We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with friendly helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great place with friendly helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My overall experience here was great I was really happy with my stay and the rooms were always clean and housekeeping was great! I like how the rooms are update and cozy and not like other hotels stuck in the 80's or 70's .The mattresses were very comfortable too they must be new as well.I was especially happy with the customer service given by the front desk lady's Rocio and Chevy these lady's were so nice and so helpful.They were of great assistance and really welcoming and that helped me tremendously given that I am from out of town.The knowledgeable staff was also really informative about all the local attractions.This hotel in my opinion is excellent, great price,friendly helpful staff ,good housekeeping, everything in the room always worked and I stayed during a snow storm and the parking lot was always plowed. TWO THUMBS UP! And 5 star service thank you Howard Johnson for making my flagstaff stay extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello Daniela N,

It was truly our pleasure to have had the opportunity to have provided you with a wonderful hotel experience at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff. We always make it a point to provide our guests with a great accommodation and customer service that is served with a friendly smile. Especially during times like a snow storm, we are more committed to making your stay both enjoyable and comfortable.

Thank you again for choosing to to stay at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff. We sincerely look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    35
    23
    21
See reviews for
41
35
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, while we were visiting the grand canyon. The room was clean, and expect a lamp everything else was in working order. We got an excellent room with a view of the pool and got to see brilliant sunrises on both days. the room was pretty big and the bathroom was also spotlessly clean.There are a couple of excellent restaurants within a mile of this hotel, which adds to the wonderful stay. We were also very satisfied with the breakfast options available.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool are the best choice as you get to see the brilliant sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello Suchana S.,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay in Howard Johnson Inn. Your review ensures that we have successfully provided your accommodation needs and we have met your preference. Our team is committed in pursuing to provide excellent, best value services to all our guests for giving us your business.

Should you need assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to call the attention of our staff as they will be glad to assist you.

We look forward to your next visit in our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel was fantastic value for the price, so much so we extended to stay an extra night. Room was renovated, modern and very clean. Very well equipped with coffee maker, fridge, fast wifi, lots of hanging space, full length mirror and shaving mirror but no microwave, Brand new bathroom with large shower (no bath). Overall the room looked exactly like the photos, so I'm not sure what the previous reviewer was talking about (perhaps not all the rooms have been renovated. In regards to noise there is a pub next door with live bands and train noise intermittently which was sometimes quite loud. A sold out country music concert next door could only just be heard in our room, but I think the train noise would be of concern to light sleepers. Walking distance to Sizzler, Burger King, Taco Bell and a bunch of other restaurants. The hotel even had its own restaurant but we did not try it out. Around 1.5 hours drive to Grand Canyon. Checkout is 10am, if I had one suggestion it would be to make this later. Breakfast not included but can't complain for the price, excellent value.

Room Tip: Front room was clean and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear heidi895,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity of providing your lodging needs in Howard Johnson Inn and for giving us the most inspiring review despite of perhaps the downside of the noise. We are committed in offering our guests best value services and great experience during your stay in our hotel.

We are most grateful that you have taken note of our effort to provide what we believe the basic facilities to make your stay even more convenient.

Your business is valuable to us and we hope you will visit Howard Johnson Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Walked in mid/late afternoon and asked to see a room, this was done in a very ungracious manner, thankfully the room we viewed looked very clean and modern; the guy on reception would do well to understand a little more about customer service! This place has clearly had a recent facelift and the rooms are very clean, nicely furnished and a good sized. Fridge but no micro.
We requested a room as far from the road as possible due the rail line across the road - these trains are loud and go very regularly at night!
Stayed 2 nights. Good value. lots of parking and easy access to all routes.

Room Tip: Request a top floor and as far away from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hello Carrie,


Thank you sharing your experience during your stay in Howard Johnson Inn . I apologize for the way you were responded by our staff, I will evaluate the matter and will implement corrective measures immediately as we want all of our guests to be satisfied of our accommodation and services provided .


Thank you for your tips and for taking note of the good value you had experience in our Hotel . Your reviews are important to us as it measures the kind of services and accommodation that we have provided you.


We look forward to your next visit in our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

If I was able to give this motel a 0 I would. First off, the pictures are not accurate. We took some actual pictures of the room and location we were given. I booked this room through Expedia and I think that was my first mistake. When we arrived to the property, the looks of the front of the building were off putting, however we figured it was just for 1 night. We went into the office and were issued our room keys and told our room was "around back". The only access was from the street and when we made our way back there, it looked like a Section 8 apartment complex. Our room was in the corner next to a storage room for the restaurant. There was a bicycle chained to the pillar right in front of our door and it appeared that there was someone living in the room on the second floor. We went into the room, which smelled musty and had brown recluse spiders in the bathroom. There was extremely loud Spanish music blaring from what we think was the restaurant. We laughed so hard out of total shock and knew we couldn't sleep there. As we were getting into our vehicle to leave, there was a creepy man in a van with no windows staring at us. We Googled "best hotels in Flagstaff" and found the an actual hotel,
which honored an Internet price I had found. The manager, staff and room were amazing and we ended up staying 2 nights. We were out the $44 for this Howard Johnson room, however I guess it was worth the lesson learned. Sad because growing up we had both stayed in Howard Johnson Hotels that were nice. Too bad I can't upload the pictures of what this motel actually looks like. P.S. Ho-Jo I want my $44 back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Dazzeled88,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced while staying at our hotel.

At Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff, we take pride in our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately we didn’t meet your -or our own- expectations. We deeply value your opinions and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

Because of this serious oversight, we would like to provide you with half off on your stay and another 50% off on your next stay at our hotel. I hope that this will make amends for the shortcomings that were made.

We sincerely hope that you would give us another chance to provide you with the service that you truly deserve. If you have any concerns during your next stay, please don’t hesitate to call the attention of our staff or our front desk clerks. And, on behalf of team of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff, we are sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff

Address: 3300 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2013, all rooms feature plush bedding, refrigerators, wifi, coffee makers. Seasonal outdoor pool & Spa. Guest laundry and the Crown Railroad Café onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.