We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New Favorite Sushi Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karma Sushi Bar Grill

Karma Sushi Bar Grill
6 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
+1 928-774-6100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 257 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh. Beautiful. Delicious. Karma Sushi Bar & Grill serves it up: fresh, beautiful and delicious sushi, grills and cocktails in the hip, casual setting of one of downtown Flagstaff’s best restaurants.Every dish is hand-made in the moment by our masterful chefs. And our grill menu will please even non-sushi fans. Stocked with all your favorite spirits, the bar is staffed by our knowledgeable and inventive mixologists.Happy hour specials? We’ve got those, too.Our entire menu is also available for takeout. And we cater events, too! Whether you’re looking for a quick lunch, are meeting friends for happy hour, or want to linger over dinner for a special occasion, Karma Sushi Bar Grill is precisely right.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Sushi Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

After a long day of hiking and biking my boyfriend and I were craving one of our favorite meals- sushi. We Siri'd a near-by sushi place and ended up going to Karma. And boy, are we so glad we did! We sat at the sushi bar and ate our hearts out. Even the basic avocado roll was outstanding! We went on a Saturday when it was pretty busy, but they were able to sit us at the bar immediately. The atmosphere was fun and trendy- but laid back enough (it's Flagstaff) so you don't feel underdressed. The service was great and we will be back again! The only thing: Don't go in expecting a great happy hour. They only have it for a short period of time, and it's not spectacular with limited options.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Public Relations Manager at Karma Sushi Bar Grill, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Kayli; glad you enjoyed your experience! Our happy hour runs every day, 3-6 pm Monday through Saturday, and all day Sunday, from 4:30 pm to close. The Happy Hour menu changes periodically, so there's always a new item to try, and the 'regular' menu (really, there's nothing regular about it!) is available during those times as well. And yes, Karma Sushi is definitely a "come as you are" place. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    46
    11
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were in town and found this amazing little sushi bar. You have to try the Volcano, it was absolutely the BEST Sushi we have had yet. We talk about it every time we eat sushi. Left a great impression!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Public Relations Manager at Karma Sushi Bar Grill, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for the review. Our Volcano Roll is a big favorite with locals and tourists alike!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Soto, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Okay food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Maybe we're just spoiled by the great sushi restaurant in our town but I was not impressed with Karma. All of the rolls we had were bland and the server was really slow, he was gone for long periods if time. He wasn't very helpful with the menu either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Public Relations Manager at Karma Sushi Bar Grill, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for letting us know about your experience at Karma Sushi Bar Grill. Our servers and staff are highly trained, but they are human, so we apologize if your expectations of service weren't met. It's true that some of our specialty rolls are very mild, to accommodate a range of tastes. Most of our menu items can be spiced up to suit individual preferences, either by you or by the chef. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review; we always want to know how we can do better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good/friendly service - quality of food depends on dish you order”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When we travel, we tend to stick to basic sushi (cooked meat) and other basic noodle dishes. So we're familiar with quality food in general.

This restaurant has a nice hopping energy and is not too noisy. All the servers were very friendly, prompt and responsive. No complaints about this.

The basic sushi roll (California Roll) - was of poor quality. The main thing is the rice. Poor quality/bad/old rice can make a huge difference when eating a basic roll. Unfortunately, the roll here did not really have any flavor.

We also ordered some pork dumplings. They arrived hot and were cooked, but the actual dumpling flour seemed a bit soggy/soft - when it should have been more crispy all around. This makes for a weird texture when you bite into it.

The ramen noodle bowl had a flavorful broth, but the chicken strips were dry and did not absorb the flavor of the broth.

The Beef Fried rice was tasty and I liked the thinly sliced beef.

The food did sit well afterwards and no complaints about that. I wish the flavor in the dishes had lived up to the hype.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Public Relations Manager at Karma Sushi Bar Grill, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for the review. We're always interested in our guests overall perceptions! Glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and found the service to be excellent. We do make our rice fresh daily, so we're sorry you had the impression that it wasn't fresh. Our California Roll is deliberately not spicy; the spice and flavor can be adjusted to taste with the soy/wasabi dipping sauce. We generally get very good reviews for our food, so we're sorry that you weren't 100% pleased with our meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went during happy hour and got a really good deal on the sushi! The food and atmosphere was amazing, but the staff could have been a little more friendly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Public Relations Manager at Karma Sushi Bar Grill, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Sorry your server wasn't as friendly as you would have liked; they work really hard, but like each one of us, they're not perfect. Glad you enjoyed your happy hour; hope you can come back for dinner or lunch sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karma Sushi Bar Grill also viewed

 

Been to Karma Sushi Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karma Sushi Bar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.