We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpirced with no free wi-fi” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   706 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover the Grand Canyon
Ranked #7 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpirced with no free wi-fi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel was pleasant to stay at. Staff was okay and in general it was clean. As another reviewer mentioned, the free breakfast was poorly managed. However, difficulties with a free breakfast is not why I write. It may be unfair to rate this hotel terrible, but as far as an overall experience at this hotel is concerned, I make the appropriate point for all other consumers.

We all have choices and in this day and age with the internet being such an important tool and free almost everywhere you go, I choose NOT to stay at a hotel that charges $9.95 per day for wireless internet. This hotel has a standard room rate more than most of the competition located in Flagstaff, including their sister Hilton branded hotels. I have found that most all of the less expensive hotels, including those which provide the same quality and most of the same amenities, are not only less expensive but provide FREE wireless internet to their guests.

With a daughter attending NAU, we stay in Flagstaff frequently. I have no problem paying a bit extra for some amenities but in my opinion wireless internet should not be an amenity. This hotel will no longer get our business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    207
    108
    51
    35
See reviews for
309
152
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our family of five stayed at the Embassy Suites twice this year. Both times were a pleasure. Rooms were clean, and the staff was attentive. The room set-up is wonderful for a family - plenty of room, and plenty of separation when it's time for the kids to go to bed. The custom made breakfast in the morning was great and a nice change from the typical continental breakfast. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The suites were very small. They don't look like the advertisements at all. The bathroom is very small but functional. Very nice tv's in the bedroom and living room. It has all the emenities you need (coffee pot, refrigerator, microwave, blow dryer, iron, ironing board, and sofa couch). The gym was very nice. Very up to date. The real highlight was the breakfast buffet (sausage,potatoes,scrambled eggs,juice,toast,coffee). But the real treat was that they had a chef who cooked hashbrowns,bacon,omelates, pancakes,frenchtoast. The Embassy Suites is located across the street from Barnes and Nobel and close to about anything you may need. The University sits right behind the Hotel. We had a great two days of sleding and shopping. I would stay at this location again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I guess they don't have limits on how many people can stay in a room because this is not the first time I have stayed at an Embassy suites and it was so over crowded!!! They ran out of breakfast stuff an hour before it was over. I heard an employee explaining they weren't prepared for the amount of people. They have to start limited the amount of people to a room. Not only is it a fire hazard, it doesn't make for a pleasant stay. It's hard for the staff to clean the place with so many people around. I understand it is near a ski area. That is not an excuse to be so poorly run!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beautiful, convenient and comfortable. Located in the heart of Flagstaff close to everything. Even with 3 adults and 3 kids staying there it was comfortable. We enjoyed it and would go back. Very nice motel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Manager at Embassy Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Brenda R. thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at Embassy Suites Flagstaff. Our two room suites are great for 6 or even 7 or 8 people (sometimes).

We look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived on Thursday 12/27 and the check in staff were very nice. We got to the room and was disappointed in it's cleanliness and size. The fridge door opened ackwardly next to the wall. The builtins were very dusty. The mirror, walls and furniture were dirty. The grout on the bathroom floor was all broken up and missing.
We went down for the manager reception around 6pm. There were dirty tables and food on the floor. The pita bread, hummus and popcorn were OK, except for all the children that were in them. Went out to dinner, and came back to the room and realized that the pullout only had one pillow. We called the front desk, but they were out.
Woke up for breakfast and entered crazy breakfast land at 8am. Out of coffee, had to tell them, out of hashbrowns (completely), out of OJ, had to tell them, out of silverware, had to tell them etc. The breakfast room was too crowded...people waiting for dirty tables to be cleaned so the could put their full plates down. The food itself was good, but management needed more people working for a full to capacity hotel. Over and over we saw people asking for napkins, silverware, clean tables etc.
My husband and son went skiing and I stayed at the hotel. I went to the workout room which was very nice. Every staff member has been wonderful and accommodating when they can. We have one more night here. Let us see what it brings.

Room Tip: We were in a king bed suite.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESGM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review I am actively participating with our entire staff to ensure this does not happen again. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again.

Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback.

Amy Todd
General Manager
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is disgusting. Not only do they allow smoking, the entire room is gross and old. Making non-smoking rooms available is insufficient when the hotel has central air. Disgusting, stay at a Marriott, they never allow smoking. The hotel staff is rude. The bathroom is old and I'm scared to shower for fear of fungus.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESGM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review I am actively participating with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback.

Amy Todd
General Manager
Embassy Suites Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Flagstaff

Address: 706 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#7 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Flagstaff 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the gateway of Northern Arizona--Flagstaff and the Embassy Suites Flagstaff. Our All Suite Flagstaff hotel is close to all Northern AZ attractions like the Grand Canyon, Arizona Snowbowl, Lowell Observatory and much more. Enjoy our free cooked to order breakfast and the Evening Reception with complimentary drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.