We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2320 E Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Murrells Inlet
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sweet Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Came up from Sedona to Flagstaff early morning. Got to the Hotel about 11am. We checked in ahead of time & off to the Grand Canyon we went. Room was great,bed was better. Breakfast was very good. Staff excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    134
    84
    27
    17
See reviews for
116
100
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here en route to a visit to the Grand Canyon. The hotel was fine, clean and the staff very attentative. Was a litte surprised that the room was smaller than I expected. Hotel was fully booked and we had a room near the lift. Avoid at all costs, the room was noisy from about 0530 onwards as all the doors are spring loaded and most people just let them slam shut. Ask for a room well away from the lift.
Breakfast was very good, even better than expected the staff continually ensured everything was stocked up. Simming pool was good as well. Overall with the exception of the slamming doors difficult to complain and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ensure you are not near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband has traveled for work many years, now he is retired, we go on a couple vacations every year. The staff at this hotel, including the housekeepers, maintenance, everyone are the most helpful, courteous, friendly that we have ever encountered. This hotel room is super-clean, comfortable & quiet, no train track noise... Just want to give this hotel & staff a SUPER HIGH 5! Free breakfast was substantial & the room was just what we reserved, no hassles. I would advise anyone going to Flagstaff to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn on a Sunday night. Upon our arrival we found out that the online booking we made came threw as smoking. YUCK!!! I didnt even know they had smoking rooms in Holiday Inns anymore. Needless to say we were upset. The manager I think her name was Katie was very carring and was able to get us into a non smoking room with two beds. It wasnt the king we had booked but it was non smoking. Katie was very nice and apologized about the mix up (even thow it was not her fault). She personaly called and made sure everything was good with our room about 30min after we checked in. The beds were a bit hard so I asked for extra blankets. They were to our room about 10 min later. The young man that delivered them was very nice as well. Like other people who have reviewed this hotel I find it out dated and lacking. The service is what made our stay a nice one. Thank you Katie!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights on my first visit to Chicago. When I first arrived I thought I would never find my way around the hotel as the various entrances/ exits were quite confusing. However, I quickly got acclimatised and friendly and helpful staff were always available to help. The location was first class, within walking distance of the Lake, Navy Pier, Willis Tower, shops and eating places. The room was small but adequate and the bed had a firm and very comfortable bed. There was a charge for Wiifi access in the room but it was free in the Lobby, or in Starbucks downstairs where you could enjoy a tea or coffee whilst accessing online. Only downside was there were no tea making facilities in the room. swimming pool was small but adequate as I always had it to myself, though there was no plastic bags for wet swimwear which meant dripping all the way from 7th floor to 21st floor. Concierge gave easy to follow directions to all the sites and public transport and the reception staff were very helpful when I had a problem using my Uk debit card. All in all I had a very enjoyable stay and would this hotel again if I am ever lucky enough to be back in Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The reason I book this place was because the pool picture from the Holiday Inn website. Man, was I fool, and this pool suck. The water was freezing cold, unlike other holiday inn they keep it warm most of time. The room we were in were a bit ok, but feel out dated. Great staff, well just the check in. Love the egg mix breakfast, unlike other location.

Room Tip: There is other better hotel out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Travelbabyboy,

Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you had a pleasant experience at check in. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Decided to escape the Phoenix heat and head to Flagstaff for the weekend, and found the local Holiday Inn Express, which at times can be hit or miss. This one was, well, alright.

Checking was painless and the staff was quite friendly. Plus they had cookies out, so I am easy to win over. The room was clean and well made when we got there. About the size and the amenities one would expect from a HIE, including the tiny fridge and the tiny couch in the Single King standard room.

The hotel is in a somewhat commercial and industrial area with I-40 on one side and the train tracks on the other. We had a freeway facing room and I found there to be very little road noise. On the train facing side, the trains are frequent, but don't blow their horn through town either, though I I don't know how loud the rest of the train noise gets.

The real downside was the bed, which is probably the most important aspect of any hotel. There was still the firm and soft pillows on the bed, but they seemed really old and lumpy. It took a lot of folding and bunching just to make them comfortable. The mattress its self felt like it was plastic. It was pretty hard (not firm, but hard) and its self kind of lumpy as well. It reminded me of a king size version of my college dorm mattress, which is not a good thing. Needless to say, it wasn't the best night's sleep. Oh, I've stayed on plenty worse mattresses at other hotels, but this was not the quality sleep I've come to expect from the Holiday Inn Express brand.

The breakfast was standard Holiday In Express fare, if you been to one before, you will know exactly what to expect.

Room Tip: Odd Number rooms are the south side, I-40 facing. Even number rooms are north side, train facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Andrew B,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and amenities.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the bed. I understand the discomfort this caused you. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Address: 2320 E Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Northern Arizona for business or leisure, Stay Smart at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We are centrally located to many Flagstaff attractions including Historic Rt. 66, Northern Arizona University, Lowell Observatory, Museum of N. AZ and the Riordan Mansion. Breath taking monuments like Grand Canyon, Sedona, the Red Rocks, Meteor Crater, Sunset Crater, Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest are nearby and a must see for all traveling through.The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel is also the right place for relaxation and great hospitality! Our guests can enjoy views of the San Francisco Peaks from many of our wonderful guest rooms. All our comfortable rooms include a host of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access. Come sit and relax by our cozy fireplace in the evenings or have fun in our arcade room. Stop by our Express Start Breakfast Bar every morning for a deluxe hot continental breakfast served complimentary to all our guests. The hotel also has an outdoor/ indoor heated pool, a spa and a fitness center. The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express offers meeting & banquet facilities, and also provides complimentary shuttle services to both the Flagstaff Airport & Amtrak Station. The staff at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel are always eager to provide you with friendly, courteous and professional service. We look forward to seeing you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Flagstaff
Holiday Inn Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.