We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Flagstaff University

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Flagstaff University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   914 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Basic budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Flagstaff econolodge for two nights as stop off to Grand Canyon visit.
Budget hotel, room ok but a bit dated, with old TV and fridge in room, shower was good but very low, also toilet low, wifi was very poor, no breakfast as advertised due to refurb in reception)
If your on a budget and expect basic stay here, if not don't.
Location was ok for restaurants and local amenities.etc.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    49
    47
    18
    27
See reviews for
34
48
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

we stayed there on our way back from our yearly trip to KY, as we wanted to see Sunset Crater. We got worried when we saw it was right in the University area but it was quiet, and sleep was good. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Room was small but clean. Place was going to be updated but it was still nice and simple.

Room Tip: rooms along the back are quieter than those near the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

As stated by a previous reviewer, the hotel is undergoing renovation. I wish we could have gotten a room at the hotel in the pictures shown but alas the current place does not look like the photos.

And yes, their Wi-fi does not work for hotel customers. And yes they say, after you have paid, that there is no continental breakfast during renovation, sorry (chump)!

In your room is a small sign encouraging you to note that they charge $15 for missing pillows, $9 for missing bath towels, $2 for wash cloths and a $12 pittance for taking one of those towel-like floor mats that let you skid like a skateboard.

So what's so good about this place? Well we got a coupon on hotelcoupons.com for a walk-in rate of $35 for up to 4 people. After driving for hours we got in at 11:30 and were asleep in clean sheets by midnite. The room was kind of dumpy but it had two full beds and towels for three. They have one of those make your own cup of coffee machines and a hair dryer too. No fridge or microwave but some rooms have them.

After showers all around, we collected all the little freebie things (they make excellent little presents when we travel through Panama and South America - women are the same the world around) and hit the road for another ten hours of driving.

So for us it was great! We slept well (never heard the trains) and the bathroom was nice with hot water and one of those heat lamps in the ceiling that actually worked! And yes, they even had a postage stamp sized swimming pool. It is as good as the wi-fi.

If you like to lounge in your room and be pampered this is not the place for you. Here, for about $42 we got all we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was impressed to get a $40 rate here, but was not warned that because of renovations in the lobby there is currently no breakfast offered, and when I went to check-in they currently had no power, meaning I had to check-in a bit later. That wasn't a problem, but when I did check-in the wireless was a bit spotty, I'm assuming because of the intermittent power in the lobby. Depending on what your needs are, this may not bother you, and the lower rates may compensate for that. The room other than that is OK. There is a substantial air leak around the door which is only bothersome because the wind is about 50MPH today. Perhaps I've just hit an off day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Good value for the price. The room was nothing fancy but had everything you needed and was clean. The beds were in good shape. Maybe not as comfy as home, but still got a decent night's sleep. Good area near Northern Arizona University. The breakfast was so-so but for the price, didn't expect a whole lot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Have stayed here a few times over the years, and except for the hard, uncomfortable bed, am always satisfied. Great location; you can walk just about anywhere--downtown, university, Barnes and Nobles, restaurants, etc. Not in a sleazy area, but rather, is on the main drag--Milton. Many of the rooms have fridge/microwave at no extra cost. The room I had most recently was upstairs facing the peaks--I think it was room 235 or 237. Gorgeous views or Mt Eldon and snow-capped peaks. The TV was a large tube TV with a decent picture, but I miss HD. The bathroom was large, with a wide counter-top. Coffeemaker, blow-dryer, iron, etc. There was a table and chairs. I also liked that the a/c heater was thermostat controlled and not overly noisy. The carpet was dark and unattractive, but who cares? My rate was $55.00, which seemed very reasonable.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, get an upstairs room facing north--great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Rude girl at front desk told us there was no water in the lobby so breakfast was milk and a muffin. No coffee, no juice, no apologies. Lame excuse since she could have gone into any hotel room and used the water to make some coffee. Don't choose this hotel based on breakfast being included in the price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Flagstaff University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Flagstaff University

Address: 914 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Flagstaff University 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Flagstaff University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Flagstaff University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.