We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we thought” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3030 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Yuma, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than we thought”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was hesitant about staying across the street from an active railroad, but we didn't hear the train from our room, which was on the 2nd floor near the front of the motel. Breakfast was way more than continental and the hostess was very nice!

The only negative is the bathroom isn't divided between shower, toilet, sink, so it made it a little hard sharing the room with my family (lack of privacy). Would be nice if they installed pocket doors between toilet and sink.

Room Tip: Even tho it's a pet-friendly motel, if you reserve a room in the front, you'd never know it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    201
    128
    53
    27
See reviews for
199
240
40
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Flagstaff because they allow dogs for a small fee. The hotel was clean, has a heated, the front desk staff was very friendly and helped provide numbers for cabs and local restaurants/attractions, etc. They provide continental breakfast and free wifi. The rates are very reasonable. It is right on Rt 66, so you may hear the occasional train that runs parallel to the road and is just across the street -- we stayed in the room top floor over the lobby which is the closest room to the tracks, and it still didn't bother us hearing the train.

Room Tip: They have a very large room (197) that has multiple rooms and is above the lobby with windows all al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Family Suite is very popular, even though it is on the second floor and is at the front of the building facing Route 66 and BNSF Railroad. Many guests return each year and rent that room. I wish we had more than just one of them!

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Best Western Pony Soldier Inn. We were in town for a college graduation and it was so pleasant to have a friendly, clean and comfortable place to stay in Flagstaff. We were very impressed as well with the wonderful breakfast every morning ....the breakfast area had a beautiful view, a great selection of breakfast items and a clean, cozy place to eat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you had a good time at our hotel. Our breakfast room is large for a 75 room hotel, and we receive many favorable comments about the selection of foods and the service staff!

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

very courteous staff, the television didn't work most of the time, the beds were the worst that I have slept on, the breakfast was as expected.... Continental ! If I had to choose a hotel in flagstaff, I would not choose this one without knowing that changes had been made

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the trouble you experienced with our 37" Flat Screen TV's. The city of Flagstaff cable company recently converted their signal from analog to digital. We have experienced some interruptions with the signal since then, but we are working diligently with the cable company to rectify this occasional signal problem.

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose Best Western because we were told about the pro-pet policy and we were bringing a dog from Los Angeles to NY. Surprisingly the room was comfortable with free wifi and free newspapers, enhancing the experience for humans. While there was a $20/day charge for pets it was added onto a very reasonable rate and seemed fair. Breakfast was good even including healthy options and there was a field adjoining the hotel that was good for walking said dog. All-in-all we were happy with the choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are one of the pet friendly hotels in Flagstaff. More and more guests are traveling with their pets, and we try to accommodate them. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the restaurant and "people friendly too" .

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Address: 3030 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#12 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.