We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and neat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3030 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Sun City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Clean and neat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Nice place on the east side of Flagstaff. Everything was clean and up to date. Indoor pool and spa were at the correct temps and the water was crystal clear. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. There are a couple of restaurants w/in easy walking distance, and several more nearby. A full breakfast is served in its' own building. Only reason to not call this an "excellent" hotel is that the train tracks are about 200 yards away and they run all night long! Pretty hard to avoid in Flagstaff. Location is quite a way out from town, but is a great headstart if heading north towards the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review Spyderman47. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and you found our hotel to be clean and neat!

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    201
    128
    53
    27
See reviews for
199
240
40
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

First the good - our suite had 2 bathrooms!!! Love it!

Yep, that's the end of the 'good' list.

Now the not-so-good -

No elevator, and no offer of assistance as we lug our bags up to the second floor.

Hotel is very run down and in major need of upgrading.

The couch and bed in the room were horribly hard and uncomfortable.

No smoking inside but the butt cans are right outside the doors so you still get the smell in the hallways.

And the train - oh the train - don't count on getting much sleep with that train going by ALL NIGHT LONG.

And not just the train - the walls must be very thin because you can hear everything!

The service was ok. The front desk agent wasn't rude, but he certainly wasn't friendly. He never smiled, never made eye contact, made no attempt at all to make us feel like a welcomed guest.

Breakfast was included, which was great, but the food was mediocre at best.

But even with all that, here's the thing that bothers me MOST about this hotel - after I got home I read some of the other reviews and the manager responses to them and I'm appalled at the customer relations! All he does is make excuses and try to blame the customer for their bad experience. When replying to a negative review, if you want any hope of having that customer return to your business, then you apologize sincerely, let the customer know you will do what you can to address their concerns and welcome them back. You do NOT go on the defensive and speak down to a customer. Ever.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. We work very hard to meet and exceed the guest expectations. We do not always always succeed, but we do take the feedback very seriously and address areas where we can. We have completed many upgrades over the last couple of years, and are in year 2 of our 3 year property improvement plan. I apologize we did not meet your expectations.

Sincerely,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for one night on our way to the Grand Canyon. The room was small but quiet, had a comfy bed and a great shower. The breakfast buffet was very nice. Was fun to realize that we were staying on Route 66!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay. It sounds as if you may have stayed in one of our smaller single queen rooms. The rooms are small, but fill the need if you don't plan on spending much time in the room other than sleeping and showering. Route 66 is a popular draw for our guest base.

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We live about 100 miles from this hotel and after this initial stay, have decided we will use the Pony Soldier whenever we want to go north for cooler weather! Although it is an older facility, it has been remodeled beautifully, and the handicapped room we had was actually a suite with 2 bathrooms. We could not have been more pleased!! The rate was very reasonable! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review Shirley K. We get many of the folks from Phoenix and Tucson visit in the summer time to escape the hot temperatures. We have been working hard to keep our hotel current, even though it is a bit older. We hope to see you again soon!

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I like Best Western Hotels. This one was ok, not the best one I've been in but above average. I found that noise from the trains quite loud during then night, but considering how close they are to the hotel, perhaps it's not surprising. Breakfast room was a nice touch. Cute little bagels. I liked the fried sausage/pepper/onion concoction interesting. Having a newspaper outside our door was a nice touch. I was disappointed there was no laundry room however.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have many guests from overseas as the National Parks seem to have World Wide Appeal. We have been upgrading our hotel and are currently in year 2 of a 3 year upgrade process. There are plans to put in a laundry and fitness room, but not until the 3rd year of the process. We will also be remodeling our breakfast area to improve its functionality.

Thank you again for your comments,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Good location in Flagstaff on old Rt 66. Close to downtown and several good restaurants. Easy access to highway to Grand Canyon. The upgraded us to king suite which was quite large and comfortable. hotel is older property but well maintained. Only downside was very small bathrooms. In one of the 2 bathrooms in our suite. You could not fully open the door without hitting the tub.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments. As you mentioned, we are an older hotel, but we do try to keep it current and up to date. Unfortunately, some things such as the small bathrooms are difficult to overcome.

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel was the best I experienced in Flagstaff. It was easy to get to from I-40 and everything about our stay was just great. The breakfast room and layout of the food was inviting. Parking and getting to the room was easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review!

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Address: 3030 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#12 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.