We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vintage hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weatherford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Weatherford Hotel
Save
You added Weatherford Hotel to your Saves list
23 N. Leroux, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful vintage hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The Weatherford is a great place to stay. Ask for the suite with the fireplace. It is their nicest room. Charlies, the restaurant, has nice New Mexican food and all of the staff is very friendly. The Weatherford is a charming old west hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    14
    9
    16
See reviews for
8
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godmanchester, Cambs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Great looking Hotel with a nice feel to it, we didn't stay there but ate there twice.
They were always courteous, the menu was great and the food was served quickly. Great Salad and the little Brown Loaf was great, afetr that a main course each was just the ticket. NO room for desert or a 'starter', just too full.
It look great from outside and gives you a feel of 'yesteryear'

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

if you are the sort of traveller who needs all the amenities this is not for you,but if you want a bed and bathroom then your ok. you should be out enjoying all that flagstaff has to offer. the hotel restaurant is very good the bars are too usually with live music so don't be an early bedder especially at the weekend. savour the historic ambience of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

The Weatherford is a historical hotel in the center of Flagstaff, and so is its dirt in the rooms! Not only was our room rumored to have ghosts, but we also had the leftovers from those ghosts on the rug, behind the dressers, under the beds. Some of the rooms have been refurbished, but ours was in dire need of both a refurb (one broken window and neither of the two could be opened) and a scrub down. The shared shower was smaller than a shoe box and also untidy. we did want the old world charm but without the old world dirtiness! Not recommended for the faint of heart!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Ok, so you can't blame the hotel for the train noise by OMG, I'm a solid sleeper but couldn't sleep through the constant blaring train horns. First 'double room' was totally unacceptable - your average size 2 people could not sleep comfortably in a bed that size. Asked to upgrade to a bigger room. Got a suite. It was ok, but overall I found the hotel to be pretty gloomy. There was a man working on the roof outside our window which we weren't warned about either. Overall, staff were friendly, balcony bar was great, but felt a little 'under whelmed' overall for the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

The Weatherford Hotel is a fun place to stay! Be warned - you will NOT get a great nights' sleep - trains passing through every few minutes - blowing their whistles!! In my opinion, it added to the experience! The room was small - but everything was exactly as we were told it would be. The bar looked like fun, but we got in very late and were tired. Nice location - can walk to everything. Really, a simple, fun and reasonably priced place to stay (we had an $85 room). DO NOT expect a high end hotel....this is not "that kind" of place. But it certainly is worth the visit if you're willing to try it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed overnight at the end of a long camping trip so we could walk to the Amtrak station early in the morning to catch the train home. When I booked it, they were clear to point out the issues with the frequent trains and bands in the bar. I brought along ear plugs but we never needed them. Upon arrival, if was obvious that the restaurant wait staff were waiters first, hotels staff second, but they did fine. They gave us a room on the 3rd floor (no elevators). Hiking up with all our luggage was tough but they did offer to help. On the second floor we had to walk through a teachers conference to get to our room. The room is very small and the shower head is very low even though it looks like the bathrooms were put in recently. I would be leery of staying here in the hot summer time as the only cooling device was a box fan. We never heard any music that night and the train whistles did not wake us. Downtown Flagstaff is very eclectic as it is a college town and there were plenty of things to see. Overall, the room was good for our needs, a bit pricy for what you get, though.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weatherford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weatherford Hotel

Address: 23 N. Leroux, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic hotel that has hosted many famous guests, the hotel now has very reasonably priced rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Weatherford Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weatherford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.