We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Motel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3030 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Tujunga, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“It's a Motel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

As motels go this was excellent. what can you expect from a motel? Clean room, clean bathroom, decent towels, good water pressure in the shower, and as good a breakfast buffet as can be expected without made to order omellete (ala BW Palm Desert, CA). In fact, a very good buffet with plenty of room to sit.
Our only complaints: the way too soft pillows and the way too low toilet - I'm only 5' 10" and my knees came up almost to my chin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments Jimberr,

Very observant in the towel category. I for one feel the same way, and as a larger individual, I have always preferred "Quality Towels". There are 3 brands of Best Western's now, the Core (us), the Plus, and the Premier. We have always used the Premier brand towels, long, thick, water absorbing, and also use Premier amenities for Shampoo, Conditioner, lotion, soap, etc. As a Core Best Western, we saw our "Free Continental Breakfast" scores go from one of the highest, to mediocre level as the Plus and Premier Best Western's had to upgrade their breakfast offerings. Well, we are not lying down, we have added scrambled eggs, potato's with green and red peppers, onion, and tortilla's for breakfast burritos, to match the Plus's and the Premier's. As for the toilets, some of them are a bit low, but we are working on that. Thank you again for your comments, especially the cleanliness as that means a lot to our hotel and our housekeeping staff!

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    200
    128
    53
    27
See reviews for
199
240
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, the State
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our room was on the ground level; it was adequate. We could not take a shower - the hot and cold faucets did not work. We enjoyed breakfast, they tried very hard. Front desk staff was very professional and helpful. Free WiFi was available. Location is central and convenient.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the train and highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review,

I am somewhat dumbfounded to your comments regarding you were unable to take a shower? I am not aware of this, especially due to the faucets not working. In any case, I apologize for your experience. I am happy to hear that our staff tried really hard to accommodate you! Our staff members are very professional and I empower them to take corrective action if there is not management present. Treat others as you would want to be treated is our motto!

Thank you again for your comments,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is doing minor Front Desk renovations. Arrived late but the staff (as always) are very accommodating. The bed is somehow too soft and found myself laying at the floor at 3AM to support my back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We have finished the front desk remodel, adding a nice black granite counter top and added an accessible shelf for guests in wheelchairs. We also repaved our parking lot and have added a Terra cotta accent color to our exterior paint scheme. Sorry to hear about your experience with a soft bed. Bed's are a personal preference and we get many opinions on whether the beds are too hard or to soft. Sorry about that, but I appreciate you continue to visit us! Also nice to hear your comment regarding "the Staff, (as always), are very accommodating"!

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Pony Soldier Inn is off the freeway a couple of miles but not hard to get to. It is an older hotel and very dated but the room was clean and comfortable. There are trains running nearby and if you are a light sleeper they may bother you. The breakfast room was in a detached building with plenty of tables. The food was your standard fare but very good and many choices. We found a coupon in one of the travel papers and got the regular $89 room for $59. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We are an older hotel on Route 66, but we keep it up to date as dictated by BEST WESTERN. I am happy to hear you felt you received your money's worth.

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at this hotel while traveling. The outside of the hotel did look a bit old - but the room looked recently updated and it was spotlessly clean! I had two small children with me and I tend to be a bit nitpicky about things with them - the room was clean, the bathroom was clean - even the remote control was clean! The room was quiet - there is a train track across the street and we never heard any noise from the train. The beds were very comfortable. Overall - a really good hotel stay - I'd definitely stay here again when traveling through Flagstaff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review,

Our housekeepers work extremely hard to insure each and every rooms is "I Care Clean". We have added some accent paint to our exterior of the building, and also had the parking lot repaved. We are adding additional landscape including trees, shrubs, and flowerbeds. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to hosting you again!

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I can't understand anyone giving this place a good review. High price, noisy, old, out of date, cramped bathroom, and a funky sliding door for the bathroom. Breakfast was slim compared to other Best Westerns. No protein, all carbs. I think the owner is trying to pay for remodeling without sacrificing their income. Went out to dinner and when we returned couldn't find a parking spot because the lot is too small.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review,

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are a very busy hotel with many repeat customers. We are priced competitively with other hotels in Flagstaff with similar offerings. You may have been here while we were repaving our parking lot, but we intentionally held rooms out of service to insure we had adequate parking for the guests who did rent rooms during our parking lot renovations. I apologize that your expectations were not met.

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Address: 3030 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#13 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.