We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Lucky Lane

Econo Lodge Lucky Lane
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Lucky Lane to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Lucky Lane
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2480 E. Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Yuck”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I don't need a palatial hotel room to be happy, but the Econo Lodge was definitely below my standards. It had a terrible antiseptic smell to the room. There were holes in the curtains. The box spring was covered in plastic. All of the linens had magic marker identifiers on them. Yuck!

The hotel wasn't all bad. I liked the water pressure in the shower. I liked how close it was to I-40 and Historic Rt. 66.

I booked the hotel on Priceline, which was a mistake. It was less expensive on the Econo Lodge website. My mistake. I was also annoyed that it was $25 more than the Hyatt Place I stayed at in Albuquerque, which was a much nicer, cleaner hotel. But I understand -- different cities, different competition. I wouldn't stay here again, but I hope that I don't need to be in Flagstaff again, either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecnlky, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Lucky Lane, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I apologize for your negative experiences that you had at our hotel.

We put marks on our linens because there is a bad theft problem at hotels in the area and some guests have put their comforters/sheets on the bed and taken our own. I apologize that this procedure was a hassle.

We hope that if you ever do some through flagstaff you will take the time to drop by our hotel as it is currently being remodeled and when completed, will have a fresh new look and feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    18
    17
    28
See reviews for
29
33
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I understand it is a Econolodge, but what we expected to get what they said we would- but the Internet was not working (makes it hard to research your trip to the grand caynon!), the hot tub was not hot. The door had trouble closing all the way, the AC shut on and off all night waking us up frequently. The staff (other than a night staff guy named Justin) was short and unapologetic when we asked about the broken Internet. (Which is why we didn't bother to ask about anything afterwards). Don't plan on staying an an Econolodge again, would rather spend double the money for a good nights rest!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecnlky, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Lucky Lane, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I apologize that your stay with us was a negative one.

We do keep out hot tub at a temperature of 101-104 degrees, since this was not quite hot enough, we will consider increasing the temperature in the future. The AC shut on and off all night because it was trying to maintain the temperature. All AC units do this, it is a little more noticeable when in a hotel room, however, due to the AC unit being mounted on the wall instead of the roof/outside.

I hope that if you do ever come back through Flagstaff you will give our hotel another try. We are currently renovating the hotel and are looking forward to having a fresh new look and feel for our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The rate was a little over price didn't honor the first rate that I book for and will be contacting Choice support. There was trash outside of my door when I arrived to my room. A pro was that it is close to the freeway and there are places to eat close by.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecnlky, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Lucky Lane, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We appreciate your stay at our hotel and will look to resolve the problems you stated in your review.

We hope that if you ever do some through flagstaff you will take the time to drop by our hotel as it is currently being remodeled and when completed, will have a fresh new look and feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prineville, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Rate - Good  Title - Quick overnightThis is a hotel for a rode trip overnight.....the rooms are quite smallbut they are nicely done. We had all that we needed. and the location is veryConvenient being just off the freeway. You do have to drive a short distance forfood and drink. Best about this hotel is the great staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecnlky, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Lucky Lane, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We hope that if you ever do come through flagstaff again, you will choose to stay with us at Econo Lodge Lucky Ln. as we are upgrading our hotel and remodeling the rooms. If you choose to stay with us again we will have the same friendly staff but a new, better look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The cheap rooms are not very good but the suites are roomy and quite nice. Wireless internet was excellent. Friendly desk people. Heater-AC is the very good kind, at least it was in my room, with the steady on option, as opposed to the bad ones that bang on and off all night. Breakfast, is minimal.

But I too object to the $4 surcharge that they tack on, and unlike every other hotel in the Choice chain that slips in a sneaky profit-raising surcharge or safe charge or green charge or whatever they want to call it, this place would NOT remove it upon request and claimed it is some sort of legal requirement (the Quality Inn across the street has no "surcharge", and if you are interested in hotel breakfasts they have a much nicer one, but their rooms are not that great).

Would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecnlky, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Lucky Lane, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We hope that if you ever do come through flagstaff again, you will choose to stay with us at Econo Lodge Lucky Ln. as we are upgrading our hotel and remodeling the rooms. If you choose to stay with us again we will have the same friendly staff but a new, better look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Took a chance and booked a night here after a bad sleep 2 nights ago at a different local chain hotel. Liked it so much that we booked tonight also!The queen bed was firm , lotsa hot water, good tub/shower, fast and free wireless, basic free breakfast and a great price. Unlike previous hotel, the advertised indoor hot tub and pool were actually in service!! They're dinky but nice. While the sauna was out of service, there is a fantastic steam room, unadvertised! Last night we shared the hot tub with a family of 5, which was cozy, but struck up a nice conversation. Great way to meet people! Tonight I had the entire spa to myself. There's also a small fitness centre, 2 machines, that we'll try tomorrow am. My only complaint for management: the first room we were offered had a suite door to the next unit which transferred 99% of TV noise from room next door. Nope, they did not have it up too loud, as it was quieter o/s their hall door than in our room. If that suite door were a hatch on a boat, we would have sunk and drowned. Staff immediately and cheerfully gave us a quiet room. All in all, a fantastic value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecnlky, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Lucky Lane, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We hope that if you ever do come through flagstaff again, you will choose to stay with us at Econo Lodge Lucky Ln. as we are upgrading our hotel and remodeling the rooms. If you choose to stay with us again we will have the same friendly staff but a new, better look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We did a last minute trip to play in the snow as did everyone else apparently. Hotel was packed. Very pleasant young girl at checkin. Poor harassed man trying to handle the breakfast room. He said people were grabbing tables and sitting there for hours instead of eating and leaving. My husband said people were just coming in off the streets to freeload. =( The pool and fitness room would have been ok except the crowds. Tile in the pool area very smooth not textured at all. Luckily no one slipped! Rooms were surprisingsly roomy and there was a nice kitchenette. Beds were very soft which the boys liked but not my daughter and me. Location made it so we could avoid the crowded downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lucky Lane

Address: 2480 E. Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated in Flagstaff, Arizona, only minutes from motorway I-40. Guests can experience this comfortable accommodation located a short distance from many of the area's top attractions.The Econo Lodge Flagstaff provides guests with easy access to explore much of the surrounding areas. The Navajo and Hopi Indian Reservations, the Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest are only a short drive away.We have 3 eating places: Denny's, Cracker Barrel, and Outback Steak House, in a 5 minute walking distance and a Super Walmart is located just a few hundred yards down Lucky Lane. Our all-year-open heated pool, hot tub, wet steam room, and dry sauna are all conveniently located on the first floor. Also, the work out room (treadmill and recumbent bike) overlooks the pool so that you can watch your kids swim while working out. Come stop by our hotel and ask to see one of the rooms. We will be happy to show you our cheapest single queen room to our larger, nicer King Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Lucky Lane
Econo Lodge Flagstaff
Flagstaff Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Lucky Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.