We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good no thrills motel, close to the University and not far from Downtown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Flagstaff University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Flagstaff University to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   914 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #47 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good no thrills motel, close to the University and not far from Downtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have stayed at the Econo Lodge a number of times and it is not a bad motel if the price is right. The location is great if you want to be close to NAU (the university) and it is only a 15-20 minute walk to the downtown area.

Rooms:

Very simple, but comfortable if only staying for a night or two. Expect an OK bed, bar of soap/Shampoo, coffee maker & cable TV.

Staff:

The staff have always been friendly and hassle free when I have stayed here. I have showed up early a number of times and they were able to get me into a room. The last time they could not offer me a non smoking room (for early check-in), but offered a smoking room as an option.

Pool:

i would not bother with the pool & in Flagstaff it rarely is warm enough for a pool.

Price:

The price can vary depending on the season. I have payed $75.00 up to $125.00 dollars for a room at the Econo Lodge. $125.00 was during the Flagstaff Beer Festival and every where convenient to town has higher pricing during that weekend.

Breakfast:

I have never eaten the continental breakfast at the hotel, because there is too many good places to eat in town, but it is nice that they offer it and I have seen a number of people take advantage.

Overall a good no thrills motel for a few nights. I would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    50
    49
    20
    28
See reviews for
34
51
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Just outside of the univerity in Flagstaff. Just your plain simple hotel, with no frills.
Just spent one night, not bad acomidations.
However if your looking for the swimming pool don't look at that one. The pictures make it look huge. Wrong, it was bout 8 feet wide by 10 feet long. But I guess if ya just want to cool off it's a fine size. Noise was not bad, you are away from the train track maybe by 3 miles. So ya don't hear em but you can watch em go by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground floor, so you don't have to drag everthing up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

On a 14 day trip through the southwest and Flagstaff was on the list. Wish someone had told me it was going to be 29 and snowing on the 18th and 19th of May. The hotel was very nice. Room was clean and the bathroom was spotless. Housekeeping super. Breakfast was very adequate. Wish they had turned on the heat before we went down as it was 38 in the breakfast room so we made our meal and took it back to the room.

Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here because we were traveling with a pet. The location is good, close to restaurants, and there was no train noise. There was half a bar of used soap in the shower and there was a pair of mens briefs left in a dresser drawer, so I didn't feel the place was really clean. We stayed there 3 nights and the ice machine never got fixed. The breakfast was english muffins, bread, instant oatmeal and instant coffee. It was pretty quiet. Next time we go to Flagstaff, I would check into one of the other hotels that accept pets.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the road, facing north - you can see the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

pre-booked 2 nightsat this hotel before leaving australia because we got a good deal throuh priceline and the reviews suggested good value....and they were right.

we went the long way to flagstaff from sedona...down to payson up and over to holbrook, through winslow and on to flagstaff. it was a great road trip the scenery was brilliant and vast; from the snowy heights north of payson to the sweeping plains of holbrook and winslow, then back to the snowy peaks surrounding flagstaff.

it took us a little while to find the hotel, just silly aussies trying to find things in the dark. the staff on arrival were friendly and our room was more than comfortable and very clean. the lack of a bar fridge was a little disappointing but the ice machine was working fine which kept the beers cold. we found the beds comfy, the matress nice and firm, heaps of hot water, wifi worked ok and the heater worked great as it was freezing cold overnight.

by the way make sure you visit the "Galaxy Diner" for dinner...the atmosphere and sevice is great and the food better especially the onion rings!!!!!!! its 300 yards or so away across the parking lot in front of the great valued econo lodge university.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I've stayed here many times over the last 15 years and have always found this motel to be a great value with very reasonable prices in a resort town. Prices are even less for seniors and AAA members. It has always been clean and comfortable with a parking lot spacious enough to not have cars parked "on top" of each other limiting room to unload bags, etc. The staff is quick to resolve problems, even if it might mean changing rooms. The desk clerks are cheerful, accommodating, and courteous. I generally heard no trains nor street noise. Beds and pillows are clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water for showering, even in the morning. TV worked great. In room coffee pot worked well. The pool is good and well maintained. Do not depend on their clock radios for an alarm clock-they are not reliable; however, they have a wake-up call service. The continental breakfast is exactly what you would expect in a continental breakfast: pastries (sometimes), english muffins, cereal (including oatmeal), 2 kinds of juice, hot coffee, and plenty of butter and jam. There is also a basket of fresh fruit, like apples and oranges. Other motels sometimes offer waffles too, but their prices generally are higher. However, breakfast is in the main lobby, not a separate breakfast room, and there are only 2 breakfast tables for all guests. In the past, they had small trays so you could take breakfast for 2 back to your room along with coffee and juice. But at my last visit, these trays were no longer available, even on request. EconoLodge has been known as a budget motel, and should be compared with other budget motels. I gave it 4 stars (as a budget motel) considering it compares very favorably with even more expensive motels in the area. When this motel has been full in the past, I've stayed in other motels and paid lots more for a lot less. But if you are looking for lots more service and features, a big breakfast, and amenities, this probably isn't the place, but be prepared for higher prices elsewhere. But be careful.......prices can significantly increase here (like all other motels in the area) when there are special events in town, like the NAU graduation for example (usually in May I think), and all rooms in town are at a premium (if you can even find one without an advance reservation). I'm not looking for much when I travel.....just a good night's sleep and being comfortable. I can't imagine staying elsewhere when I'm in Flagstaff.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility, ask for a 1st floor room. There are no elevators, and stairs are diffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henderson, Nv
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This was rated highly so we thought we would give it a try even tho Econolodges are generally quite low grade motels. There is NOTHING good we can say about it. Staff were unfriendly, swimming pool had a yellow ring around the wall like bathtub ring and was disgusting. Cold water in shower even very early in morning. Beds incrediblty hard. Refrgerator didnt work. Small tv was so dark on screen you could hardly know what was happening. Ice machine didnt work. Vending machine didnt work. At Breakfast, even tho there at 6 :15, all muffins gone, orange and apple dispensers empty or didnt work. So if you like toast and instant oatmeal that was it.
Avoid this Motel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Flagstaff University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Flagstaff University

Address: 914 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Flagstaff University 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Choice Hotels, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Flagstaff University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Flagstaff University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.