We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Mary

Lake Mary
Flagstaff, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 34 Attractions in Flagstaff
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
New york
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We drove past Lake Mary while passing time before our trail ride at the Hitchin' Post. It was a very windy day, but a nice place to stop and have a quick picnic lunch. A small body of water was refreshing after desert travel.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lake Mary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have fished here many times and I have caught several species of fish such as pike, crappie, and trout. The views here are absolutely beautiful and when the snow comes it is gorgeous. Several people have used Lake Mary for various water activities such as jet skiing, canoeing, and kayaking. I cant say that I blame them the surroundings are breath taking.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lake Mary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lake Mary is a small artificial lake, actually two lakes, Upper Lake Mary and Lower Lake Mary. The Upper Lake has fish, including pike. The lower lake is barely a pond unless there is lots of rain and snow. People like to fish, water ski and use skiddoos. In the late summer and fall one can also catch crawdads (crayfish). Use 'em for bait, or put them in your pond to eat the algae.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The view is fantastic and the kids love it here, but the fishing is terrible. Have been many times, and never any luck fishing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“"Just off the beaten path"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We love to RV and were using a friends A-frame cabin for the weekend in MundsPark Az.Plenty of space to park our small Motorhome behind the deck area in back amongst the ponderosa pines.
MP is a very nice community off the main highway I-17, just south of Flagstaff. We'd booked an RV spot on a couple occasions in the past @ the MP Campground on the west side of the exit and spent weekends camping there. Very nice way to beat the heat etc. less than two hours north of Phoenix.
On this visit we lucked out with our friend's cabin on the other side of the highway. A small country store/ gas stn. a golf course, grassy pastures and more cabins adorn the peaceful community here. One place we visited was Lake Mary off an old country road a few miles out. Very pretty little lake in a wooded pine forest area past a ranger station and a lodge/ bait and tackle store. Nice,quiet place to camp out,fishing, boating and playing on the shoreline. Across the way is a large cabana, for picnicking with washroom facilities and more visitor parking.
Hikers and bikers are a pretty common site when they have rallies in the area. The kids liked it and we had a good time out.
Back at The cabin in Munds Park was very special and a fun time too. It's a definite do again deal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Mary also viewed

 

Been to Lake Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.