We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3030 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
RGV
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good all around and clean. WiFi was good and solid, even though it was not secured. Would stay again. Older facility, but had been updated. The price/value of this hotel is excellent. Front desk lady was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our housekeepers work hard to insure our rooms are cleaned well and stocked. Happy to hear you would stay again.

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    178
    105
    43
    27
See reviews for
165
211
34
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel deserves a high rating for its price range. I was very impressed. My room was nicely decorated, with a new flatscreen TV, comfy bed (even though the pillows are tiny). I had a room at the back so I didnt hear any of the infamous Flagstaff train noise during the night. The breakfast is very well equipped compared to other chains...they actually have lots of pre-cut fresh fruit! Was nice to eat fruit after days of only waffles at the other hotels. Staff was friendly, hotel seemed in good condition, room was well kept. I dont really have anything bad to say. It's a bit down the road from downtown, but most of the budget hotels are.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
As a frequent contributor to Trip Advisor with 20 hotel reviews at the time you completed this one, I would like to thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It is always nice to receive kind words from a frequent hotel traveler.

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our room was clean and neat with a wide screen tv. We had morning breakfast and were refreshed. We also had free wi-fi which we used. We have stayed at more expensive hotels and some weren't as nice as this one.

Room Tip: I'm allergic to pets; so, I always have a room that no pet has entered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your 3rd review of our hotel. Stop in and say hello next time you visit. Thank you for your continued business and support!

Sincerely,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Meade
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Came for a family wedding in Sedona and decided to stay a short distance away at our favorite chain so we could enjoy the sights on our way. Great staff, comfortable accommodations, computer access, many choices for breakfast, etc. Staff recommended a Grand Canyon tour which was outstanding. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I’m happy to hear you were pleased with your experience with us. The guides that do the Grand Canyon Tours are extremely knowledgeable and you learn and see much more than if you were to go there on your own. We have had nothing but positive comments on any of the tour companies that come to our hotel to pick up our guests.

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our group stayed at this hotel before and after trekking in the Grand Canyon. Rooms had been redecorated and were clean (carpet needed some attention though). The staff was great; good breakfast each morning and overall, very accommodating of our schedule. Kept our belongings for us until we came back for the last night. Down side would be a long way from the center of town and shopping. Had a car the first night there. Planned ahead to have pizza delivered the last night.

We would stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Stayed on first and second floors and both were great. We did keep our windows closed due to the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. That is quite an accomplishment for you and your friends to complete the rim to rim while camping at Cottonwood, Bright Angel, and Indian Gardens Campgrounds inside the Grand Canyon. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and that you would stay here again.

Congratulations on your Rim to Rim!

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everyone was helpful and pleasant.
We stayed here on two different nights on a recent road trip of Arizona and Utah National Parks and Monuments. We had planned to stay in town on the second visit, but cancelled the other hotel and returned here due to the lovely staff - especially Beverley, hope you had a good time in Costa Rica.
The Pony Soldier is on the Route 66 and a bit of a journey to Downtown. Not a problem - the fast and efficient Mountain Line Route 66 bus stops about half a block away and cost $1.25 per fare - thanks for info and timetable Beverley.
The last bus leaves Flagstaff at 9.15p.m. but that suited us as we had early starts both days.
Why the bus? There are several micro/craft brewers in Flagstaff and we don't drink and drive.
The freight trains ARE frequent and this adds to the ambience - I was brought up near to the busy London to Brighton trainline in the UK, so happy thoughts of childhood.
Being on Route 66 the Pony Soldier is convenient for the I40; AZ89 - Wupatki and Sunset Crater; 66 East for Walnut Canyon National Monument and scenic AZ160 to Grand Canyon.
The only thing that we found less than satisfactory was the breakfast, but with a microwave and a fridge in the room that wasn't a problem.
Would stay here again if/when in Flagstaff.
Thank you all for two pleasant stays.

Room Tip: #200 for pet free/allergy sufferers, but not if the trains bother you - it is at the front nearest t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay and that you decided to stay with us again when you returned from your National Park Circle. I assume you made it back to England, and Beverly has returned from her trip to Costa Rica. Thanks again for your kind words, and we look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I arrived late 11-5-12 in the dark and did not see the train track across the street until one went by as I was checking in. The lady at the desk said there was a law in the City of Flagstaff that they could not blow their whistle and I would never feel any vibration. A City can not pass a law that violates any State or Federal train laws for street crossings! She gave me what she said was a quite room way in the back so I could not hear them. She said she lived 9 miles away and never heard them even though the track was a "major" east-west" route. Well guess what, it was awful, trains all night long, whistles and no sleep. It was 27 degrees outside and there was no extra blanket in the room, only the lightweight spring covers on the bed so I had to put the 2 bath towels on the bed for warmth. I turned on the in-room heater but it was like having a lawnmower running in the room. I got very little rest in spite of a Tylenol PM and ear plugs. DON'T STAY HERE unless you plan to sleep in your car at a rest stop soon after you leave. I am going to go downstairs to ask for 1/2 my money back. No glass pot for the coffee maker in the room and when I boiled water and had it drip into the paper cup to make the instant hot chocolate I brought I had to stir it with the pen in the room. No microwave and no refrigerator either and the mattress is so cheap and hard it felt like a hardwood floor. DON'T STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all if you want any rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review,

I am sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience at our hotel. As I have mentioned on previous responses, Flagstaff is a historic logging town that grew up along the railroad in the 1880’s. Our hotel was built in the early 60’s along Route 66 and the railroad, and has been successfully operating ever since. With that being said, and is also noted on Trip Advisor in the room tip area, if guests are light sleepers the back of the hotel is genuinely quieter than the front.

Flagstaff does has an agreement with the BNSF Railroad, the government, and the Arizona Corporation Commission that while traveling through the city, the whistles are only supposed to be used in cases of warnings or public safety.

“March 13, 2010 from APR (Arizona Public Radio)
For many small towns, the long, haunting sound of a train whistle is a sign of old world charm. But for people living near those train whistles, the charm wears off quickly. Flagstaff, Ariz., is the latest town to silence its train whistles, after federal rules have allowed this safety feature to be replaced by wayside whistles and cameras. Nationally, there are fewer towns willing to tolerate the noise.”

Many of the items you have listed could have easily been rectified with a phone call. We could have brought you extra blankets. If the Heater/AC was too noisy for your liking, we could have moved you to another room, and we could have explained that the “single cup” coffee maker does not have a glass pot; rather you put your cup under the drip basket. There are instructions for use printed on the top of the coffee maker. We also have coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available 24/7 in our lobby. There are condiment packages in the basket next to the coffee maker, and if one were missing, we would have gladly delivered one to you.

When you came down to check out with the front desk staff, you listed some of these items, but indicated you did not want a discount. My staff wrote the issues down and then gave me the information. I then instructed her to remove the payment and the charge and we did not charge you for your room. I noticed that this is your first review, and unfortunately it was a negative one. I would like to suggest in the future, irregardless of where you stay, that if problems do arise, you contact the front desk or manager so the can attempt to make things right. If we do not realize you are experiencing problems or issues during your stay, we are unable to fix them. We are in the hospitality business, and we do try to please our customers. I would also encourage you to write reviews when you have positive experiences too!

Sincerely,

Scott Grams
General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Address: 3030 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#11 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.