We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic enough for last minute” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Lucky Lane

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Lucky Lane to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Lucky Lane
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lucky Lane
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2480 E. Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #45 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Basic enough for last minute”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We did a last minute trip to play in the snow as did everyone else apparently. Hotel was packed. Very pleasant young girl at checkin. Poor harassed man trying to handle the breakfast room. He said people were grabbing tables and sitting there for hours instead of eating and leaving. My husband said people were just coming in off the streets to freeload. =( The pool and fitness room would have been ok except the crowds. Tile in the pool area very smooth not textured at all. Luckily no one slipped! Rooms were surprisingsly roomy and there was a nice kitchenette. Beds were very soft which the boys liked but not my daughter and me. Location made it so we could avoid the crowded downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    15
    15
    26
See reviews for
29
26
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was looking for a hotel with an indoor pool so my choices were limited. It was either pay a lot and end up at the Hilton (or someplace similar) or go for the Econo Lodge...should have paid more. First they gave us the wrong kind of room, but fixed that quickly. The rooms were dark and dingy, though decent sized. The pool area was also dark and dingy, but didn't have the one plus that the room had, it was about the size of a postage stamp. The Wi-Fi, which was supposed to be free, didn't work unless you were standing in the lobby. The free breakfast was cereal, toast, a pastry or waffle...so if carbs are your thing, perfect! I will never stay here again and next time will either spend more money or go back to Days Hotel which is inexpensive and though the pool area was chilly last time, still a much better option.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flagstaffeconolodge, Owner at Econo Lodge Lucky Lane, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We do truly appreciate your feedback. The room size are brand standard which was built in 1989, We do offer larger size mini suites with balcony as well. The lighting has been changed through the entire building with energy efficient bulbs. The wifi routers are replaced with cisco commercial grade routers in the entire building with 4 access points all with power over eithernet throughout the building. The breakfast items are brand standard. We do offer additional items compared to typical econo lodge requirements. We are truly sorry you had a horrible exprience and would have been interested in giving you your money back within a adequate time of check in. As an daily owner operator I really appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

BEWARE – SLEAZY SURCHARGE

Econo Lodge, 2480 Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ

September 28, 2012

Yes, there is actually a $4.00 "surcharge" added to your bill in addition to the regular room rate. The Econo Lodge owner, Dino Duldson, claims "This is for utilities surcharges imposed by local utility supplier." When questioned regarding the charge he states it is added to the bill for use of lights, TV and water. Don't know about you, but I sort of expect a room to have at least lights and water. Maybe you could argue an adjustment if you don't flush the toilet and skip the shower?

Yes, he did remove the "surcharge" from the bill after a long dissertation that I have no idea what it takes to run a hotel... and my suggesting that while that is possibly so, I do know how and where to make my dissatisfaction known.

Aside from that, the place looks fairly decent from the outside... inside the rooms are starting to look tired and showing signs of wear and deferred maintenance.

Sorry Dino, but my next stay in Flagstaff will hopefully be at a motel that offers lights, TV and water in the room rate... and a little less sleazy billing practices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flagstaffeconolodge, Owner at Econo Lodge Lucky Lane, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We don't feel that our billing practice is "sleazy" as we clearly have itemized in each of our receipts. The city imposes various environment surcharges toward utility holders. We do offer a low bottom line rate and have the additional fee while trying to balance various environment utility surcharges. We did credit you back as we felt that you did not consider it fair. We appreciate the additional feedback. If you had felt un-satifisied within a adequate period of time we would have issued a full refund. We are independently owned and operated and truly care what our customers feedback is regarding our practices. We do thrive to keep costs low and try to reduce our rates to meet the consumers desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I checked into the econo lodge on lucky lane and had I move rooms twice because there were pubic hair in the sheets. They then gave me fresh sheets and said I had to take the bad ones off and put the new ones on myself! This place was absolutely disgusting and the customer service is non existent. They didn't think anything of the situation. Unreal!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel room had the following; an ironing board in the wall, wifi, breakfast (for those who eat that kind of food, nothing healthy and no fruit), hair dryer, mini frig, and coffee maker. The king bed was very comfy though the room faced the hiway, it was too noisy to keep a window open and the room was stuffy/warm considering it was Flagstaff. The fan was noisy and the 2 towels felt more like a souring pad. The halls were tacky but it was 'quiet, very'. The indoor hot tub worked with an indoor pool, towels supplied. Front desk was slow with registration considering the room was booked via phone two days prior. It was, for what we got, a bit pricey however, it was parent's weekend, fall in Flagstaff. Thus, less expensive than other options. Hotel hard to find, it's hidden off the road next to Days Inn and Lucky Lane is not lit, a huge factor that impacted the arrival time, searching for Lucky (?) Lane.

Room Tip: Rooms on other side of hiway, on the 2nd 3rd floor as there are still smoking rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The front desk staff was friendly and acceptably accomodating. We stayed on a recent night when literally every other hotel in Flagstaff was booked, and we paid over $100 for this dump. The common areas were dingy and out of date but not unclean. The room itself was tiny and skeevy. It was a non-smoking room but it reeked of cleaner and stale smoke. The stench from the cleaner was overpowering. The curtain stunk and it had moth holes all over the back lining. The air conditioner unit blew the curtain all over the place. It's also very noisy, being right beside the train track and highway.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I booked on line and sometimes you get bite, but not here. Stayed 2 nights. Motel was well maintained and modern. Motel was clean had a nice indoor pool and good breakfast. Room was great and bed comfy.I would stay again if I was in Flagstaff. A good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lucky Lane

Address: 2480 E. Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lucky Lane 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated in Flagstaff, Arizona, only minutes from motorway I-40. Guests can experience this comfortable accommodation located a short distance from many of the area's top attractions.The Econo Lodge Flagstaff provides guests with easy access to explore much of the surrounding areas. The Navajo and Hopi Indian Reservations, the Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest are only a short drive away.We have 3 eating places: Denny's, Cracker Barrel, and Outback Steak House, in a 5 minute walking distance and a Super Walmart is located just a few hundred yards down Lucky Lane. Our all-year-open heated pool, hot tub, wet steam room, and dry sauna are all conveniently located on the first floor. Also, the work out room (treadmill and recumbent bike) overlooks the pool so that you can watch your kids swim while working out. Come stop by our hotel and ask to see one of the rooms. We will be happy to show you our cheapest single queen room to our larger, nicer King Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Lucky Lane
Econo Lodge Flagstaff
Flagstaff Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Lucky Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.