We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE HOTEL ON ROUTE 66” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3030 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
555 reviews 555 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“VERY NICE HOTEL ON ROUTE 66”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Pony Soldier on our way to Colorado. Although the hotel is a dated building, we found it to be in good repair and maintenance. The room was nicely decorated and came with a living room area and two bathrooms. The bed was comfortable.

We found the room to be rather quiet with no noise from trains or traffic. The only noise problem we experienced was a trash truck dumping dumpsters behind the adjoining businesses. That was not the fault of the Best Western.

Breakfast was well prepared with a variety of items.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    207
    131
    56
    27
See reviews for
205
246
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked online -we tend to stay at Best Westerns as we have learned to trust the name. Our suite was comfortable but it was a treat to have two dressing areas and two bathrooms. Breakfast was average but we did not walk away hungry. Would definitely stay here again. Train tracks across the street did not bother us at all.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Right next to a major railway track with trains going up and down all night. Fly screen on room broken, beds on the hard side room had a musty smell!? Breakfast poor only eggs no bacon or sausage. Sorry have used Best Western across the globe very disappointing. :( However staff were very pleasant and the room was clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Chose to stay at this location based on ads portraying Best Westerns "Branding" concept. Upon check in, we were informed that there was no elevator. This was fine as we were on the second (top) floor.The front desk let us know that the building was an older model but that the rooms had been updated to the BW brand. They were accommodating per our room type request. However if dirty carpet up the stairs, chipped paint throughout the room and what looked to be man's biological fluid dried down the front of the headboard..if this BW branding then I am very disappointed.luckily there waa another bed in the room as the hotel was completely booked. Heard the trains all nite long. The best part of staying here was the breakfast in the morning .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved my stay at this hotel, the staff couldn't of been more friendly and helpful if the tried!! The rooms are superb and comfy beds... I asked for a room next to the railway because I came here as a boy and wanted to re-live that memory and they accommodated me for that. I would stay here again and again if I had the chance, thanks for a great few days!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Arrived at 10 pm and left at 630 am, so basically checked in, watched a bit of TV, slept, showered, had breakfast, and left. And the good news is that the breakfast attendant opened the door to the breakfast room ten minutes early so that I could have a quick bite before heading off. And it was a decent breakfast spread - cereal, boiled eggs, toast, yogurt, fruit, pastries. I think they had a waffle maker, though I'm not positive.

Room itself was a bit small, but certainly adequate. Mattress fine. Bathroom fine. My room was pretty much in back of the building, so away from the highway and the railroad tracks. Some light sounds from the adjacent room, but not enough to bother me (and I'm pretty sensitive to between room noise).

So, for a night's sleep, perfectly fine. Beyond that, might be better choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back, away from the street and RR tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagar, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I seemed to have a problem reading a calendar and arrived a week ahead of my reservation. No problem, front desk put me in the exact room I wanted. The addition of sugarless syrup to the breakfast buffet was a nice change. Near the railroad tracks but not to worry. There must be an ordinance against train whistles. My wife loves train whistles and horns but, I am not complaining about the silence. Spring clean up/fix up in progress but does not get in the way of the guests. This location is close to the mall, auto dealerships, Walmart, Cracker Barrel and Denney's. About 10 minutes from the NAU Walkup Dome. If you are there on Sunday, churches are close by.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in get a room on the West side of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Address: 3030 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#13 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.