortable accommodations - with full service amenities, there are very very few available outside of Flagstaff. After a hot day of hiking and enjoying the canyon, many guests like to return for a hot jacuzzi, a dip in the cool pool, nice hot shower, convenient restaurant and a comfortable bed. We have taken note, however, of your comments regarding the restaurant staff - -this is NOT our standard and we will be addressing the concern. Thank you for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend for one night and were happy with this hotel. The lobby is very inviting with it's cozy fireplace and abundance of leather couches. The staff was friendly and quick to provide us with a map and suggestions for dining and activities in Flagstaff. We at ate Sakura for dinner (also at the Radisson) and had a great time. The service at Sakura was great-- drinks never ran dry and the food came out quickly. The teppanyaki grill was pretty entertaining, as was our chef. It was a little messy, but definitely worth it. We hung out at the lounge after dinner, which was also cozy. The drinks were very reasonably priced and strong. The only thing we really weren't happy with was the smell in our room, which disappeared after about 5 minutes of being in the room. We will stay here again. It was nice and quiet, clean, and nestled in the trees.

Room Tip: The Business Suites come with upgraded bathroom amenities (loofah, robe, & slippers). It was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us...and that you took advantage of all the services and amenities we have to offer. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward toy our next visit to Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We where only here one night but it was fantastic! The beds were so comfortable and each had a remote to change the firmness of the matress. How clever! The room was very clean and a good size. The lobby was very welcoming and finished to a high standard. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive ( about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package.The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation and is excited to be a part of the DoubleTree by Hilton family of hotels. Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love with a variety of upgrades in amenities boasting a new look that is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.