We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Flagstaff University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Flagstaff University to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   914 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Someone here is really trying to operate this place on a shoestring. When we arrived, there was one person - with only two days experience - manning the desk. Couldn't make any new room keys - something was wrong with the system and there was no backup plan. One of us had to stay in the room or we had to go get the front desk person to let us in with the master key everytime we went out. Internet connection was almost useless. Room was not impressive at all. Breakfast offering was minimal as well. Too bad as location wasn't bad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge Flagstaff University, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
I do apologize about the experience you have received. Unfortunately our key card encoder system to issue keys was down and inoperable. At that point our backup system could do no justice as it’s a rare situation and never happens. The company that provides service to those locks has sent a new encoder which takes a week and that’s the expedited time frame. I understand that is something to be very upset about however it was out of our control. I do apologize about the remaining issues and I will make certain that these issues are properly addressed. I do hope you would still consider us in the near future to serve your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    55
    51
    21
    29
See reviews for
45
52
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
illinios
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I spent 2 nights. Clean rooms, decent breakfast. The pool was a little murky and needed to be skimmed and the bathroom fan was really loud. The front desk personnel were very helpful. Worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge Flagstaff University, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
I do thank you very much for your positive feedback and I’m extremely pleased that your stay was pleasant. We appreciate your business and I do hope to serve your lodging needs in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I was offered a room that allows pets as I travel with my dog. The room is not impressive yet it has the basics. I awoke to bedbugs crawling on me! Gross! I got up and left and at 4:30 am and the night desk had no authority to inspect or guarantee a full refund. I worked with Triple A, on which it was their site I had made the reservation, and the following day, I was not contacted by the manager Kevin, I phoned the front desk and they looked my name up and I was told I was credited and there was no charge to my credit card. Now I have to worry about taking these gross bugs home with me and fumigating my belongings and my dog, no thanks to Econo Lodge.

Room Tip: I hope I can/wish I could leave a NO rating for "Sleep Quality" and "Value"... n...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge Flagstaff University, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
I do apologize sincerely for the experience you have received. We have taken recent management over the property and I have taken the proper procedures to have all rooms inspected and treated if necessary. I understand that this issue is becoming more common throughout hotels in the U.S. as there is a huge outbreak currently occurring. I can assure you this issue has been taken care of and I hope you will still consider us for your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

DONT STAY HERE. I got BED BUGS after i slept here for 1 night and when i reported and complained to the hotel their GM "Kevin" basically told
me to go F myself.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge Flagstaff University, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
I do apologize about the inconvenience pertaining towards how poorly the recent manager handled the situation and of course what you have experienced at the property. I have taken over management recently and I assure you we have taken the proper measures to get the property back in line for success. I do hope that you will give us another try in the future and hopefully earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avondale,az
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

the room we stayed in was a bit nicer as what i had expected, had memory foam bed. room was clean and it doesnt smell bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge Flagstaff University, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
I do thank you for your positive review and I hope to see you again if your ever in the Flagstaff area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our high school concert/jazz band and orchestra recently had the pleasure of spending two nights at this hotel. They were absolutely wonderful. The manager could not have been more supportive (even when some of our group's behavorior left much to be desired). In making the reservations, the staff was super friendly and helpful. They were very accommodating of our group's needs, the rooms were all nice and clean and the location can't be beat. I would definitely recommend staying here to anybody going to Flagstaff!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge Flagstaff University, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
I’m glad to hear that your stay went very well. I appreciate your business as well as your positive feedback and I hope to serve your lodging needs in the future if you’re ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY's Finger Lakes
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

A good value. A room and a bed with no frills. The heater was pretty loud all night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge Flagstaff University, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
I do appreciate your honest feedback. Your honest feedback helps drive our property in the right direction by addressing the issues that draw concern from customers as yourself. This helps us to make corrections to prevent issues as these arising for future customers. I thank you very much and I hope to serve your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Flagstaff University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Flagstaff University

Address: 914 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Flagstaff University 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge University, a Flagstaff, AZ hotel near Northern Arizona University. Providing easy access to Interstate 40 and Interstate 17, the pet-friendly Econo Lodge(R) University hotel is adjacent to Northern Arizona University (NAU). We have completely renovated our hotel property and look forward to hosting your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Econo Lodge Flagstaff University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Flagstaff University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.