We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn I-40 & I-17

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn I-40 & I-17 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn I-40 & I-17
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 S. Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Quality Inn University)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #40 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Adequate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. The hotel was adequate, but dated and tired. The bed was comfortable, TV decent, internet good. The biggest minus was that the walls are thin and you cannot turn the ventilation fan on to get some white noise without it blowing hot air in the winter or cold air in the summer. The thermostat does not work to control the temperature, and according to the personnel, that is the way it is. We ended up sleeping with the hot air blowing and the window open. The biggest plus was a very friendly, courteous, and helpful staff especially during a several day period of heavy snow. They did an excellent job of keeping the parking areas plowed and manageable. There are other hotels in close proximity that appear newer, and would likely be worth the additional $20-30 per night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    44
    37
    22
    22
See reviews for
48
41
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was average but better than the one in Kingman, Az. It had restaurants close by and The rooms were clean and it had all the same extras that the other one had. TV -refrigerator - microwave and coffee maker.

Room Tip: Not too thrilled with Quality Inns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Not the best Choice Hotel we stayed at during our drive across America, but not the worst either. As others have said, it's a bit tired and in need of a makeover. But we enjoyed our stay there. It was thanks to the reception staff that we stayed an extra night and took the Angel Date's tour of the Grand Canyon, so special plaudits for the staff. The light switch in the bathroom was hard to find - halfway down the long wall. The hotel can be tricky to find. Take the ramp immediately to the left of the gas station (a Mobile on Google street view, but Shell when we were there). If you take the next turning you end up in some accommodation place for the Mormons. There is a Denny's on the right hand side of the gas station to eat at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed 10/15. Could not get into our first choice hotel but had a coupon for the Quality inn that gave us a final price, with tax, of $75.78. I'm a Choice Diamond Elite member and travel all the time, but have to say this hotel ranks near the bottom of my list.

The desk staff were friendly and efficient, but the coupon I had was for the 2nd floor in this pet friendly hotel... And there is no elevator. Could deal with that, but the carpets were dirty, the air conditioning didn't work, plumbing was faulty, everything was poorly maintained... and the room had a foul smell.

As we were checking out, the two customers in front of us were complaining about the smell, non-functioning HVAC and plumbing that didn't work.... So we were not alone in our negative opinions. Will not stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We've stayed at this great location several times over the last 5 years with kids attending NAU. While the personnel is great, as is the breakfast, this hotel is due for a good scrubbing. The smell of old cigarette smoke is so pungent that I had to buy Fabreeze spray and a fragrant candle for my last multi night stay. This could be a great property - location is great, no train noise, kind of a retro feel. It just needs fresh paint, carpet, mattresses, etc. The breakfast setup needs improvement too.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lobby and ask for a north facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Good......clean, central location, nice cooked breakfast.

The Bad.....they let dogs in and the ones next to us howled and barked at various times. Last night at midnight. The driveway is hidden within a gas station with poor signage as how to get into the property.

The Ugly...people take their dogs to breakfast,,,,right in the dining room with the rest of us.

And if you have dog or cat alergies.....this is not the place for you.

I am a member of their awards program and they put us in the area of the motel with the pet rooms. Nice.

Room Tip: Choose a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel smells musty with a lingering smoke smell in lobby, also in the halls. The rooms need a deep cleaning for the price I paid due to flagstaff being a high season I should have paid the extra money to stay elsewhere. Rooms smelt musty and of old smoke. Beds are ok if you just need somewhere to sleep and are not spending much time in room this is your place. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn I-40 & I-17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn I-40 & I-17

Address: 2000 S. Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Quality Inn University)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn I-40 & I-17 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn also an ideal hub for Sedona, Meteor Crater, the San Francisco Peaks, Walnut Canyon, Sunset Crater and Wupatki Indian Ruins. Adjacent to Northern Arizona University, this charming hotel is 80 miles from the Grand Canyon. Let the friendly staff book guided Canyon tours via van, plane or helicopter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn I-40 & I-17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn University Hotel Flagstaff
Quality Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn I-40 & I-17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.