We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2285 E Butler Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86004 (Formerly Flagstaff Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #35 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stinky!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After calling every hotel in Williams and Flagstaff (literally), we finally got two rooms at this hotel. We were a little afraid of what we would find, due to the terrible reviews; but it wasn't as bad as some made it out to be. For sure, it is WAY, way, way, way overpriced. The whole place stunk of smoke and alcohol. There are obviously people living in several of the rooms, as there are hibachi grills and plastic patio chairs on some of the balconies. The secure entrances were not locked. We supposedly booked two non-smoking rooms, but apparently non-smoking means the room isn't on fire, because the smell of smoke was overpowering in both rooms. One room smelled like beer as well. Smells of smoke and beer in a hotel showing obvious signs of long term occupancy is NOT encouranging! The only thing that made me not wonder if this was a "by the hour" motel, was the exorbitant rate. One room was a comfortable temperature, but couldn't get the heater to turn down in the other and the kids baked all night.

On the flip side, the front desk staff was kind and courteous. However, they told me they had no ability to print a receipt as we were checking out, which concerns me! The beds were comfortable enough, and the pillows were ok. The TV's are old, but functional, as is the furniture. Not a lot of noise inhibition in the rooms, so we could hear upstairs and around us.

Room Tip: If you can't find anything else, it will do. But you will pay through the nose for a terrible sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear hartfa,

Thank you for bringing to our attention your family’s experience during your stay in our Hotel. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and we are certainly implementing every possible corrective measure to ensure our guests receive their much deserved, best value accommodation in our Hotel.

We assure you that every review is carefully evaluated as we want to build a brand that only provides nothing less than the highest quality of service in this business.

We are very particular in terms of customer satisfaction and your review will be a motivation for us to perform to keep up and be on top of our priority.

We hope you to have another opportunity and chance to provide your family our services again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    20
    16
    20
See reviews for
22
37
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Dirty and over-priced. It was late and we were desperate for a place to stay one night. It was so expensive and so not worth the money. Our children were scared; let's just say they are use to nicer accommodations. Besides the shabby conditions there was absolutely no seal around our door (which opens to the outside) and we could hear traffic and feel the cold. No one braved the shower. We slept in our clothes and then left first thing. Unless absolutely desperate - stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Mlwolfe1,

We sincerely apologize if you may have inconvenient stay in our Hotel. As we worked on to further implement improvements in our Hotel, your particular experience will not be disregarded.

We shall properly evaluate your review and comments so as to address the matter accordingly as we aim to provide a proper, well deserve accommodation for all our guests.

We assure you that we are working on our utmost best to implement corrective measures as needed.
Thank you very much for staying in our Hotel and we hope that you will consider visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I needed a a budget hotel for one night on a roadtrip. Pulled in and should have pulled straight out again when I was told the rate. $136 + tax for a room. However it was late and we just wanted to get settled in somewhere and enjoy the city for the night.

The room was shabby with paint peeling of the walls and doors. The bathroom was scruffy and the whole place felt unkempt. I know Rodeway is a relatively budget chain however, this was as poor as it gets. It was just made worse when a few days later I secured a small suite in Scottsdale at a 5* hotel for just $10 more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear tim1966,
Thank you for your choice to stay in Rodeway Inn.

I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with us. Your reviews are our reference to make further improvement on our services as our goal is to provide quality services for all our guests at best value.

Thank you for bringing to my attention your comments on our facilities. These will be evaluated promptly so as corrective measures will be implemented accordingly.

We hope to have another opportunity of providing your next accommodation when you visit Flagstaff again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very disappointed. Did not match what the website said. No coffee pot, very tiny room, tv was very difficult to use (remote didn't work to turn off and on the tv), never made up room one day, key card didn't work on the second day there. So disappointed, left a day early. Only good thing was the proximity to roads to Grand Canyon and Sedona.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Avis,

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your stay in our Hotel. We assure you every comment and concerns brought to our attention are highly prioritized for evaluation so as we can provide a better, more improved services for all our guests.

We hope you would give us another opportunity of providing your accommodation needs in the future and offer to you a more improved services you will enjoy on you next visit in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Indoor entry to rooms made it cumbersome for bringing in luggage. Room was not updated but clean. Really not much to say about it, it was pretty nondescript. Staff was friendly and the continental breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay in Rodeway Inn.

Your comments and reviews are our reference to make further improvement in our services as our goal is to provide nothing less than great experience for our guests during your stay in our Hotel. It is comforting to read your note specifically mentioning our staff were accommodating to you.

We look forward to another opportunity of providing you our services in the future as we ensure you will have great value experience in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have read previous comments and had a fear what we would find there. We were four on our trip to Grand Canyon and we had a great time! It is only 1h and 15 min fro Grand Canyon, walking distance from cuty Flagstaff dowtown were u can find great restaurants and pubs! And brend new managment keep it very celan and kind. We were 4 in one room for a great price! Clean, with plasma tv and great internet connection. if we go again to Flagstaff we will book it!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and have independent entrance :) close to downtown and to parking place where is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The room had a horrible musty smell, was clean but not desirable! The pool was green & the hot tub had slime in it! Overall, very disappointing because our 8 year old wanted to swim, but it was too filthy! Will never stay in this hotel again, too over priced for what we got!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 2285 E Butler Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86004 (Formerly Flagstaff Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.