We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff at an Average Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2320 E Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rude Staff at an Average Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I think the key characteristics of a good hotel are nice rooms, a good breakfast, and friendly staff.

This hotel is your run-of-the-mill hotel. Our room was ok. It was clean but small. The night we stayed the boiler went out, so there was no hot water. I realize things happen, so my review isn't low just because of this event.

The breakfast was average. It did have hot items, including eggs and biscuits/gravy but both were terrible.

As for the staff, they were horrible. I could barely get the desk clerks attention to check-in when I walked into the lobby. The breakfast crew was cranky. When I checked-out, the woman was angry because I was down at the desk checking out when I should've received a rapid check-out under my door. Well, I didn't get one but she didn't seem to believe me.

One more thing, the pool was supposed to be heated. It was ice cold. My kids got in for 5 minutes and then decided they couldn't stand it any more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Michele W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for guest services.

I am truly sorry for the service provided by our staff failed to exceed or at least meet your expectations. This is definitely not a standard in our hotel as we always strive to provide the highest level of customer care. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any dissatisfaction this has caused you.

Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    129
    79
    23
    17
See reviews for
108
99
21
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

All I can say is that Holiday Inn Express should be ashamed to allow this hotel to use their name. I pulled off highway 40 and needed a place to stay, when I noticed the Holiday Inn Express sign. I am a priority member and stay at HI and HI Express often.

I did not have time to check Trip Advisor, so I went on the belief that Holiday Inn would require their hotels to be up to a specific standard. When I checked in, I told Clint that I follow TripAdvisor and he said the hotel had terrific reviews.

I checked in and found the room to be extreamly outdated and shabby at best. The bed was hard like a board, the heater was so loud, you don't have to worry about hearing the people in the next room.

The hotel was busy and the line for breakfast was too long, so I went to Denny's for breakfast. I went back to the room to shower and only had cold water. I took a cold shower and went back down to the front desk to complain.

Guess who was there at the desk, Clint the same guy who checked me in. I told him that his hotel is not up to Holiday Inn standards, the shower was ice cold and the breakfast area is not big enough to service that size hotel.

He was nice when he checked me in, but when I complained, he just ignored me and more or less, laughed it off. I told him that I planned to write to Holiday Inn, because I was not happy, I did not receive a good nights sleep or a hot shower, he said I could, but there was nothing he could do. Funny thing is, they put a note in with the bill that reads, if you are not happy with your stay, please speak with the front desk, which I did, but that does no good.

Clint told me that the beds and furniture are from 2005 and they plan to buy new beds in November 2013, but that did not help me in December 2012. He also told me that the boiler was broken and everyone was complaining about not having hot water.

Not only was this the worst Holiday Inn experience that I have ever encountered, but the front desk staff is nice when you check in and could care less when you check out. Unless you like over paying for a room just because of the Holiday Inn Express name, stay away from this Holiday Inn Express and choose another Flagstaff hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our family of three stayed here for a weekend in December. We chose this hotel since it was close to the departure location for the North Pole Experience. The hotel is a little older, but it seemed well kept. The free breakfast was good (eggs, pancakes, yummy cinnamon rolls, etc.) and they had fresh-baked cookies daily. The rooms were clean, but we had a really hard time adjusting the heat temperature. It was either blowing too cool or too warm. The kids swam in the indoor/outdoor pool and had fun. It was a little chilly so they didn't last too long. It snowed while we were there. The parking lot and sidewalks were plowed and shoveled.

We ate next door at the Northern Pines restaurant a few times (good service and great food). It's conveniently located near downtown Flagstaff, which has a lot of good shops and restaurants as well. We took the kids sledding at a small hill down by the college. That was fun!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The front desk help were the friendliest I've encountered in some time. The rooms were small but extremely clean. The desk called us after we got settled to see if there was anything we needed. A very nice touch. The hotel lobby was very inviting and the breakfast was very good.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love the Holiday Inn Express brand and consider it a sure bet. Unfortunately, this experience fell short of what we expected.

This hotel had probably the best free breakfast I've ever been offered. It included eggs and some sort of meat every day. You could make your own pancakes. Also, cold hard boiled eggs were always available, along with the usual assortment of yogurt and breads. Although the food area could get crowded, the breakfast area itself was huge, and the staff kept the food well-stocked.The person working there was friendly and had a good attitude, too.

The room was updated and the beds comfortable. However, it was very cramped. It was difficult to get around in the room with more than one adult. I would definitely NOT recommend the room for say, four women (or even two women) on a girls' getaway trip , unless you feel really, REALLY comfortable with one another. The space in the room was so tight that you had to pass single file to get to the bathroom. Also, there was barely room for our suitcases (two adults, one very small child.) The closet was not deep enough and did not close if you had anything hanging in it.

The hotel let us use a portable crib (not a pack'n'play style, but a small sized crib) for no extra charge. Someone brought it up for us and set it up.

The bathroom, as some other reviewers stated, is very tight. I discounted this before booking, but it did turn out to be a bit of a pain. We took turns getting ready in it, and were very careful opening the door when the other parent was giving our child a bath as the door would hit the parent unless the parent moved.

Although the room was clean when we arrived, we had one day where we never got service. We left around 12, I think, and the staff never came back by. When we alerted the front desk staff, they seemed stunned and looked into what happened, but never offered an apology or any sort of compensation. They did give us fresh towels, but we struggled with the trash overflow, since hotel trash cans are so small.

Despite the negatives, I might stay in this hotel again, especially if it were just me staying by myself. The breakfast was a really nice amenity and the public areas were tastefully decorated and updated.

Room Tip: These rooms are very small. Don't think you can easily squeeze a four-person family or four adul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morlandmonk
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Really friendly welcome. A slightly older hotel which looks a little care worn in places but very friendly staff and the usual brilliant breakfast and a nice touch of free cookies in reception in the afternoon/evening.

Flagstaff is a lovely town, small and really friendly with a variety of excellent local shops and restaurants. Recommend visiting the tourist information centre at the train station to pick up free maps and for details of any special events etc.

Do not be tempted to visit the Denny’s just outside the front door of the hotel unless it has improved greatly since we were there. Our visit started with us eventually being shown to a dirty table, being left until we actually went to find someone to place our order and then waiting for our vaguely warm meal to be delivered. This appeared to be standard practice as several of the people around us were getting apologies from staff during the exceptionally long time we were in this ‘fast food’ restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I read reviews of all the hotels we booked for a cross country trip and they were very mixed for this hotel. Some people complained about highway noise and some about train whistles. For that reason I had some reservations about staying here, BUT that was unwarranted. This hotel, like the other Holiday Inn Expresses we have been staying in, is very, very nice. The room isn't huge, but it is more than adequate for 2 people. It is clean and quiet. We had a room on the 5th floor in the front of the building and found no noises keeping us awake at night.

Their breakfast room is huge and the food was hot and tasty...a real treat before setting out to see the Grand Canyon. Plenty of choices and hot coffee - what more could you need?

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I suppose the higher up the room, the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Address: 2320 E Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Northern Arizona for business or leisure, Stay Smart at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We are centrally located to many Flagstaff attractions including Historic Rt. 66, Northern Arizona University, Lowell Observatory, Museum of N. AZ and the Riordan Mansion. Breath taking monuments like Grand Canyon, Sedona, the Red Rocks, Meteor Crater, Sunset Crater, Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest are nearby and a must see for all traveling through.The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel is also the right place for relaxation and great hospitality! Our guests can enjoy views of the San Francisco Peaks from many of our wonderful guest rooms. All our comfortable rooms include a host of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access. Come sit and relax by our cozy fireplace in the evenings or have fun in our arcade room. Stop by our Express Start Breakfast Bar every morning for a deluxe hot continental breakfast served complimentary to all our guests. The hotel also has an outdoor/ indoor heated pool, a spa and a fitness center. The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express offers meeting & banquet facilities, and also provides complimentary shuttle services to both the Flagstaff Airport & Amtrak Station. The staff at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel are always eager to provide you with friendly, courteous and professional service. We look forward to seeing you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Flagstaff
Holiday Inn Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.