We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Flagstaff hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   706 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover the Grand Canyon
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Our favorite Flagstaff hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Anytime we need a place to stay in Flagstaff, we first look to stay at the Embassy Suites. The only reason I "ding" them a notch is because we've noticed their jack their prices up depending on the weekend/time of year. But it is our favorite hotel in Flagstaff. They often sell out, so we'd recommend making reservations for this hotel in advance. Nice complimentary happy hour reception, good hot breakfast, & we both love the 24-hour gym! Comfortable beds/rooms as well. The hotel is within walking distance (a mile or less) of several very nice local restaurants. Last summer the hotel had a special deal for guests to take a 1-day tour of the Grand Canyon where the tour operator (All Star Grand Canyon Tours) picked us up at the hotel for a nice scenic tour of the Canyon, which we absolutely loved!

Room Tip: Advance reservations recommended...this hotel often sells out. If you're a AAA member, you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESGM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Taryn for your great review! We love that you choose to stay with us for your "staycations" in the pine country. I understand you want value for your money and I am sorry that you feel our prices are much higher at certain times. While we do increase our prices at very times during the year, we are very competitive with our rates and offer the best value for price paid in Flagstaff.

We are so glad that this hasn't deterred you from staying with us and we can't wait to see you again soon!

Amy Todd
General Manager
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    213
    111
    51
    35
See reviews for
313
154
16
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castroville, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Had a great time in Flagstaff, for our Grand Canyon trip. I have to admit, since this was our first trip to Flagstaff, we chose the Embassy Suites primarily on name recognition; but (as expected), the hotel was very clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Also, traveling as a family, the full breakfast was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESGM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Kevin for you great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to have you stay with us very soon.

Amy Todd
General Manager
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We've stayed in many Embassy Suites, as it is our go-to hotel brand when travelling. This one disappointed on a few different levels.
First the good:
Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was done well, with fresh bacon, sausage, hash browns, pancakes and waffles cooked and served along with the made-to-order eggs. Most Embassy's we've visited offer everything other than eggs on the buffet.
Now the disappointing:
1. The suites were VERY small. maybe half the size or less of the usual Embassy Suites. This property appears to have been converted from another brand, as it is not the usual Embassy layout with central atrium.
2. We took a day trip to Grand Canyon (recommended), leaving around 8am and returning around 7pm to find our rooms had not been cleaned, beds made or towels replaced. We had to find the maid and request fresh towels. Management apologized, attributing the problem to a staffing issue due to maid staff that couldn't make it in. We noticed upon check-in the previous day that a maid was still cleaning rooms around 6pm, but didn't think much of it at the time. I suspect this goes deeper and is a management or staffing issue, rather than the fault of a maid calling in sick for a day or two.
3. While I appreciate and enjoy the complimentary cocktails typically offered by this brand, they are normally offered by separate staff in a separate location from the hotel bar, usually in the breakfast service area. At the Flagstaff property, complimentary cocktails are offered, but at the hotel bar, with only 1 person tending bar for everyone (paying customers as well as those receiving complimentary drinks), resulting in a line that backed up into the hotel lobby for the duration of cocktail hour, as well as poor service for all in the bar, in spite of the overworked bartender's best efforts and surprisingly pleasant personality.
I suspect that ownership/management of this property has chosen to do try to do more with less, and it shows. I suspect that this location caters to more vacationers than returning business travelers, thinking they can get away with a lower level of service and accommodations. I might mention that this was not priced as if a lower level of service and accommodation was being offered, in our case, around $250 per room per night.
Prior to this stay, we have usually received good service and always received spacious and clean accommodations at Embassy Suites. We will be a bit more wary at our next Embassy Suites stay, although we don't intend to stay at the Flagstaff location again.

Room Tip: Find a different property if you need a spacious room or a clean room, if staying more than one nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESGM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that your stay was less than excellent. We strive every day to exceed our guest expectations and sometimes fall short of even our own expectations.

We take every comment very seriously and will do everything we can to improve on those items in our control. We hope to earn another opportunity at your business should your travels bring you back to the area.

Thank you,

Amy Todd
General Manager
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a great time staying here.Close to Grand Canyon without the high prices and you can't beat the breakfast or the free 5:30 to 7:30 happy hours reception. Only 1 hr from Canyon. We use this location and others in Flagstaff often as we can as we say, hub and spoke to go any direction to see many areas in northern Arizona. As a tour guide in the Phoenix area this just makes good sense. This trip was for family visiting from Chicago. We saw the Canyon, Williams,Sedona,Verdy Valley,Navajo Reservation,Cameron Trading post,Walnut canyon,Sunset crator,Montezuma's Castle National monuments. This location is perfect for these and more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESGM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Mark for your great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the beautiful pine country. We hope to see you again soon!

Amy Todd
General Manager
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestown, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The nature of our trip was to fly into Flagstaff, rent a Harley & tour around the area. Being from out of state it's hard to pick a hotel in an area you've never been & I searched quite a few places & read lots of reviews before deciding. I'd read a few negative reviews on it even when I picked it so I wanted to make sure to write a review on our stay which was perfect.

We arrived about 11 & fully expected to just leave our luggage at the front desk & go pick up our vehicle for the week. We were very pleased to find they did have a room ready for us. The room was clean & even with being right by the pool we never heard any noise or had trouble sleeping. We stayed for a week & have not one complaint. The complimentary breakfast is absolutely phenomenal, happy hour was great, the staff was always very helpful at any hour. The pool area was a very nice enjoyable place to spend our last day.

We generally have the Do Not Disturb sign on our room when we travel anywhere unless we need towels or such. Housekeeping would leave a bag of towels hanging on our door even with the sign up which I thought was extremely thoughtful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESGM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback, as we are consistently trying to improve. We are sorry that you were not satisfied and we are continually making improvements to our property. We would love the opportunity to make it up to you, should you choose to stay with us again. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Amy Todd
General Manager
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Our arrival was late in the evening and the front desk staff was both friendly and helpful. Check-in was quick, efficient and professional. The hotel staff was courteous and seemed motivated to do their best to make guests comfortable.

Our room, on the other hand, was more like Motel 6 than the Embassy Suites. There were multiple scuff marks on the walls, the carpet looked like it hasn't been cleaned since the 80's. The toilet seat was missing a bolt so it was loose on the john and the bathroom door was dragging on the floor making it difficult to close and open. The couch was grimy and looked like something you might pick up at a flea market. The elevator rattled enough while it was moving that we began to wonder if it was safe.

We have stayed at several Embassy Suites over the years and this one was far below the standards we have experienced from this chain. It was definitely not worth the price price. We decided to move to another hotel after the first night.

Many hotels age gracefully with great charm. Sadly, the Flagstaff Embassy Suites is just old.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESGM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was anything less than excellent. We pride ourselves in our efforts to exceed our guests expectations on every level and even we fall short of our own expectations.

We are continually making improvements in our hotel and will take your comments very seriously to improve immediately what we can control.

Thank you again and we hope to earn another opportunity at your business should your travels bring you back to the area.

Amy Todd
General Manager
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Embassy Suites hotel is at good location, the staff were very helpful, complementary breakfast and evening happy hours are great. Nice clean rooms with plenty of room for family with kids. I would highly recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Flagstaff

Address: 706 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#7 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Flagstaff 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the gateway of Northern Arizona--Flagstaff and the Embassy Suites Flagstaff. Our All Suite Flagstaff hotel is close to all Northern AZ attractions like the Grand Canyon, Arizona Snowbowl, Lowell Observatory and much more. Enjoy our free cooked to order breakfast and the Evening Reception with complimentary drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.