We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there if you don't have to” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Flagstaff University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Flagstaff University to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   914 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #47 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Southwest USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Don't go there if you don't have to”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Thin walls, loud neighbors, traffic hum and the view from your window is of a heavily trafficked road off the Interstate. I made a mistake and did not have a reservation when the hotels in town were full due to a collegiate event. Big mistake. Keep looking.

Room Tip: Drive on and find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    50
    49
    20
    28
See reviews for
34
51
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We chose this motel as it was close to Grand Canyon and I did not want to pay the Park prices. Yuo would not chose a Econo lodge for any other reason than the price. This one also has a building site next door which wakes you up at 7 in the morning. Found a great little route 66 diner round the corner which has great atmosphere, live music.

Room Tip: Ask for as a room away from building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Bid on the web. Nice location and what more u can expect from the price. But I will say u have more choices there. Just for one night! The room smells weird and the fan in the bathroom is really loud.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a fairly unassuming motel from the outside but my room was OK inside. I was not happy with the check-in process as the desk clerk was more interested in watching sports programming on the lobby TV and considered me a nuisance. He quickly checked me in but told me nothing about motel services, breakfast, etc. My motel room did not have a refrigerator or microwave and the telephone did not work. My check-out bill the next morning included a $3 surcharge for nothing! (That, in addition to the State Lodging Tax and the City/County Lodging Tax.) I asked about it and one clerk told me it was an “energy surcharge”. The said “occupancy charge.” Huh? It was a $3 surcharge on top of the room rate. They then pulled this paper that I signed the night before as I checked in (as a guest, sometimes you sign a document in the evening when you check in that indicates that you promise to pay the bill – and then on check out they add all your charges – perhaps long distance telephone charges or meal charges – and you sign the final bill) and in the fine print said that I had accepted this phony $3 surcharge! I was not happy with that and felt cheated by the motel ownership/management! Watch out or go elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The first room they gave me had stains on the walls, including what looked like a hand print (I don't want to know what was on this person's hands). The one large chair in the room had a HUGE stain on it. I went to the front desk to get a different room; the guy explained that the stain on the chair had been cleaned. The thing is, if there's a HUGE stain on any furniture, you get new furniture. You don't leave a huge spot there like that. bleach the walls, for gods sake. CLEAN THE ROOM.

He reluctantly gave me another room which also had stains on the walls--including stuff that could have clearly been cleaned off but wasn't. And right next to the bed there were what looked like claw marks dug into the wall paper....no joke.

I left this motel and went somewhere else. I'm sorry but customer service? I understand that this is an econolodge, so it's not going to be fancy, but they could at least make the rooms LOOK hygienic. How am I supposed to trust that they properly clean these rooms if they leave them looking like crap?

Room Tip: don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife made the reservations for our ski trip to Flagstaff; I was a little concerned when I found out the price was under $30 per night. We had 2 non-smoking rooms, both with king beds. No problems checking in. The rooms were clean and next to each other as requested. Everything was adequate for as much time as we spent in the rooms. The room had a small refrigerator, good sized bathroom, good heater, and a sink area.
The king bed had only 3 pillows on it, so I would request more as soon as possible because it seems only the maid staff has access to pillows.
Overall, I was happy with the value and the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here on December 29th, 30th and 31st of 2012. This hotel exceeded our expectaions for the amount we paid. Not sure what others expected, but the desk attendants are not the comedy club or condo sales people, they were professional and treated us with respect. The "continental breakfast" rivals any we have experienced...it was more like the breakfast at LaQuinta ($$$ minus the waffle maker. The room was excellent for ($$) motel. Beds were firm but clean. Pillows were only downer...but WalMart is just minutes away. We stayed in national chain X last time we were in Flagstaff and paid ($$$). Rooms were newer but not nicer. So, Econolodge in Flagstaff is a great place for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Flagstaff University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Flagstaff University

Address: 914 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Flagstaff University 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Flagstaff University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Flagstaff University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.