We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbishing is overdue but work is in progress” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2320 E Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Refurbishing is overdue but work is in progress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

These past 3 weeks I stayed in HI Express hotels in Page AZ, Cortez CO, Santa Fe NM and Flagstaff AZ and I noticed a lot of similarities. In every hotel the size of the room was generous, but there were no wardrobes. A 3-drawer cabinet is not nearly enough for your holiday luggage and you are forced to keep most of it in your suitcase.
In general everything in the room was in working order and well maintained. Sufficient wall plugs to charge your phones, tablets, cameras etc, all at the same time. The beds are very comfortable.
The breakfast facilities were similar in all hotels and the offered ranges were identical. A typical American obese breakfast with pancakes, syrup and jelly, eggs and fried sausages, donuts, glazed cinnamon buns, muffins, stale bread for toasting, cereals and concentrate juices diluted with too much water. More than you will find in the average motel, but nothing for me. I took the only sensible products I could find like skimmed milk, low fat yoghurt and fruit, and bought the rest in the supermarket. It didn’t bother me but the service in the breakfast area was inadequate and unacceptable. Every day many items were not replenished for a longer period of time.
As a platinum member I am entitled to an upgrade but this particular hotel did not have any.
The location of this hotel is ideal for tours in the area. There are plenty of decent restaurants in the historic old town, but parking may be difficult.
The ‘high-speed’ internet is not stable but ok with off peak speeds of 350Kb down and 70Kb up.
Refurbishing is overdue but there is work in progress. At this moment the prices are too high for what is offered an I would recommend this hotel only off season.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Emprie07,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am delighted with the compliments you afforded to our hotel; we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. We do hope you will visit with us again the next time you travel through Northern Arizona.
Again thank you for taking the time to leave a comment, it is greatly appreciated.

Best Wishes,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    137
    87
    27
    18
See reviews for
120
102
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is currently undergoing renovations, and we were assured from the moment we made our reservations that this would not impact our stay. Apparently Holiday Inn Express' view of 'no impact' is very different than mine. We visited for a softball tournament, and had we not been required to stay at this particular hotel in agreement with the tournament, we would have found somewhere else to stay.

There is currently no access to the front driveway, which definitely impacted our stay (and ability to get to the front door and unload our belongings) and the whole place looks rundown. The elevators are slow and dark with paint chipping, and there do not appear to be stairs available for when you don't want to wait for the elevator. (isn't that the law? I thought it was. I could be wrong, I just thought it was a requirement.)

Rooms are in need of work. They've recently had newer carpeting, and furnishings are ok, but our toilet seat in the bathroom was chipped and had questionable stains on it throughout our stay. Our tub had a slow drain, so it filled as anyone took a shower. Doorjambs are bent, or broken, and housekeeping service seemed cursory at best.

Yes, there is a free breakfast, but it's mainly white bread products, scrambled egg patties (???) and sugared yogurt. I understand you get what you pay for, but for $170/night, I expect a bit more.

I gave two stars because the service was pretty good, and there were some nice touches like cookies out in the afternoon and iced citrus water available. Just very frustrated that I paid the amount I paid for very little in return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Vegrunner from Albuquerque, NM,

Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting the Northern Arizona for your softball tournament. We strive to deliver a positive memorable stay for all guests and it is apparent we fell short during your stay. I would like to apologize about the issues that you experienced during your stay. While we are excited about the changes that are due to come with our renovation, I am disappointed to hear that you suffered inconveniences when trying to use the front entrance to the hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the service and got to take advantage of the cookies and citrus water we set out for those checking in.

I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to be of service when you visit the area again. B

Best regards,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Old hotel that is getting a poor remodeling job. Staying in a remodeled room with mold on bathroom ceiling and window screen s are torn. No microwave in room. One washer and dryer for the hotel. Staff is nice. I would recommend that you find a better place to stay that is cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear dts0422 from Rapid City, South Dakota.

I want to thank you for taking time to leave us a review of our service. We strive to deliver a positive memorable stay for all guest and if it apparent we fell short during your stay. As you stated we are an older property and therefore going through a major renovation at this time. I do hope that you will visit us again when the renovation is completed. Thank you for notifying us, we haven’t had mold problems in the hotel previously and we have our housekeeping staff addressing this immediately.

Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The night before our start of a rafting trip through the Grand Canyon, we stayed at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express. We appreciated the comfortable bed, the frig, the clean accommodations, the excellent breakfast buffet, and the citrus water and cookies upon arrival. We were well-cared for. We were temporarily confounded by the new heating/cooling element, but a visit from a staff member cleared up our confusion. Thanks for the service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Gail B W,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you were enjoyed your stay prior to you rafting trip through the Grand Canyon. We are excited you were comfortable since the time arrived; being able to take advantage of the citrus water and chocolate chip cookies while checking in, as well as the comfort of the beds throughout the night to awake to the many options of our full hot breakfast to start your day!

Again, we appreciate all of your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.


Sincerely,


Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com

Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We are traveling from Upstate NY to Southern California and have stayed at various hotels across the country. This one was the absolute BEST on all fronts. Excellent service. Rooms were immaculately clean, beds/pillows the most comfortable. We had an issue with the fridge that was immediately taken care of. Breakfast was an amazing assortment of yogurts, cereals, milks, juices, muffins, pancakes as well as eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy. We really enjoyed the more natural selections that were offered instead of just one or two things. The pool area was also very clean and enjoyed by our children.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Denise M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast. We are thrilled to hear you children enjoyed out indoor/ outdoor heated pool. We hope your travels from Upstate New York to California are very exciting and memorable.

Again, we appreciate your review and we hope to see you again next time you are in the area!


Sincerely,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were upgraded to this room while on our way from California to Florida. We booked through hotels.com and since our original hotel was fully booked by their mistake, they offered to upgrade us here without an additional charge. When we travel cross country, we like to go cheap on hotels so we can spare money for the amazing food and activities. Generally, we stay around 50-60 dollars a night, so this was a much different experience for us.

Check in was very quick and easy. Parking was the one of the few negative things I have to mention here, as there were a bunch of shipping bins and semi trucks taking up normal parking spaces. We had to park in a dark far away corner, and worried about the car, but in the morning it was all there! So it's not really a problem.

The room was extremely clean, updated, and stocked with great smelling Bath & Body Works products for your convenience. Ours had a fridge and a microwave as well, which both functioned perfectly. The room was fairly quiet, which is a huge plus for me, as a light sleeper. I could not hear the neighbors, just some noise from outside.

My favorite part about this hotel was the breakfast! Completely free and all you can eat. They had a huge variety of options, including soy milk, regular milk, chocolate milk and juice. All different types of yogurt. Sausage, turkey sausage, eggs, and pancakes. Biscuits and gravy, bagels, toast, and muffins as well. I was thrilled and thought it was all very good.

Overall, it is a great resort and I can't imagine why anyone wouldn't be pleased to stay here. (:

Room Tip: We had a room on the very end of the hall facing the parking lot, and we heard no noise from other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Katelynn S,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us while traveling across country! We are glad that you were able to sleep well and take advantage of our complimentary breakfast!

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again on your return trip from Florida.


Sincerely,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is an update that I have stayed at this property again and service and friendliness of the staff remains very good. When I stay here it is always a busy time with soccer and baseball tournament guests and the staff works very hard to get the rooms cleaned, to maintain the lounge area and keep the breakfast food fully stocked. I also look for hotels that have comfortable beds and this place really does and offers two kinds of pillows.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kai-Leigh B, Sales Coordinator at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Lori K,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves on providing top notch customer service so we are delighted to hear that you always enjoy your visit while in Flagstaff. We are pleased to make your time spent here memorable!

Again, we appreciate all of your kind words and we hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,

Kai-Leigh Barone
Sales Coordinator
928-714-1000 Ext. 144
scflgll@swhm.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Address: 2320 E Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Northern Arizona for business or leisure, Stay Smart at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We are centrally located to many Flagstaff attractions including Historic Rt. 66, Northern Arizona University, Lowell Observatory, Museum of N. AZ and the Riordan Mansion. Breath taking monuments like Grand Canyon, Sedona, the Red Rocks, Meteor Crater, Sunset Crater, Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest are nearby and a must see for all traveling through.The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel is also the right place for relaxation and great hospitality! Our guests can enjoy views of the San Francisco Peaks from many of our wonderful guest rooms. All our comfortable rooms include a host of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access. Come sit and relax by our cozy fireplace in the evenings or have fun in our arcade room. Stop by our Express Start Breakfast Bar every morning for a deluxe hot continental breakfast served complimentary to all our guests. The hotel also has an outdoor/ indoor heated pool, a spa and a fitness center. The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express offers meeting & banquet facilities, and also provides complimentary shuttle services to both the Flagstaff Airport & Amtrak Station. The staff at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel are always eager to provide you with friendly, courteous and professional service. We look forward to seeing you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Flagstaff
Holiday Inn Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.