We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abineau Lodge B and B

Save Saved
You added Abineau Lodge B and B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abineau Lodge B and B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1080 Mountainaire Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Sled Dog Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 15 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Abineau Lodge B&B in Oct.15 just for one night. It was lovely. We just got some take out food at Safeway and bought a lovely bottle of wine at the lodge. The service was excellent and we had a lovely sustaining breakfast of french toast, bacon and eggs. We met a couple from Arizona and chatted easily with them at breakfast. We are from Canada.
The room and any other areas that we saw were clean and nicely decorated....cosy too with lovely views of the Ponderosa forest!
All in all a very pleasant stay.
C.Coleman.

Room Tip: The one overlooking the forest was lovely. We watched the sun come up over the Ponderosas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Owner at Abineau Lodge B and B, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review, were glad everything was to your liking and your stay here in Arizona was pleasant. I'm glad you got to enjoy the ponderosas while you were in the state. If you're ever in the state again feel free to stop on by, even if it's just to say hi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    25
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
95
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Abineau Lodge was a great find! We stayed here during a recent long weekend. Our room was perfect, and the lodge is so nice; we loved the self-serve coffee and tea bar. The wine bar has some great finds as well (my husband really enjoyed the beer). The lodge is off the main road, so it's quiet and very peaceful at night, but it's a quick drive to both Flagstaff and Sedona. Breakfast is included as well, and it was excellent every morning. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone (and plan to return ourselves!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Owner at Abineau Lodge B and B, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We're glad you guys enjoyed your stay, your breakfasts and our bar. I hope every part of your trip was fantastic. Thank you so much for the nice review and the recommendation to stay here! We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at Abineau Lodge. The breakfast on both mornings was excellent. All the staff were helpful and friendly. We did bring up one issue we had with our room, but it was quickly resolved by Wendy. The room we stayed in was the Arizona room, which is dog friendly. Ourselves and our two small dogs fit comfortably in the room. When we were out, we felt comfortable leaving our dogs in the heated Dog Sled Inn.
The location is just outside of Flagstaff, and it took us less than 15 minutes to get anywhere in town.
We would recommend Abineau to other travelers and would be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Owner at Abineau Lodge B and B, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We loved your dogs and were happy to be able to accommodate them. We appreciate your feedback about the room and are glad we were able to take care of the issue for you. We always encourage our guests to let us know about any issues they have so that we can quickly attend to them. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

When I procrastinated about making hotel reservations for Family Weekend at Northern Arizona University and discovered every hotel was booked, I came across this cozy, lovely B & B just a few miles from NAU. The setting is beautiful and it was so nice to be away from all the traffic. The breakfasts were delicious. I'm so happy to have discovered this Hidden Gem and would highly recommend this lovely B & B. If you're headed to NAU don't miss the opportunity to spend some time at Abineau Lodge. You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the forest. Each room has a different decor. Rooms are not large, but com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abineau2188, Owner at Abineau Lodge B and B, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Barbara - I was so glad that you found us and realized just how convenient we are to Flagstaff, and particularly NAU. It was nice to talk with you and we enjoyed your visit with us. Lots of people think that Mountainire is a long drive from Flagstaff but it only takes 10 minutes to get to town and there is never any traffic-except an occasional elk in the road! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!
Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

During my recent vacation trip to Flagstaff, I was seeking B&B opportunities, and had the accidental pleasure of being referred to Wendy at Abineau Lodge. How lucky I was! It was so easy to get to - just 6-7 miles south of Flagstaff and just 1.5 miles east of I-17. I loved the rustic feel and homey-ness of the inn. Wendy and her staff were so friendly and inviting. She fixed us lodgers a great breakfast, even accommodating various dietary preferences. I loved looking at the Ponderosa forest (including a long-eared squirrel nosing about) right out my bedroom window. I learned that elk even show up out there on occasion, and I did visualize this, but didn't happen to see one.
The inn sits at the edge of the very small rural village of Mountainaire, and was wonderfully quiet. Also, I was on my way to Sedona the next morning, so it's location gave me a perfect head start! Do visit this little treasure. You'll love it.
Donna Shoemaker, Larkspur, CA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Owner at Abineau Lodge B and B, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We enjoyed having you stay with us and the conversations we had with you two. We're glad your visit to Arizona. Thank you for the nice review. If you're in our area again our doors are always open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Out of 12 places we stayed on this trip, my wife Lisa liked this the best, it's 5 minutes from the Flagstaff/Phoenix freeway, an hour to Sedona via the very scenic Hwy 89a and only 12 minutes to Historic Downtown Flagstaff, therefore this central location is an all around excellent one from which to explore the area.
Although minutes from the freeway the setting is very 'ranch country' and absolutely silent at night.
The accommodation is privately owned by Wendy, the standards are high throughout and the freshly cooked breakfasts are yummy and wholesome, something different each day. I would have liked to see some fruit, yoghurt etc on the breakfast bar, this would have added an extra choice dimension to breakfast, not a complaint but maybe something to consider.
Wendy has lots of local knowledge and also runs a wine shop from the site that holds regular 'tasting sessions' if you want to sample the local area produce.
Next door (400m down the road) is the local Mountainaire Bar which serves basic American fare, beers and wines if you want a night without driving

Room Tip: Booking direct may be an option rather than one of the online services, the same cancellation terms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Owner at Abineau Lodge B and B, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review we're glad you enjoyed the lodge's setting and atmosphere. My mom thanks your compliments on her cooking and she was glad to accommodate your dietary needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had talked about stay at this B and B for years and finally did it. Our stay was wonderful. It is family owned and ran and we were made to feel right at home from the very start. We were up there to escape the heat and do some Rhino riding and the lodge the perfect home base to do so. There is a little Tavern (with in walking distance) that serves good food and great Bloody Mary's. You can also enjoy a beer or glass of wine with Alex at the lodge. The breakfast that Lindsey serves is great and the atmosphere is comfortable and laid back. The guests were friendly also, and we got to know few of them, and exchanged email addresses and business cards. Thanks for a very nice weekend and we plan to come back when the snow is on the ground.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abineau Lodge B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abineau Lodge B and B

Address: 1080 Mountainaire Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Sled Dog Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abineau Lodge B and B 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside of the city of Flagstaff, the Abineau Lodge borders Coconino National Forest on two sides with easy access to hiking and mountain bike trails. Each of the eight cozy guest rooms has an in room bathroom, lodge style furnishings and operable windows to maintain "climate control"-also called mountain air conditioning. A newly opened wine bar is in the downstairs lounge, and an upstairs game room is equipped for reading, puzzles, games and watching TV. A full, home cooked breakfast is included in our rates. We have one accessible guestroom. Two rooms are small dog friendly and an onsite kennel is available for larger pets. Perfect for honeymoons, anniversaries, babymoons, romantic get-aways of all sorts, relaxing escapes for couples, friends, alone or with family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Abineau Lodge B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abineau Lodge B and B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.